We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Very Reasonable”

Schmidtsville Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Wellesley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
431 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great Food Very Reasonable”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff are very friendly and good. The food is simple outstanding. I cannot say anything negative about this traditional eating place. If you are visiting the area make the effort to drive to this neat little town and eat here. They have a neat little craft store that is attached, and the town is neat place to walk around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service, time after time”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have eaten at Schmidtsville Restaurant time and time again and the food is always on the table within 10 minutes. The food prices are VERY reasonable and the food is always hot and tasty. The atmosphere is clean and professional. The staff is always pleasant and helpful. I would give this restaurant 5 out of 5!! The only downfall of this place is the hours....open till 8pm on Thursday and Friday only. Otherwise, open till 4 pm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great home made food.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a wonderful place. They have a nice menu and several daily specials. When we were there they had Turkey dinner or BBQ'd ribs or Pork chops or Liver & Onions. You can order a regular portion or a large portion which includes potatoe of choice, veggie of choice, home made bread, coleslaw, dessert and beverage. I had the large Turkey dinner and it was fantastic, plenty of meat and dressing, double stuffed potatoes cranberry sauce, gravy and turnip that so tender and tasty. The desserts selection was unbelievable, I had raisin pie that was awesome.
The waitress was really nice and knowledgeable. We were there at 5:00PM by 5:30PM there was a long line up to get in. They are not always open, so call for times. All in all this was a really nice place to eat I highly recommend it. My only concern was it was very warm in there!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great food and Great Service”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

For that home cooked taste Schmidsville Restaurant is another one of those hidden gems. We were told that this restaurant is better than another similar in Millbank Ontario. I would comment that both are excellent. The only draw back is the one I am writing about is unfortunately only open on Thursday and Friday evenings with breakfast and lunch the rest of the week. Meals are great, sevice is great and so are the pies.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We meet friends here for breakfast every few months and the food never disappoints. Expect to wait on Saturday morning but it's worth it. The rye toast is the best! Good, reliable home cooking and a nice gift shop as well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryCairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmidtsville Restaurant also viewed

 
Waterloo, Region of Waterloo
New Hamburg, Region of Waterloo
 

Been to Schmidtsville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing