We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could so live there”
Review of Camp Waipu Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camp Waipu Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Love travelling from the rat race of Auckland to the peace and quiet of Camp Waipu Cove. It is an amazing place to recharge the batteries. We stay in the self contained cabins and they are clean and fresh with everything that we need. The camp is user friendly for children with great little playgrounds spread throughout which my grand-daughters love.The staff at the camp are available but not in your face.They are friendly and helpful and run the camp in a great manner.
I would and do recommend Camp Waipu to all my friends, family and work mates as the place to go to get away. My family and I just love it there and go back every year.

Room Tip: if you don't want the hassle of erecting tents and want a night off from being crammed in a moto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 352 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We,have just returned from our first family camping trip with our children aged 2 & 3, after doing lots of research on family friendly campgrounds Camp Waipu didn't dissapoint, in fact it surpassed all our expectations. It had a lovely, friendly family feel. The playgrounds were fantastic, kitchen facilities were great and the bathrooms absolutely spotless.

In fact we have already booked to go back again. The only tiny thing I would have liked and this is only because we haven't camped for so long and I forgot to bring a bottle was a washing up liquid dispenser in the kitchen areas it would have just made it a little easier to clean up after ourselves for the next people using the kitchen.

I really would recommend camping at Waipu, it really is an awesome camp site in what is one of the most stunning locations I have ever been to in New Zealand.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank RicesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After we heard great things about Waipu Cove, we went camping with friends this past weekend. Our group included a 5, two 10 year olds and a teenager. It's a well run campground, real friendly staff, clean facilities and best of all it's right on a gorgeous patrolled beach - you actually hear the waves crashing on the shore all the time. We had beautiful weather, cloudless, long sunny days, the water was warm and beautiful. The adults joined the kids in the waves all day with our body boards. My husband went kayak fishing early saturday morning and caught a few really big snappers - but he didn't bring them back to shore because we didn't have filleting facilities. We'll be better prepared next time.

We had a great spot for the tent, close to the beach, playground and all amenities which enables us to make use of the communal kitchen area, the only downside of it was that the lights at the facilities block was so bright that no matter what time at night you woke up, the tent was brightly lit inside. That was a bit of a bother.

We liked how management request you to be quiet from only 11 at night and 12 on a saturday - which is great compared to the all-round 10 o' clock 'curfew' we had at another campsite. When it only gets dark at 9:30, 10 is very early. We also felt that considering the camp was only half full, it will be much appreciated if they could give you a later book out time than 10 on a sunday morning, especially for tents. But we understand that is how it is everywhere, we just didn't want to end our perfect weekend in such a mad rush. We decided that next time, after vacanting the site, instead of playing at waipu cove beach for the day, we'll drive the 3 minutes up the road to Langs Beach and spend the day there before heading back, it's just as beautiful.

The dairy is right next to the campsite in the main road and well stocked. We went to a great little pizza place called Pizza Barn in Waipu cove village on the friday night after setting up our tent. Awesome pizzas. Don't think you can walk there, drive! - it's 8km away. It was quite a rush getting back in the caravan park before the gates closed at 9:00, to our amusement another speeding car in front of us were also driving to make the gate in time - with minutes to spare :-) If you are not in the park by 9, you have to leave your vehicle outside the campgrounds.

All in all, we had a great weekend and will be going there again very soon. It's sure to become a family favorite spot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlyvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Big family friendly camp-site, which must be very busy when full. However we were there when 1/3 full and it was really good.The surf beach is just over the dunes and the views are amazing. Facilities very clean.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emperor_Palpatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Extremely well run campground. Clean facilities, patrolled beautiful beach - definitely planning to come back next year. Great for families, felt very safe with security patrols at night.
Mum and Dad stayed in cabin which was also clean and well appointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We travelled with a Motorhome and this was the first campsite we went to and weren't disappointed.

The location, right by the most amazing beach is fabulous. Good shower facilities and the people in the office were really helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Fantastic amenities for a very large family with lots of young children. Stunning location. Staff and guests seem to all be part of one big family. Very clean, organised with a nice family environment. Want to stay every year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaBetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waipu
4.4 mi away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
62 reviews
10.5 mi away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
20.1 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
3.4 mi away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
47 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aurora Lodge
Aurora Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waipu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Waipu Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Waipu Cove

Address: 869 Cove, RD2, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Waipu
Price Range: $53 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camp Waipu Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find Camp Waipu Cove nestled at the southern end of the beautiful and unspoiled Bream Bay. Our Northland holiday park’s and cabins great facilities, supreme beach location and well-kept Waipu Cove accommodation create the ideal setting for a classic Kiwi getaway. Our Waipu Cove camping ground has been a Northland holiday haven for generations of Kiwi families, and continues to offer one of the best camping environments in New Zealand to visitors from near and far. We look forward to seeing you here at Camp Waipu Cove, Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camp Waipu Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing