We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and helpful staff”
Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nelson, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spice of India serves delicious food in the restaurant and also delivers takeaways. We especially rate their menu as it includes a better-than-usual selection of vegetarian and seafood curries, and they are always happy to offer vegetable side dishes as main course options. The staff are really helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good Indian restaurant”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

From looking at it from the outside you might not expect it but if you want a really good Indian meal in Lancashire then this is the place you need to go.

There is a good menu with a decent amount of choice - enough so that you can have something that really appeals but not so big that it is overwhelming. The staff are excellent - friendly and professional and genuinely helpful, the premises are very clean and well presented and the food itself is superb - tasty, good sized portions and at a sensible price.

I would highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4F6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seeing in the. New Year at the Spice”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Five of us decided to see in the New Year at our favourite restaurant. Apart from a slight hiccup on the drinks front ( not the fault of the management ) the evening was a roaring success. Everything from the menu was great and the singer added to a great atmosphere. As always we were given a warm welcome and everyone had a grand time

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityvisitorBLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Food very tasty, there is a large choice of dishes. The staff were polite and friendly, atmosphere welcoming and relaxing. I went with my husband and we had been before with friends but couldn't remember it. However I was very impressed this time, I would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debsbarrowford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Five of us visited to celebrate a friends birthday. Three of us like spicy food and two don't. The two that don't like spicy food ordered chicken and chips but the waiter went out of his way explaining all the different dishes and he brought them small "tasters" so they could try them.
We were all made to feel welcome and the food was excellent, in fact I can say it was the best Indian I have ever had. The restaurant doesn't look anything special from the outside and once inside the décor and music is like going back in time to the 80's. However the service and food more than make up for that. The prices are very reasonable and we will be visiting again in the near future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrowfordclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

Barrowford, Lancashire
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing