We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay and staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic stay and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

just back from a 3 night stay here for our wedding anniversary. we had room 23. can not say enough about the staff and food here. we ate in the bar every night and the food was gorgeous, the chips are to die for. i had the seafood platter 2 nights and steak the other both were to die for. hubby had the burger and the meat was proper steak meat. the breakfast was gorgeous every morning and the staff were so helpful and friendly and couldnt do enough for you. the room was lovely with a huge balcony and the shower was very powerful with loads of hot water. they put out the following days weather forecast each evening in the recpetion which is very helpful for planning your walks. will def be back very soon. thank you john at reception this morning. it is a beautiful and charming hotel

Room Tip: the wi fi is free in the bar. we could also get it in our room sometimes and also phone service is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dw12393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear dw12393,

Thank you for your review of the Hotel during your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed all the facilities we offer from the room to the breakfast we serve. We are very lucky to have a brilliant team of staff, and our job is made all the happier by having such kind guests as yourselves.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you back to The Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    79
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
49
246
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

Buttermere is a glorious spot from which to explore some of the best Lake District walking trails, and the Bridge Hotel is at the centre of the small village. Our bedroom had a small balcony looking down on the beck, the hotel car-park and the fells beyond. The room was a good size with a well-fitted en-suite bathroom. The only drawback with the room (on the second floor) was that it took a couple of flights of stairs and corridors to get there so not ideal for the less active. The compensation was that it was very quiet and peaceful. The residents' lounge was comfortable and an ideal place for a pre-dinner drink while you chose from the dinner menu.
The dining experience at the Bridge Hotel was excellent with well-presented, well-cooked foods, and an interesting wine list including a few half-bottles. Breakfast was a busy affair as it only started at 8:15am, rather late for guests eager to head off walking or touring, but the service was efficiency itself and there were no delays. Efficient and friendly service from the staff was evident throughout our stay. The bar, which also serves the public, was well-used and a good place for lunch (either inside or on the veranda) or afternoon tea, and there is a good range of local ales. We were a little surprised that the wifi reception was limited to the ground floor public rooms, although this did encourage guests to linger in the residents' lounge, and (although no hardship for us) there was no TV in the bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Colin W,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bridge and Buttermere as well. We are so fortunate to be located in this fantastic position with so many walks from the front door.

We are really pleased to read you enjoyed your accommodation and food - thank you for your kind words regarding the service aspect too.

We have found the recent new wi-fi network manages to reach to certain areas of the hotel - and hopefully we may be able to extend its range in the future.

Thanks once again, and we hope to be able to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I have been here many times now. It's not flashy and both the fabric of the hotel and its staff don't pretend to be ultra chic (sorry if that was your aim guys). It's an extremely welcoming and friendly country hotel set in a stunning location.

The staff always cope fabulously with a gluten free diet although my daughter and I would be very keen for them to buy another fryer so we can again enjoy chips in the bar. It would also be a selling point for other people on a gluten-free diet. Food in the restaurant is always great value and neither too posh or too rustic; perfect after a hard day's walking.

I'm sure we'll be back many more times.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opsoclonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Mr E,

Thank you for the review and as usual it was our pleasure to have you stay again with us.

We appreciate your comments regarding certain dietary requirements and our approach to satisfying them, and thank you for your suggestion regarding the chips!

We hope to see you all again soon - please check out our web site for our Muddy Boots Offer if you fancy some Winter Walking/Runnnig :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was a return visit to the self catering apartments after a 4 year absence - though this time we brought our grown up children and their partners to celebrate a significant birthday. The hotel and adjoining apartments, are set in a truly beautiful part of the Lake District with walks and hikes in all directions for all levels of fitness. It was as well equipped, spacious and comfortable as we remembered it - and great value for money. Our 2 bedroom apartment comfortably slept 6 adults, although one couple drew the short straw and had to sleep on the fold down sofa bed in the living room. We also remembered to bring our own towels, as they are not provided and are quite costly to hire. Service was friendly and helpful - maps and recommendations were provided for walks and although the apartments do not have wifi, we were able to use the hotel's facilities. We had only 2 minor gripes - firstly a barbecue area would have allowed us to be truly self catering, (although admittedly the bar/restaurant provides hearty, well cooked meals) and secondly we returned from a day hiking in the fells to find absolutely no hot water with which to shower. The problem was swiftly and professionally dealt with, although we were disconcerted to be told that we may have been over using the water. These minor gripes in no way detract from the overall pleasure of staying in the Bridge apartments, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear mirbrian,

Thank you for your review of our Self Catering apartments - we really do appreciate our guests taking the time to write about their experiences in Buttermere and with The Bridge Hotel Self Catering.

Thank you for your return visit - we have had a really great year of bookings with our Self Catering apartments. We have lowered the tariffs to match the rates we were charging approx 2 years ago. With the reduction of price to our guests, we did feel that we would stop supplying towels due to increasing laundry costs.

We have often thought about BBQ areas - the problem of course is that the Self Catering gardens are shared with other apartments so we cannot guarantee privacy for anyone wanting to BBQ.

We are sorry that the hot water wasn't working after your walk, but we are happy to hear we dealt with it as swiftly as possible - sometimes those elements trip and we only know when its too late!

We hope to welcome you again soon, and thanks once again for your review. We will be letting the Apartments on short lets soon, so please let us know if you'd like to book again!

Best wishes,

The Bridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights which we booked last minute with our dog. We could not check in until 15:00 which was no problem as we went for a walk around the lake. The room was nice and clean with a decent size bathroom with double sinks, and the shower was hot and powerful, which after a long day in the fells was most welcome. It was quite refreshing not to have a TV in the room but we logged easily onto the wifi so we could watch the weather on BBC iPlayer. The breakfast was superb and hearty and served with a smile and a bit of banter. We ate in the walkers bar which was of good quality which went down well with a pint of Peroni. The staff loved our Border Collie who was spoilt with the odd biscuit.

Overall I would highly recommend The Bridge Hotel and a big thank you to all the staff for their great customer service.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyrovers351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Andyrovers351,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, and also for your glowing compliments.

We really enjoy reading positive reviews such as yours, as they are a great indication as to how we are performing, and our aim is to allow our guests to feel welcome, and be of assistance when and where we can - a basic mantra for customer service (and when we are complimented on it, we do feel we are achieving this!).

We hope to see you again soon, and thank you for your custom.

The Bridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmorton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We have returned to this hotel countless times - usually as a family.

The location is stunning. So there is no TV or mobile reception - great to get away from it all!

As always a warm & friendly reception. The building exudes charm & character however is old so you need to make allowances for this. If you want a clinical modern totally user friendly hotel book one of the larger anodyne institutions.

The rooms are adequate, furnished in an appropriate manner. The bathrooms are very acceptable with plenty of hot water.

If you want fine dining, eat in the restaurant. We prefer to eat in the bar where the food is wholesome & plentiful. Ideal after a days walking.

Always a good selection of real ales.

Breakfast is well above average.

We will return here again & again over the coming years, as will the rest of our family. What better recommendation can you ask for. It's brilliant at the Bridge.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear ARibbins,

Thank you for your recent review, and we are very grateful for your repeat custom.

We are so lucky to have a lot of repeat business here, and not a week goes by when we don't know someone - we do find ourselves welcoming familiar faces all the time!

We really do appreciate your honest recommendation of us, and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Bridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel 18 months ago and although found it very comfortable, friendly and with great food, I was locked out at the ridiculous time of 10:45pm on a Friday night! I have just returned from a 2 night stay with my partner to celebrate her birthday and found that, although they have now posted notices in the rooms and at the entrances warning about needing to ask for a front door key if you intend to return after 10pm, they still have this crazy policy in place. Surely if they do not have anyone on night duty they should have a combination lock rather than having to ask for a key!

Another gripe is the poor wi-fi connection. This is limited to reception, the lounge and the bar and the connection speed is very variable. Surely in the 21st century it is possible to provide wi-fi in every room with decent connection speed.

Having said all that, it is a lovely hotel (albeit in need of some more contemporary decor) in England's most beautiful location.

We may consider trying The Fish next door next time we visit.

John

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John7550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, Front Office Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear John7550,

Thank you for your second review of The Bridge.

We lock the front dors as a matter of security - during the evening we are often needed in the bars, therefore we cannot monitor traffic coming through the front door. We have ample keys for guests should they require them.

Yes, it is an easy fix to extend the wi-fi if we choose to. We have purposely left the signal to public areas only as we want to retain the "organic" feel to the rooms. Guest feedback both on Trip Advisor and in person suggests that the lack of TV in the rooms results in a more sociable environment, and with this in mind, we decided to not to go ahead with extended wi-fi.

Thank you, and we hope that we may be able to welcome you if you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
7.4 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
5.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
11.8 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing