We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet.”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very quiet.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Bridge is a delightfully secluded hotel ideally located as a base for the Northern Lakes. There's no TV or mobile reception, which is a good excuse to deny knowledge of the outside world for a few days (although there's good wifi in the lounge if you really can't get through the day without a fix of infotainment)

They pride themselves (with reason) on their food, which is very good with a perfectly acceptable wine list,

I recommend this hotel if you want a quiet break with some walking and a credible excuse for not answering the phone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Raymondbadger,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. As you say, we pride ourselves on what we are offerign here. Yes yes Yes, we love the peace and quiet we have with no nonsense from the outside world.... WiFi taken into account.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    83
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
260
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and i recently had a lovely stay at the bridge,after a wet day on the fells we decided to stay overnight,the manager and staff couldnt be have been more helpful,we got a late room price,the room was beautiful,with a mountain view,warm and a very comfey bed,the bathroom was amazing,u can sit in the bath and see mountains! :-),we ate in the bar,sunday dinner was perfect and my partner had the fish pie..again top marks! and the drying room was a bonus...we will be back again very soon...a lovely hotel for couples who want a romantic break..in a beautiful location and the staff make you feel so welcome...:-) julie and david carlisle uk

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillymooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hello there,

Thank you for your kind words. it was a real pleasure meeting with you both and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Hopefully we will see you in the near future.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed for one night over the Bank-hol weekend. We given a suitable room to accept our small dog. Twin room made into a double, so the bed was huge! Clean and well maintained hotel, staff always around to assist. We never got to have a meal in the restaurant but the bar meals were excellent and not too expensive. The B&B prices are a little high, but you get what you pay for! We will definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook Buttermere and its surrounding fells to the south are worth asking for. Very pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Brownale

Thank you for letting the world know about us! We are very proud to be able to deliver what we do in terms of Hospitality and it is always a pleasure when we get good feed back.

Hopefully we will be able to wlcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely


Steven Langley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed with four friends for two nights dinner bed and breakfast and we all enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very well situated in the north west lakes with two lakes on its doorstep convenient for gentler walks and a multitude of walks of varying degrees of seriousness ! The scenery is stunning. Also convenient for Keswick and Cockermouth, both interesting little towns. Our bedroom was a little on the small side but came with a lovely en suite. The dinner menu was different on each evening and the food was beautifully prepared and presented, and the choice of breakfast was superb, including fish, fruit, continental,and all combinations of the full English which will keep you going all day.There is also a walkers bar serving good food and a good selection of excellent beers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear michael n

Thank you for offering your views on The Bridge, it is always a special time when friends get together and we are grateful that you decided to do so with us.

Your so right !!! We are so lucky to have the beautiful situation we do within Buttermere and there is not a day goes by with me opening the curtains in the morning and smiling at what we have on the doorstep (even if it is occasional horizontal rain!)

We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are able to do so.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We called in for a meal after walking round the lake (which takes approximately 2 hours, without any stops).
I had beef bourguignon with garlic mash and although there didn't look like a lot, it really filled me up. My partner had homemade burger with bacon and chips which he also enjoyed.
I imagine this would be a lovely place to stay as there is also an ice cream shop, another pub and a cafe.
There is also a bus service which goes over Honister - that must be a hair raising journey - to Keswick which is probably quite useful to know if you don't fancy driving the windy roads to get there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flicker96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Delighted that you enjoyed both your visit and your food !!!

Its always nice to be able to welcome the locals as much as we welcome the walkers and tourists.

See you online with facebook soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Please don’t let my criticism put you off staying at the Bridge, we have been regulars for many years and whilst things have changed it is still a deliciously, dreamy romantic place to stay. We stayed for four nights on the three for four August special offer which was a bargain. However each time we go we notice that the owners have made cut backs; it started with the removal of the complementary afternoon teas, then canapé’s were dispensed with, on this visit the coffee and mints were priced at a hefty extra supplement which is a bit of a cheek when guests are paying over thirty pounds for the evening meal . The food and service was generally excellent but lacked consistency; sometimes you were offered extra water sometimes not, sometimes fresh black pepper sometimes not. Most dishes were good but there were notable exceptions, on the last night my pineapple desert was in the early stages of discomposure! Still the soup served as an intermediary course in a tiny coffee cup was consistently delicious. The bedrooms are comfortable but during a rare period of warm weather how we missed the flexibility of the old sheets and blankets [is there anyway of regulating the temperature under those pesky duvets?] We did note however that during our stay the room wasn’t vacuumed. A charming new manager has just started so maybe the miner problems will be sorted out? We still love the Bridge and hope that despite the above we will be allowed to return!

Room Tip: Altough the rooms at the back of the hotel have the best views you do have the noise from the bar cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilReed186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Philreed186386,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us again at The Bridge Hotel, having very recently joined the Hotel as general Manager I thought I should at least take the time to speak with the Directors and raise your thoughts.

The decision to reduce the offerings at The bridge were made inline with the current economic climate to ensure that we were still able to welcome regular guests without the need to increase (indeed decrease in some areas) the associated tariff. Not all of the guests we were welcoming were making use of the full "packaged" elements, such as Afternoon Tea and yet were still needing to pay for them on an allocation basis. Clearly we would never diminish the QUALITY of what we offer and yet increased costs were forcing us to consider an increase room rates.

I trust you will understand why we no longer serve arrival guests with Afternoon tea and Coffee and we are delighted that you have been able to make use of some of the fantastic deals on offer currently.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future so I may take the opportunity of personally meeting with you.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My friend and I stayed at The Bridge at Buttermere on the eve of the 22nd June after being washed out of the first night of our camping trip to Woolfest 2012.
While at Woolfest we found The Bridge online via my mobile phone and rang straight away. The very helpful man at the other end of the phone booked us in straight away and said that we could come over there and then to dry out:-) After returning to our campsite and bundling our soggy tent etc into our car we set off through very interesting weather to The Bridge. On arrival (dripping wet and leaving puddles on the floor) the helpful staff got us swiftly booked in and to our room. The room was lovely and clean and the shower was great. The biscuits, tea and hot chocolate supplied were very welcome.
After settling in we went down to the bar and had a lovely dinner in the bar. We were meant to go back to Woolfest for a sausage supper meal but the weather was so atrocious with roads flooding, the beck outside really high and the wind getting up that we decided to stay put. I had Cumberland Sausage and mash and my friend had chicken and veg pie both of which were great; the real ale was lovely too. The next morning after a good nights sleep we had a yummy full cooked breakfast served by a very attentive waiter. We had fruit juice, grapefruit, cooked breakfast, toast and marmalade a pot of tea and a pot of coffee. Extra toast was no problem and the bread it was made from was really nice and they know how to do a proper poached egg; the black pudding was a treat:-) The room where breakfast is served is lovely and this together with the very good service made breakfast a relaxed and elegant affair and I spotted a Red Squirrel outside, how cool.
When we were checking out the chap at the desk helpfully advised us of the best route to get to Keswick by as the weather, although improved, was still playing up.
Recommended and I hope to stay again.

Room Tip: Their website has pictures of all their rooms so you could check out which one to book before hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear EmmaG,

My sincere apologies it has taken me a while to get back to you, we have been waiting for new Log in details for reviews.

What a joy to read that we were able to offer a harbour of comfort during your washout visit to The Lakes. I can think nothing better of being able to enjoy a warm and welcoming shower when wet to the bone and YES, the food is certainly homely and heart warming.

Next time stick to "Glamping" and return to us!

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
5.2 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
391 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
797 reviews
8.4 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing