We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rugged, remote and very friendly.”
Review of YHA Buttermere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Weekend with friends, walking and cycling. Absolutely magic setting, amazingly good value food, good bunks and excellent showers and toilets. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good pub close too. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for YHA Buttermere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing and the facilities and clean and functional. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the good was excellent!! Very pleasantly suprised! A stones throw away from beautiful walks by mountains and lakes. If your not after luxury and want to get out and about then this place will provide that and more. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Isolated but a great place for great hiking, good camaraderie. Would definitely recommend this hostel. Will definitely go back if back in the area. Room are very clean. Staff is very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shereen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Hi Shereen,
Thank you very much for leaving us a review. It's great to hear that you have had a nice time with us! Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
All the best,
Team YHA Buttermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in an 8 bedded dorm, there were 6 of us,and we all enjoyed it immensely. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was top notch. It was some of our parties first experience at a youth hostel and they will definitely be doing it again! The location is second to none with views from the bedroom of picture postcard standard. The hostel was very clean and although we did not use the self catering side of things it was fully equipped if we had wanted too. Our dorm was located nearby the toilets and showers which were all clean and spacious. All in all i would recommend this youth hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Hi Janet,
Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review! We hope that we have made your friends keen to come hostelling again. It was great having you all over here in Buttermere, hopefully you can come over again and enjoy our beautiful autumn colours soon!
All the best,

Team Buttermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I couldn't fault this hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful and evening meals excellent. I never take the breakfasts as I prefer to be quiet on my own at breakfast rather than have a communal breakfast but I know my friends were fully happy with that too.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DesP257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hi DesP257,
Thank you for your review. It was great having the ramblers from St Helens back with us again, you keep brining good cheer to our hostel! It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us again, hopefully we will see you again soon, with the whole group or just by yourself.
All the best,
Team YHA Buttermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Second visit to this hostel and not disappointed. We were a group of 6 who had a front facing room overlooking the lake and Red Pike. Self catering kitchen well equipped and good view of local bird population from window! Very pleasant staff and great location and value!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hi Bill,
Thank you very much for your review; we always love getting thumbs up! We always try to allocate the best rooms first, so that more guests can enjoy the lovely views over Buttermere and Crummock Water. Great to hear that you liked yours! Hopefully we will see you back in Buttermere again soon.
All the best,
Team YHA Buttermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our first YHA experience and we were very pleasantly surprised. We travelled as a family and had a large room with bunk beds and stunning views. There were loads of showers and toilets and a pleasant living room - again with view. The food was home cooked and plentiful, and although we were within walking distance of a restaurant, we didn't use it as the quality of the food and convenience of staying in won out.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful- especially the Dutch man( sorry,can't remember his name) who couldn't have done more to make our stay pleasant.
Everywhere was very clean and looked after, with staff working very hard to keep it that way.
Location was ideal - a short stroll away from the lake, with walking for all levels around us along with stunning scenery. All in all we would definitely return here, my
eyes have been opened to the hostel experience!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Hi Patricia,
Thank you very much for your lovely review! We always love to hear about our guests' stay, especially when they are new to hosteling. Great to hear that you have had a nice time with us! Remember that we are open all year 'round, so hopefully we may welcome you again next season...?
Best wishes,
Chris, Michelle, Matthew, Rhys, and Wouter (the Dutchman :) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
448 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
216 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#5 of 39 in Keswick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
152 reviews
9.9 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
63 reviews
15.0 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Buttermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Buttermere

Address: King George VI Memorial Hostel, Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buttermere
Price Range: $34 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Buttermere 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An escape from summer crowds for anyone wanting to explore this quieter corner of the Lake District on an activity break or cheap family break. YHA Buttermere is a lovely, rural retreat in an unrivalled location half a mile above Buttermere village. The hostel is perfect for walking holidays with lots of walks of all levels starting here – including the famous Haystacks. On your next family holiday in Cumbria, enjoy a fantastic meal in our restaurant, with superb views of Red Pike and High Stile. Local ales and wines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Buttermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Buttermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing