We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CLOSER TO NATURE DESTINATION”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I had a short one night stay at Cherrapunjee holiday resort and it's simply amazing for the true close to nature kind of experience. One looking for simlar must stay at this resort as the location and surrounding are just amazing.
Though there are limited rooms , it's all of good standard in style with modern amenities. The local staff are very professional and well trained in their roles in terms of house keeping and serving food and of course to speak english. Mr. Rayen, is a professional operator that has acquired best knowledge to cater guests from in terms of amenities and transporting in this remote location particularly guest
transfers and sightseeing. It’s a life time experience to be at Cherrapunjee that too if you stay here as you get to know more flavours' with the local people. The trekking for the living route bridge's are amazing though I missed a double dekker route bridge due to short of time.
~ SK NAIR , DUBAI - email: kgsr@email.com

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sknDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 319 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2009

I went to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort. It served me the kind i was looking for. Located 20 kms aay from Cherrapunjee in Laitkensew on top of a hill. In front you could see the maginificent mountains while at the back lies the Bangladesh plains. Its a good place to relax as well as go for treks to the Root bridges. I went to Living Root Bridge and had seen one of its kind for the first time. It was a ideal destination for Us. Mr Ryan, the owner was extremely hospitable. Kudos to him that he is promoting such a place where very few people know about. The staff are all village peeople whom he has taught english, to serve guests. The food was also fresh and welcoming. Extreme hospitality we got. We and my husband plan to go there once again. Monsoon is the best season to go there as you can see and breathe the nature in its full bloom. But mind you during the monsoon the treks can be slippery.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Payal963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Cherrapunjee resort has a home like feel but then nobody visits a resort to fee like home!
The rooms were very damp, and since it was raining non-stop, the ceiling in the bathroom leaked.
The owner is very hospitable, the staff extremely well trained, service was immaculate, food was extremely fresh and wholesome.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reekshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

There are a few places in Cherrapunjee town to stay, but this one which is farther (about 15-20 km and 45 min) is a better location. One could complete the sightseeing around Cherrapunjee onward or on the return from this resort as the roads to this place are winding and its a a drive from the town.

The host Mr Denis Rayen is very hospitable and confirmed via sms our arrival and our preference for food. Food was ready on arrival and very tasty and had the local flavours that we wanted to taste.

The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable with the basic amenities. The best views are from the main porch as the cottage overlooks a valley. There are six rooms around a main hexagonal hall (additional rooms are being constructed).

The hotel organizes treks and tours into the valleys. There is a Double decker root bridge (full day trek), a single root bridge, Rock garden (about 15 min drive), a local church and village, treks to see the Bangladesh border, and innumerable places to simply explore. This place sees the most rainfall in the world and is abundant in natural beauty.

We stayed only one night and we regret that very much as we missed seeing the double decker root bridge. Hope we can return here and see more of this serene place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Cherrapunji is well known for its highest amount of rainfall. To explore the lush green countryside and waterfalls, we a family of four adults and an infant took a road trip from Shillong to Cherrapunji. The journey was decent in most stretches though towards the latter half while nearing the town we encountered narrow hilly roads with broken patches and pebbles and with the sheer drop in the valley on the opposite side, it did give some jitters. Cherrapunji Holiday Resort is located in the middle of tbis idyllic town and provides a good view of the hills beyond, providing a nice setting both during sunrise and sundown. The resort is typical of hilly areas and is basic in infrastructure. However the hosts are warm and the food tasty. There are several day trips one can undertake including treks to Living Root Bridge and we encountered several young foreigner backpackers. There is nothing much to do in the resort but sit back and relax. On the road journey, there are several popular spots for photograph, including one where a giant waterfall can be witnessed from the mountain cliff. We also witnessed the Bangla border plains Do take a trip to the limestone caves in Mawsmai, but be careful with your footing!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikram_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
Thank Jean-Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EllaDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
4.6 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
197 reviews
0 mi away
Sohra View Lodge
Sohra View Lodge
#4 of 11 in Cherrapunjee
2 reviews
21.9 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#15 of 42 in Shillong
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Four Season Eco Resort
Four Season Eco Resort
#6 of 8 in Cherrapunjee
1 reviews
0 mi away
Travellers Bed & Breakfast
Travellers Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 82 in Shillong
45 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Cherrapunjee Sunrise Guest House
#7 of 11 in Cherrapunjee
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Address: Village Laitkynsew | Village Laitkynsew, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Price Range: $26 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. The focus is on the abundant scenic beauty all around the Resort, the benevolence of the Asian Summer Monsoon on Cherrapunjee, the enchanting and challenging Nature Treks in this amazing terrain, the Living Root, Baths in waterfalls, mountain streams and cool springs during the rainy season, Swims in Natural Swimming, Campfires, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning and Camping Out in winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherrapunjee Holiday Hotel Cherrapunjee
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing