We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shama

Shama
Ranked #3 of 56 Restaurants in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The shama is definitely my favorite place to get a curry, the range of food was extraordinary and the atmosphere was great. The curries came with a little side dish of sauces, all very tasty and the naan bread i am now obsessed with! I would really recommend the mango lassi was superb. overall a great restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadiaL629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    68
    19
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“SHAMA BAHAMA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is going to be a detailed review so forgive me.
Even though i live in Bingley I have never visited this place even though friends and family are regulars here and always recommend it to me (more of a Cardamons further up the road).

From the moment the 4 of us we walked in we were extremely welcomed by the Front of House who kept us entertained until we were given a table (we hadn't booked and the place was very busy on the friday but we were seated to a table within 10 minutes) Once sat down the waiter handed us our menu's, taken our drinks order and given us our pickle tray and poppadoms. Starters had come out and i Had the liver tikka, mix starter for 2 and vegetarian starter for 2 which all tasted excellent and had come out nicely presented with some extra sauce. The same applied for the curries which i loved and cant wait to go back for 'Andy Lamb Bukary' and it was beautiful. All in all decent price and a great meal out.

However what i enjoyed the most about the restaurant was the staff. The were continuously on the ball, the moment we had finished our poppadoms they were there and had taken them away within seconds, same for starters and mains. Moreover as they come to serve and clear your food they chit chat with you and joke which i really enjoyed. I remember the waiter who served the vegetarian for 2 harassing his wife for making him order it and saying the poor guy wants some meat and to have some mercy on him which i found hilarious. Moreover this is the 1st place i have been to where the food actually looks like what is on the menu (its well presented) which shows that care was gone into making it.

The establishment is clean and i noticed it has 5 stars for food and hygiene which is a plus. In addition the toilets are REALLY CLEAN which i was shocked to see at a public place. The floor did not have a spec of dirt or grime on it and neither did the toilets or taps and the basin area was clean and had a shine and there was plenty of soap which showed it was regularly maintained.

The only downside i have with this place is the fact that it was rather noisy and echoey and wasn't decorated well. There is no theme to the restaurant and nothing matches. They have this wallpaper on the back wall which looked rather cheap and tables and chairs are bland and boring and two bubble ornaments which change colours. Maybe if the go with an Indian theme and get some fungshuai going it would look and feel more authentic but that is the only downside.

Overall a Great meal out served by people who care about their customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very average. This was recommended to me but did not live up to my expectations. Food was ok but nothing outstanding. Made our group wait for a table even though there were plenty of free tables?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CurryFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have been here with family and friends. An inexpensive evening as you can take your own drinks, but don't forget your corkscrew or bottle opener. Staff are friendly, polite and very helpful. I don't really like spicy food and the staff have always helped me to choose something mild and I have never been disappointed yet. We will definitely visit here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never a bad curry.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great curry house, proberbly the best in Bradford. Service and food both great, take your own beer or wine. Just a shame they don't deliver but thankfully we only live 5mins away for collection.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AIeverytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shama also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Shama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing