We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time a winner”

McLeod's PIZZA BARN
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Waipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Pizza Barn is Northland's go-to destination for good vibes and delicious food. Whether it's incredible pizza, massive salads, or delicious McLeod's Brewery craft beer you're after, the world famous Pizza Barn has something for everyone.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time a winner”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My second visit to the Pizza Barn was just as good as the first. The atmosphere is great, the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Don't worry if your not into pizza, I had the sea food chowder and it was one of the best. The shrimp cocktail is awesome but be warned it's big enough for two.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    85
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruakaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OUR LOCAL FAVOURITE”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just noticed that Pizza Barn had a website. We've been too busy enjoying our meals at Pizza Barn to go on the computer and tell others. We're doing it now - it is simply the best.

Margaret and John Pennington

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruakaka, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The Best”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

What we love about the Pizza Barn is that they are consistent in the quality of food and service.
What a joy everytime we go for a meal at the Barn. Compliments to the chef and all the
front house people making our visit a most enjoyable and memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elsje v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great little gem”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service.

We had the iconic pizzas- salivating just thinking about them, ribs between the kids- perfect! and the seafood chowder to die for!

The staff was warm and friendly.

Everything about the restaurant was 'wow'.
Recommend ++++++

Suggest you prepare for a short wait..well worth it! Popular with locals and vsitors.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, great for family”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I have dined there a dozen times there now. Great food, music, great atmosphere. Good menu for adults as well as for children. There is an interesting play corner for children that has old typewriters, telephones, building blocks. Young children are encouraged to "get their hands dirty" on them, while the adults dine and chat with ease and relaxation. It is absolutely ideal for family with young children.

The only thing puts me off is they shut for one month in winter. One entire month! I understand the no booking accepted part but one month closure?! I guess this is a "happy problem / complaint" for the owner. I don't want to think it is a New Zealand culture but working throughout the winter would have gained them a lot more customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLeod's PIZZA BARN also viewed

 
Mangawhai, Northland Region
Waipu, Northland Region
 

Been to McLeod's PIZZA BARN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing