We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Happened to stumble on The Bridge in a days travels. The staff were very friendly and helpful while not being overbearing. The room was right for us, clean and comfortable without the sterility of a modern hotel. The evening meal was the best I've had in England hands down. Every course was a pleasure and we lingered 'til after 10:00 savoring the scenery and coffee. We have since been back to have tea in the bar out back and I know will be there again for a nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    83
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
261
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Buttermere is a wonderful place, I travel there constantly, living only an hour and a half away. There is next to nothing in Buttermere (except some of the most stunning countryside in the world)! Very few resisdents,only 2 little cafes both linked to farms - with staff who sometimes are resentful of tourists ... which is an odd attitude for a buisiness. Typical example ... 'it must be wonderful living here ................. 'it would be if it wasn't for you visitors'! However, the place is so wonderful it transends such mean comments. The Bridge is very friendly, a lovely hotel. I have stayed in the hotel itself in the recent past and the rooms are lovely ... but perfer to use it for bar meals. Every meal i have eaten at the Bridge has been superb, excellent quality, great selection of wines and spirits. A lovely atmosphere in the bars, great for walkers and families wanting to enjoy a gorgeous meal in a friendly, cosy enviroment. Great value - great service - great quality! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Have just had a four night break at at the Bridge. We were amazed at the standard of the food in the restaurant on each night we stayed there. The room was spacious and individual, it looked as though it had been refurbished. We stayed with friends whose room was also great. Staff friendly and help ful in particular Paul who was always aware of what was happening and made sure the restaurant ran smoothly. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gouldsDerby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed for two nights in the summer in a lovely room, not a very big room but spotlessly clean with a lovely comfortable bed and good clean shower area. The food was faultless and the waiters were very friendly and efficient. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipernotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I have just spent three nights at the Bridge Hotel, my second visit this year. The rate I paid represented excellent value for money. The dinners are delicious and very reasonably priced at £31.50 .

I returned to the Bridge Hotel because I had so enjoyed the accommodation and food on my previous visit in April. My recollection was in every way justified. The service was friendly and efficient.

I think the hotel deserves its *** rating and the food is a notch above that. There is also a good and reasonably priced wine list.

The hotel is well placed for anybody visiting the Northern Lakes

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2011

THis was our first visit to the Bridge, and a wonderful find, The staff were very helpful, the hotel bedrooms excellent , breakfasts delicious and the peaceful location just perfect. We did not eat dinner in the dining room but enjoyed the bar food especially the luscious puddings. We are looking forward to more stays in the future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireUkHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We have stayed at The Bridge many times in the last 20 years and it still remains a favourite. The position is unmatched with wonderful walks straight out of the front door; book out of season mid week and a bargain price for DBandB can be achieved. The staff are personable and thoughtful. We ate in each night and although this is not top end dining, there was 4 choices for each couse, all of which were tasty and balanced. Rooms are warm, comfortable and clean. The lounge once the fire is lit, is just the place to thrash your partner at Scrabble after a walk. If you want a pnt nip next door to the pub.
All in all The Bridge is like putting on your favourite walking boots - familiar, comfy and reliable. We will continue to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus-n-Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
5.2 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
390 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
796 reviews
8.4 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing