We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”
Review of YHA Buttermere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Second visit to this hostel and not disappointed. We were a group of 6 who had a front facing room overlooking the lake and Red Pike. Self catering kitchen well equipped and good view of local bird population from window! Very pleasant staff and great location and value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Bill,
Thank you very much for your review; we always love getting thumbs up! We always try to allocate the best rooms first, so that more guests can enjoy the lovely views over Buttermere and Crummock Water. Great to hear that you liked yours! Hopefully we will see you back in Buttermere again soon.
All the best,
Team YHA Buttermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    36
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
12
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This was our first YHA experience and we were very pleasantly surprised. We travelled as a family and had a large room with bunk beds and stunning views. There were loads of showers and toilets and a pleasant living room - again with view. The food was home cooked and plentiful, and although we were within walking distance of a restaurant, we didn't use it as the quality of the food and convenience of staying in won out.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful- especially the Dutch man( sorry,can't remember his name) who couldn't have done more to make our stay pleasant.
Everywhere was very clean and looked after, with staff working very hard to keep it that way.
Location was ideal - a short stroll away from the lake, with walking for all levels around us along with stunning scenery. All in all we would definitely return here, my
eyes have been opened to the hostel experience!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Patricia,
Thank you very much for your lovely review! We always love to hear about our guests' stay, especially when they are new to hosteling. Great to hear that you have had a nice time with us! Remember that we are open all year 'round, so hopefully we may welcome you again next season...?
Best wishes,
Chris, Michelle, Matthew, Rhys, and Wouter (the Dutchman :) )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Returned to YHA buttermere for the third time. Just cna't get enough of this place. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable. The hostel itself is in a wonderful location, just by buttermere village (and the pub!), and the rooms are cosy and clean. Our group never had to wait for a toilet or shower as their are plenty on all floors. The meals are delicious, and the self-catering kitchen is well stocked, and the drying room is nice and big with plenty of hangers.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dasal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Dasal,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely review! Great to hear that you have had a nice time with us, hopefully we will see you back again soon.

All the best,

Team Buttermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A superb base for walking in the Western Fells, with adequate parking. Spacious bright rooms inside, including a large, well-equipped members kitchen with adequate fridge space - both are often lacking in hostels nowadays.
Comfortable bedroom rooms, most with bedhead lights and lots of loos and showers ensure no queues in the mornings.
The place is licensed with a small but tasty selection of beers and wine available.
Buttermere is worth visiting for the food - good breakfasts and very good evening meals. Well cooked, nicely presented and really generous portions just right for tired fell walkers. The best we've had at a YHA hostel for a very long time. Hats off to the people in the kitchen!
The icing on the cake - the verandah with benches at the front of the hostel just right to relax with a coffee and look over to the Red Pike - High Crag ridge on the other side of the Lake.
Suffice to say we'll be back soon.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Martin,

Thank you ever so much for leaving us a great review! I'll make sure to pass your 'hats off' to the kitchen team. Our veranda will overlook some great autumn colours on Red Pike and High Stile soon, hopefully we may welcome you back then to take a nice spot on the benches there again!

All the best,

Team Buttermere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was my first experience of YHA and I have to say I was impressed with it. I was in a group and hence we all shared one room but it seemed to be a decent set up no matter how you were travelling. As with other reviewers I strongly recommend their meals here and the black pudding /bacon starter really is something special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainFlashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi CaptainFlashman,

Thank you very much for your great review! It's always nice to hear that our guests have had a great time in Buttermere, especially when it was their first hosteling experience. I will certainly pass your compliments on our favourite starter on to the chef for you.
Hopefully we may welcome you to Buttermere again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thanks to Chris, Michelle, Wouter, the chefs, and everyone else who all looked after us so well just now, for our family holiday in the Lake District. They have certainly reminded us of the value of the YHA - and we were happy to bring our kids for their first taste of YHA there too. All the different members of staff we met seemed willing to take time with us, and they were great with the kids. We were particularly grateful for how they helped out with some first aid our daughter needed for her knee.... As to other aspects of the hostel, as others have said, it is up to the standard you can aspect from a good hostel albeit in a fairly remote location. We found the 'remoteness' very peaceful - even in August no tourist hordes like you get at Ambleside, Keswick or Windemere. Food was perfectly good too - and excellent value. If you want to pay more, then visit the Fish Inn (although older people may prefer the style of the Bridge Hotel). There are loads of options for exploring by foot or by car from here - including the recent 'Via Ferrata' and the Honister Mine opened for tourists, plus many fell walking options in the fells around Buttermere. PS we recommend the hill right behind the hostel (High Snockrigg) for a family group, as you can park 'half-way up' in the Newlands Valley - then after a shorter stiff climb, you're on top of a 550m high hill with great views in all directions, and Buttermere, far below you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewarsmith-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for your lovely review! It was great having you over in Buttermere with us, so it's fantastic to hear that you have had a nice stay too.
Thank you very much for the Herdy keyring that you gave us; it reminds us of your stay every time we open the reception desk! ;)
Hopefully we will see you again some time soon.
All the best,
Chris, Michelle, Matthew, Richard, Rhys, Tom, and Wouter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Perfect venue, Buttermere is a quiet spot and the hostel is about 5 mins walk from the village where there are a couple of pubs. The hostel was clean and quiet, great breakfast and friendly staff. No phone signal or wifi was also nice for a day or so too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, Kayakmanx! Great to hear that you have been enjoying Buttermere's tranquility. Hopefully we will see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
5.0 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
210 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#3 of 35 in Keswick
178 reviews
8.0 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
59 reviews
13.7 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
159 reviews
15.0 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Buttermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Buttermere

Property: YHA Buttermere
Address: King George VI Memorial Hostel, Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Buttermere 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An escape from summer crowds for anyone wanting to explore this quieter corner of the Lake District on an activity break or cheap family break. YHA Buttermere is a lovely, rural retreat in an unrivalled location half a mile above Buttermere village. The hostel is perfect for walking holidays with lots of walks of all levels starting here – including the famous Haystacks. On your next family holiday in Cumbria, enjoy a fantastic meal in our restaurant, with superb views of Red Pike and High Stile. Local ales and wines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Buttermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Buttermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing