We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous stone cottage in Waipu”
Review of The Stonehouse

The Stonehouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waipu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Stonehouse
Ranked #5 of 6 Waipu B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have been a regular at the Stonehouse Cottage in Waipu for over a year, the grounds are immaculate with amazing gardens featuring just about every fruit, veg and herb you can think of. The cottage itself is well equipped and there are kayaks available for the lake out the back, totally peaceful and characterful place with very comfortable bed and a lovely welcome from Bob and Sylvia. I will continue to return here and recommend to all Northland visitors!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Very clean, comfortable and homely. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We were in the middle of a busy trip home to see family and decided we would take one whole day and night for ourselves. I googled a lot of places around but this place looked like the nicest for the best price ($100-$160 per night). We were definately not dissapointed! We stayed in the cottage right beside reception and it was huge with all you could want in a little getaway home. The place looked lovely and the owners had obviously put a lot of work into the place. The bed was great, nice big shower and lovely view of the sandunes from our room. Unfortunatly the waves were not very big this particular day to my husbands dissapointment but we were nice and close to the beach and decided we would go fishing instead. The owners are a lovely swiss couple and he had leant out his fishing rods to a family to take away on holiday with them so he leant us his really nice personal surfcaster. We had a great break fom the madness of visiting family. We went to dinner at the pizza barn in waipu which had awesome pizzas and great service, so be sure to go there if you visit. The only downside we only realised the morning we were due to leave that breakfast was not actually included in the price which is the usual b and b arrangement which was dissapointing but Im sure if you know that before you go you can organise it when you arrive and factor it in. I would definately recommend this place to my friends and family!

Room Tip: We stayed in the self contained cottage which was huge with bedroom and bathroom upstairs and lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwikristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My 2 night stay in The Cabin was a delightfully relaxing experience, very clean, comfortable double bed, lovely decor, DVD & sound system. The hosts were very helpful. Enjoyed my breakfast sitting outside to the sound of pounding waves. Highly recommend. A short drive to either Langs Beach and Waipu town. Visit the Pizza restaurant as I found the Scottish Museum very interesting, excellent exhibitions.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pikelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neuseeland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waipu hotels
0.2 mi away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
48 reviews
1 mi away
Aurora Lodge
Aurora Lodge
#2 of 6 in Waipu
44 reviews
3.6 mi away
Camp Waipu Cove
Camp Waipu Cove
#1 of 5 in Waipu
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
65 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Homestead at Black Sheep Farm
1.4 mi away
Strathaven
Strathaven
#3 of 5 in Waipu
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stonehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stonehouse

Address: 641 Cove Road, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waipu
Price Range: $58 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than two hours North of Auckland, you can relax in our charming self-contained Stonehouse - Cottage by the sea. Or if you prefer, stay in the very private, self-contained cabin at the rear of the Stone House. Enjoy the open view over our green pastures the huge Pohutukawa trees, the Maori Pa site and the lagoon with distant Mount Manaia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing