We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of YHA Buttermere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Buttermere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Perfect venue, Buttermere is a quiet spot and the hostel is about 5 mins walk from the village where there are a couple of pubs. The hostel was clean and quiet, great breakfast and friendly staff. No phone signal or wifi was also nice for a day or so too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayakmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for your nice review, Kayakmanx! Great to hear that you have been enjoying Buttermere's tranquility. Hopefully we will see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for YHA Buttermere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I booked 10 beds for a motorcycle trip - with 3 months notice. I later cancelled 4 beds, 3 weeks notice. I was sent a refund application form that I had to fill in ....by PEN!!!! and send back....through the POST.....with a STAMP!!!!....Having made the application on line I fail to understand why I had to resort to 18th century technology to apply for a refund!!!

I think, perhaps, YHA is hoping that I won't bother. I'm so cross that an organisation I've always supported has resorted to such tactics.

I wont book with YHA again. I really hope that they look again at their refund policy. I dont mind being charged for late cancellations - it's fair enough, but making it this difficult to get back a percentage of MY MONEY is just ridiculous. I'm very cross. :(

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA-Buttermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Buttermere, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Marie,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to hear about your booking experience. I will make sure to pass this on to our Customer Care team, as this is not something that the hostel team has a say in.
I hope you have all had a nice time in Buttermere despite of this. Most of your group seemed pretty satisfied when checking out. Nobody in your group mentioned anything about the booking or cancelation process, and all seemed to have a nice time with us. Hopefully you will leave us a review about your stay in our hostel as well; we are looking forward to hearing about you thoughts on our hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Group of us stayed there for May bank holiday weekend, nice place, basic clean accommodation, was sharing a room with 5 others in room 10, 2nd floor, facing West. Sound proofing was satisfactory & food was really good whilst catering manager made allowance for allergy problem. Showers on lower floors tend to be a little better compared to those on 2nd floor. Staff were pleasant as they worked brusquely. Excellently placed amongst some of the Lake District's most rugged terrain, something in every direction from the house. Excellent bottled ales some of which made locally. Overall atmosphere in house was quite pleasant and relaxing.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get the dates your looking for. I have stayed at the house 3 times was eithe...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here in April with a group of young people. The location is oustanding and the hostel very clean and well-cared for throughout. The food is a very good 'pub' standard, with generous breakfasts and a great selection of hearty meals for outdoor folk! The staff were a key feature of a super stay - nothing was too much trouble, and they were cheerful, friendly and helpful thoughout. I will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed here in April and found the location and food at this hostel fantastic. In addition, the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff was first class and far better than many hotels. I loved the black pudding starter and the selection of local bottled beer especially. Thank you all very much and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolkad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here on 8th April as a lone walker and found it excellent
Stayed in an 8 bed dorm which was very clean and warm. Had full breakfast on morning which was spot on but the highlight was the starter of the evening meal, Black pudding, Bacon and new potato salad for £2.95 I would have paid a lot more in a hotel. 3 bean chilli also excellent.

Staff very helpful and just the perfect spot for high or low level walks.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have wonderful views
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have just spent several wonderful days based at the friendly, stunningly located, Buttermere YHA. Two of us shared a 6 person dorm which was very warm and comfy with sheets and blankets provided and a sink in the room. At £18 a night pp this was excellent value.The staff were kind and helpful at all times whether serving up a full cooked breakfast (£5.50 pp) or helping us with local bus timetables. The sitting room has panoramic views over the lakes to Red Pike and a bar is available to sample the local brew after a day's hike. There are walks of varying lengths and challenge in all directions. An unbeatable way to sample the English countryside. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 2-6 person rooms available; those at the front have good views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttermere
0.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
448 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
216 reviews
7.0 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#5 of 39 in Keswick
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
152 reviews
9.9 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
63 reviews
15.0 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Buttermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Buttermere

Address: King George VI Memorial Hostel, Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Buttermere
Price Range: $34 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Buttermere 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An escape from summer crowds for anyone wanting to explore this quieter corner of the Lake District on an activity break or cheap family break. YHA Buttermere is a lovely, rural retreat in an unrivalled location half a mile above Buttermere village. The hostel is perfect for walking holidays with lots of walks of all levels starting here – including the famous Haystacks. On your next family holiday in Cumbria, enjoy a fantastic meal in our restaurant, with superb views of Red Pike and High Stile. Local ales and wines are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Buttermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Buttermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing