We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish was good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dick Hudson's

Dick Hudson's
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in Bingley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Dick Hudsons offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fish was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went on a friday and they do a special fish day. It was cooked well, servers were lovely, great location. Will go again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliPWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    195
    110
    80
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Lovely setting - views to die for!

High hopes dashed when two of the starters were just tepid (these were deducted from the bill when mentioned).

Main courses very good.

Desserts ok - nothing special.


Good service - prices ok.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Balikissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value, good service, fine views..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It is a chain pub so the menu ,and prices, are not gastro but the location between Menston and Bingley is superb with lovely views if you ignore the pylons.They serve food in the bar (order at the bar) or in the restaurant with waitress service,today from the friendly Lynn. They sell my wife's favourite Argento Rose and I had a refreshing pint of Leeds Pale. To start the Mezze platter including sweet potato skins ,flatbread ,crushed chick pea dip (Chunky garlicky Hummus) put us in a mediterranean mood(!).I had the wild boar and chorizo burger and the missis enjoyed a surfin tuna burger, both with 'gourmet' chips (£1 extra!) The desert menu looked good but that will have to wait to next time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect end of long working week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

How nice to sit in beer garden early evening with a nice cold beer just looking at the amazing view after a couple of drinks we were taken to our table we choose to eat off off fish Friday had Seabass and Cod loin served perfect followed by Eton mess fab service can't wait to come back on Father's Day hope the sun still shinning

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanlovessunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We used to go here quite a lot as the food was excellent and it was a nice drive out, I am not sure if they have changed the chef but the food has really gone down.
The last time I went I was served a very dry fish pie that was full of bones, it was so bad I couldn't eat it. When I complained they told me that the menu says it may have bones in ( but it doesn't say there will be so many you cannot eat it ) the attitude was very poor.
The location is excellent and the food in the past was good, hopefully this is just a blip and they will sort them self out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allenhart999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick Hudson's also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 
Wyke, West Yorkshire
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Dick Hudson's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing