We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and only ok”
Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location but thats about all.

Ordered x4 sandwiches and x4 drinks which came to £32!!
Literally was just sandwichez nothing else and wasnt brilliant.

Staff didnt smile, cleared table when not everyone had finished eating!

After eating in pub we asked if we could leave car in carpark while we went for an hrs walk. Was told no u need to go to pay and dsiplay - funny how they was happy to take our money but we couldnt leave car on site!!

Good location about all.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Andie_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed for one night while walking the Cumberland Way. On arrival we went straight to the bar for a drink before checking in. The service was friendly and efficient, with the drinks being put onto our hotel bill. Tea, scones & cakes are available if you prefer them. We had a warm welcome from the hotel reception and our bags , delivered earlier by Sherpa Van, were already upstairs. The rooms were large, spotlessly clean, with an excellent hospitality tray and huge bathroom, with bath. Everything is perfect, unless you like modern decor - as it is all a little old-fashioned, but all in as-new condition. We had a bar meal in the evening which was very nice indeed and well served. Breakfast was wonderful & the hot food freshly cooked to order. It seemed that the owners have thought of everything that walkers need, even a bench in the porch to sit on when taking off & putting on boots. A very comfortable lounge for residents has plenty of interesting magazines, books & games.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittlePatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed yet another fantastic stay at The Fish Hotel. We have stayed each year for about 16 years. We are always greeted with a warm welcome from all the Richardson family who own and run the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are lovely and most have the most fantastic view along the valley and Buttermere lake. We always eat at night at the hotel and always enjoy the food and choices of beers. The English breakfast sets us up for a good days walking and is excellent. For us the Fish is the perfect holiday and we always look forward to our next visit.

Kathryn and James Burkhill

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spend over £20 on food and drink and then ask politely to fill your water bottles from the huge jug of iced water on the bar and be told to fill your bottles in the toilet! Try to put some charge in your phone and be told its against the rules.
What a shame! Clearly the owners (Richardsons) don't want cyclists. Thankfully we have choices and will spend our money next door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Popped in for a pint and meal after a walk round the lake. We went for the "small option" of cumberland sausage and chips for 6 quid each, great value for money, extremely tasty and we will be back next time we are in the lakes. Can highly recomend

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ejc-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After the walk round the lake we stopped in the Fish for a sandwich and a pint. The local ale was just the ticket to quench the thirst. We all had soup which was homemade. Food was above average. Was overpriced but expected that. They know you will be hungry after the walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at The Fish where we have been coming each year for the last 24years for our wedding anniversary. I guess coming for 24yrs says it all...... A fabulous place run by professional polite people where nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is situated in lovely, peaceful location and has breathtaking views of the fells and Buttermere in the distance. Food in the bar is excellent with plenty of choice and you get a very good portion for your money....ideal if you've had a hard days walking!! Rooms are clean and inviting with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/fruit teas and a decent selection of biscuits! Breakfast is also first class with plenty on offer to set you up for the day! All in all a very enjoyable stay and yes......we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
464 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,375 reviews
0 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
510 reviews
0 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
586 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range: $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth
The Fish Inn Buttermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing