We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge

Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated opposite Bingley railway station. We are open Wednesday to Sunday from 12 Noon until late. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order. We have a great selection of quality wines, complimented by new world lagers and ciders. We have been awarded a place in Camras good beer guide and always have five well kept hand pulled beers available. We also have an extensive cocktail menu and over 100 spirits to choose from.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been to Foundry Hill on a number of occasions, having eaten a couple if times.

The staff are extremely attentive and very friendly. The food is always of a high standard.

Whether you pop in for a drink or two before catching a train or have a meal, you are treated with the same high standard.

Often guest beers which always go down well.

Well done. We will be back

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andymax7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    33
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“well worth a fisit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Follow the signs to |Bingley station and you will find the Foundry Hill easily. The atmosphere is pleasant if a little dark in the dining area but there is some lovely old exposed brickwork and comfy sofas if you choose to have a relaxing drink rather than eat.

The waitress was very friendly but unfortunately our order got a bit mixed up as I have a small appetite so ordered 2 starters instead of starter and a main, my partner ordered starter and main , however we only received 2 starters (fish cakes with a lovely fresh salsa served on a board) so we shared them, I am glad they got the order wrong as my next starter of meatballs with a tomato dipping sauce was HUGE and more than adequate. My partners beef Sunday lunch was perfect with the meat tender and pink just as he likes it, and the vegetables cooked very nicely, just a slight tip, chose to sit at a non varnished table as the varnished ones are quite sticky, however would defiantly recommend and return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very good food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

called in a while ago now, but the food was fantastic the ale was spot on and the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. know a lot about the ales that they had on at the time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FFDP1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best party buffet ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Massively impressed with the food provided for a friend's 40th. All finger food but done to a very high standard. Can't wait to come back for a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jollyholsWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food at the Foundry Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have been to the foundry hill for a drink many times very nice atmosphere not reliant on loud music a separate bar you go down a few stairs to a room where you can dine and also sit and have a drink

After good reports on the food we decided to try it out.

We really enjoyed the experience a new chef had started and the menu was been up-dated.

For starters we had

Salmon Carpaccio my wife loved this thinly cooked fresh salmon with strawberry avocado salad had our doubts this combination would work wow the taste was sensational.

I had the Thai Fish cakes with salsa again chef had got this spot on little bit of a kick in the fish cake not too much this worked well with the salsa really was delightful.

Main Course

We went for just simple salads I chose Goats cheese loads of warm cheese lovely dressing my wife went for the Chicken and bacon which was great.

Sides just 1 portion of chunky chips to share which was ample for 2 really good homemade chips. We also chose green beans with balsamic dressing and shaved parmesan cheese again lovely well thought out side dish.

A great Night staff were very friendly and helpful will be back to try there pasta's which is their specialty can't wait to sample these.

Highly recommend well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlPBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing