We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fish Inn
Nearby Hotels
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$215
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
142
75
24
14
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
75
24
14
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuttermere lakelake districtcrummock waterfleetwith pikeround the lakethe publocal real alesrange of beersbeer gardenpuddingbar mealslovely walkfantastic locationwarm welcomeenglish breakfastcomfortable rooma wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 275 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

What a great location, very picturesque! We stayed at the fish whilst bagging our last wainwright and had a great time. The room was very comfortable and clean, the only comment I would make is that the decor is a bit dated/old fashioned,(not worn out, I think it is just the choice of the owners) but that didn't detract. from the comfort of the room. The staff were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited here Bank Holiday Afternoon after receiving very poor customer service elsewhere. Ordered Sandwiches and drinks at the till, then went to sit outside in the sun. The food arrived promptly and the staff where so friendly, checking on our meal after we had started. Nice Bread on the sandwiches, fresh Jacket Potatoes and lovely fresh salad garnishes. Had a lovely lunch and will definitely be back - Thank You!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights only. One room was spacious the other small, too small really if you had a lot of luggage. Food is quick pub grub. Good range of beers. What stands out is the exceptional personal service. Breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Some rooms are small - check first what is available
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willowEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a bar review. The best parts of the building are now part of the hotel, the 'public bar' being in what I thought was an uninspiring extension at the rear, totally without soul. There is a decent sitting out area side by the beck. The selection of beers though was good. Don't know if food was available.
At the end of our evening we asked for hot chocolates and a brandy to go with. I was astonished when I was told there was no milk left. What! Its a hotel for heaven's sake. If they couldn't be bothered to make it then just tell us. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Superb hosts, very friendly and helpful staff. Spectacular views from the room, pub and breakfast area. Good breakfast, a variety of foods on offer including vegetarian options. Very good pub food and amazing ales. A great base for walking and a comfortable place to come back to at the end of ones travels.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Depal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews