We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definately a walkers cafe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croft House Farm Cafe

Croft House Farm Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Definately a walkers cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This cafe is lovely, but not somewhere to spend a lot of time due to the wooden chairs and benches. Its fantastic for walkers dripping in rain or with muddy boots, but my friend and I were waiting for our partners to do a short walk and our bums went numb!
We shared a pot of tea then I had a Butterbeer!! Very Harry Potter. The staff were friendly, the place is clean and the food did look good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18Suzanne, Manager at Croft House Farm Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, when we refurbished we did spend a lot of time thinking about what seating we would use in the café. We chose oak furniture to compliment the solid oak counter in the café and to try and make the café welcoming to all.
You are correct the furniture is great for walkers dripping wet and muddy because we can wipe them down for the next customer to sit on.
I hope that your partners enjoyed their walk and I am pleased you were able to sample a number of our hot beverages whilst they were gone, including our very own Butterbeer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    50
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from a short break in Buttermere and Borrowdale and had lunch here a couple of times. In fact we drove back across Honister Pass to enjoy lunch a second time rather than face going into Keswick.
Friendly staff, tasty freshly prepared food. Good value baguettes and soup. Clean comfortable and warm with magazines and papers to read.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JGLawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18Suzanne, Manager at Croft House Farm Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you visited us a couple of times during your recent stay in the lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had carrot and coriander soup and rolls, followed by cherry and almond scones with clotted cream and jam ( good job we had burnt off some calories first !) The soup was really tasty and the scones delicious, I was even able to get decaff tea which is unusual. We chose to sit outside on the most glorious, mild afternoon and were treated to visits by chaffinches and other birds who boldly came very close to us ( filter wouldn't accept the bird names) - beautiful. The toilet worked perfectly well ( see some earlier reviews), people need to exercise a bit of common sense when using toilets etc in rural communities that rely on septic tanks, presumably some customers put things down the loo that they shouldn't. The young lady who served us was pleasant and friendly and the prices were very reasonable and they have a card machine unlike the other cafe in the village which is cash only.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini-cooperSdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18Suzanne, Manager at Croft House Farm Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review you gave in February, we are very happy that you enjoyed your lunch with us and also happy to hear that the birds joined you for lunch too!
Since taking over the café and refurbishing at the end of December 2011 we did encounter a number of problems with the septic tank and this is why some of the earlier reviews mentioned the toilet problems.
We had a brand new tank and pipes installed at the end of 2012 and thank you for commenting on it working perfectly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very Welcome stop after our walk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped here on our walk round Crummock water and Rannerdale, It is a lovely little cafe with a modern fresh feeling. Only downside is there is only 1 toilet.
There is a very good selection of homemade sandwiches and cakes on offer. Plus sweets and maps / gifts for sale too. I went for a Jacket potato and my wife went for the Tuna Sweetcorn sandwich, both were enjoyed greatly. We finished off with a Lakelands ice cream on our return journey (absolutley delicious!!!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great hot chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A great location for walkers in the Buttermere region and the hot chocolate is excellent - plus I can highly recommend the addition of marshmallows and cream. Nice choice of cakes but I can't vouch for their quality because I didn't have any, although I'm told the flapjacks with fudge on were great! Dogs are not allowed inside unfortunately, but there is plenty of seating outside for summer walkers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croft House Farm Cafe also viewed

Buttermere, Lake District
Buttermere, Lake District
 
Buttermere, Lake District
Loweswater, Cumbria
 
Keswick, Lake District
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Croft House Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing