We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run small hotel and restaurant, comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Five Rise Locks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Well run small hotel and restaurant, comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

This hotel has nine well provided and comfortable rooms. Run by its owners who have many years experience in running hotels, this shows in the provision of all that is required for a comfortable stay. The restaurant has good quality food, well prepared at a reasonable cost. The wine list is excellent with good quality wines not overpriced. Ideal for a few days visit to Yorkshire and the Dales and within easy reach of Leeds and Bradford

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    39
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
59
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is a truly family run hotel. Everyone was so kind and obliging.
9 bedrooms, 2 on the ground floor, all en suite, glamourous soft furnishing and modern bathrooms. lovely views and a 20's style sun room. Traditional bar and restaurant serving interesting and quality food. Lots of produce from local farms. Excellent, traditional breakfast, newspapers on hand. Lot of interesting antique furniture around. Internet connection would be nice. I shall return

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at this fine hotel for two nights whilst I was in Bingley with my partner for the Bingley music festival.
All I can say is that if you need a hotel in Bingley then you are in for a treat if you stay here. The family who own it are incredibly friendly, the food is extremely good...the full english breakfasts and the Sunday lunch we had were the best we`ve had anywhere for a long time. The service is very personal and very good, the owner and his wife and two daughters doing all the cooking and front of house work too, and they were all very jovial and extremely sociable all the time. If you`re lucky you may meet the family`s two Basset Hounds, Tilly and Ruby too, who both love lots of attention.
We stayed in a ground floor double room which was very tastefully decorated and furnished to a good standard and of a good size and the bed was VERY comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Five Rise Locks, so much so that we will make a point of returning for a weekend or two.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erictheking7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is in a nice, quiet location, overlooking a valley. Its only minutes walk away from the famous five rise. The hotel is clean and well decorated, our room had a loevely view over the gardens. We went out for the evening but found the bar to be lively (not rowdy) when we returned and we stayed down for a drink. The proprietors are friendly and helpful, getting us directions to the place we were visiting that evening. I'd recommend this hotel and happliy stay there again if I was visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

I selected this hotel, as I find the chain hotel establishments generally to be disappointing and often are very noisy. The hotel is easy to find with the benefit of sat - nav. I was well received and had a pleasant , clean and functioning bedroom. It was also very quiet. The breakfast and evening meals were of an excellent standard and were suitably priced. It was interesting to note that there were non - residents eating in the evening in the restaurant. The hotel is family run and I found them to be professional and good company. I would certainly use it again, when I was in the area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veritasplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times whilst working in the town, it is out of town and a bit in a residential area as mentioned elsewhere. The rooms I have stayed in have been very comfortable with freeview on the TV which was a pleasant change.

I could not have asked for friendlier staff and the food was always excellent, it can get a bit busy in the evenings for dinner as it is popular with locals, but it was never a problem.

It is only a couple of minutes from the canal so I was able to get out running on a safe nice route and easily found some other footpaths to make circular routes.

It is not a big hotel and as a business traveller on my own was made to feel extremely welcome and when I needed to get away early in the morning breakfast was arranged without any problem.

I have stayed in this hotel on at least 6 occasions and have never had a complaint and I am one to moan if it's not right.

It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre and coming back it is up a steep hill, although in a residential area some of the views from the rooms I was in were very nice as well. I never bother to post reviews but for once I thought it would make a change to report good service.

  • Liked — free wifi food friendliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

Stayed at Five rise wanting somewhere close to Ilkley (Rugby game) and to see the famous Five Rise Locks.
Seemed sensible to book a hotel of the same name.
Booked in, changed and went to dinner.........Superb, steak that melted in the mouth and a decent choice of wines at reasonable prices.
If you want to stay in the Dales area and you miss this place you have missed an experience.
Great restraunt, nice clean large rooms, views of the Dales and a friendly welcome like you would not imagine

One piece of advice ......try it you will not be disapointed

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodySnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bingley
0.3 mi away
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Oakwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
5.3 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Rise Locks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Rise Locks Hotel

Property: Five Rise Locks Hotel
Address: Beck Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Rise Locks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is tucked away in a residential area but still within easy distance of Leeds and Bradford, and is renowned for its service, friendliness, excellent cuisine and hospitality. The small boutique hotel has an excellent reputation for its restaurant which offers good value, fresh produce on both its à la carte and fixed price options. At the hotel you’ll find comfy sofas, a terraced garden, and restful views of the surrounding countryside. A former mill owner’s house, this Victorian stone building is just a couple of minutes from the A650 main road and the busy heart of West Yorkshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Five Rise Locks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Rise Locks Hotel Bingley, Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing