We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmm...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shama

Shama
Ranked #4 of 55 Restaurants in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hmm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why a lot of people are giving this place a good review. When my family and I went the food took too long to arrive and the was little atmosphere despite the amount of people inside. A very small place which has cold, chewy, uncooked food for a big price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMax1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    63
    19
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best curry iv e had in ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Went to the Shama on a Sunday after a weekend in Yorkshire with my partner on a Sunday night.We was not disappointed, the food was spot on you will be very happy.We were surprised that there was no alcohol, (You can take your own, but the local shop was shut) we should have asked when booking. The service was excellent and the guys working there were fun. I would defiantly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We do have our pick of the best in Yorkshire but we come here frequently. The staff are great, really chatty and attentative. The menu is like any other which isn't a bad thing, we always really enjoy our curries. The only downside is the decor whic is think is abit tacky but having been to many restaurants in the area, many do similar silver/gold/red/black floral and java lamps..Not my taste though. Also - Our clothes always smell of curry when we are home, even coats that were hung up, really don't like that. Will still return no doubt for sure convenience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Another fantastic meal at Shama. We couldn't fault the food, service, value for money or atmosphere. Every part of our meal was great!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The shama is definitely my favorite place to get a curry, the range of food was extraordinary and the atmosphere was great. The curries came with a little side dish of sauces, all very tasty and the naan bread i am now obsessed with! I would really recommend the mango lassi was superb. overall a great restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NadiaL629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shama also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bingley, Bradford
 

Been to Shama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing