We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Christmas at Cherra resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We group of 8 stayed at the cherra resort on the christmas eve and christmas and spend a wonderful time amidst the green-blue east khasi hills of cherrapunjee, meghalaya. This resort is 18km from cherrapunjee town amidst forest of fern, cane, bamboo and many other trees. There is a main building where the rooms encircle the dinning lobby which has all amenities from internet to detail geographical information about the place. The better rooms are situated in a separate block from the main building. But the whole compound is set aside a hill that gives an wonderful view of the mountain and the clouds. The hospitality was great. Mr. Rayan and all his family members takes very good care of every guest. It was like living in a house rather than staying in a hotel or resort. They will arrange veichle / guide for sightseeing tour or trecking in the nearby spots. You can see some of the rootbridges by moderate trecking. We wish to visit this resort again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 328 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

cherrapunji was the only place where we enjoyed during our trip we planned in december 2012. the location of the resort was amazing with great hosts. lovely places to see and trekking freaks will enjoy the place.the room and the food in the resort were very good.the hospitality of the staff was good.

Room Tip: the rooms in the other building is very good and they also have accommodations in tents who wish to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuradha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are coming to Meghalaya then do not stop only upto Shilong. Continue your journey to Cherrapunji. It is worth place to visit. Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is place to stay for at least couple of days to week time.

The staff here is very friendly. The food is excellent, try local variety of the food. The preparation is really good. Try giving complete order at once. If you add any thing during your food, then be prepared to wait for least half hour.... even for chapati or rice.

The owner is saint! He is very caring and joyful person. He personally took interest in making our stay joyful. Do meet him when you reach there. He played with my kid, made friendship, what more , came to make bye bye and wait till our vehicle move. I am sure that he can not come to every one who stay there, but I am sure that it is his attitude - to comfort his guest.

The place is in mid of nature. You will feel like, being on different earth. Stay calmly at this place. They also arrange for the trek. The natural bridges around this place are amazing! Do trek as per the owners advice.

And do stay for at least couple of days. It is really comforting place. They also have big rooms to accommodate more peoples. We stayed in 8 bed dorm, complete for my family. The group has enjoyed their stay. And regret to plan trip to this place only for one night!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great place with great views on either side of the resort. Food was really good and even the river canyoning and the trekking to the living roots bridges were organised well by them. In all great hosts and good food

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noelzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed here for two days in the first week of Dec 2012. A simple and calm place amidst nature. All the staffs were very hospitable and kind. The food was simple yet enjoyable. They took great care to provide the meal the way we wanted every time! They even made baby food for my kid(2 year old). Mr. Dennis who is running the resort(from south India) and his wife made us feel home! Such a pleasant and a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rampriya0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this place on 16/12/12. This place is 56 kms far from Shillong. It takes almost 4 to 5 hours from Guwahati airport to Shillong and another 56 kms from there would take another 2 hours! But the rided was still worth as this place is located amidst mountains, waterfalls and valleys! Till you reach the hotel, the scenery was amazing and definitely satisfying! This is more of a homestay type rather than a hotel or a resort. There is one new block where the rooms are more big and the ones in the main blocks are very small and basic.

The owner is a very helpful person and he had suggested our sightseeing spots based on the availability of time and sunshine. It gets dark by 4:15 pm nowadays in Shillong area. There is a limited menu and the food was cooked in homestyle and according to your tastes! As there are only 12 rooms or so, the service provided was exquisite. At this rermote corner, this hotel provides you internet connection! It gets very chilly and cold in the night and a bnonfire fixed on the open ground provided some relief. However, as the rooms are not fitted with heaters, it was quite difficult during the night as it got very cold and chilly. Perhaps, they can provide the small portable heaters in all the rooms!

It was an excellent stay and the owner David was extremely helpful!

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Now, if you are looking for a place away from the hustle bustle of the city and just wanna chillax, soak in all that nature has to offer,this is where you should come. Its simple, and despite being in the middle of nowhere you pretty much get everything you would need. The food was simple and palatable. The service,prompt. The rooms were ok,besides you wouldnt want to spend a lot of time indoors in a place like this. There's no TV either(thank God, for it would divert your attention from the scenery and calm that will be in store for you outdoors).The views are amazing with Mawsynram right infront of you at the far end ,and the plains of Sylhet,Bangladesh on the other side and between them is the view of an idyllic village.Its not very touristy which is a really amazing thing(less kachra and less noise).
They also offer a wide array of activities which include hiking,caving,canyoning etc. for which guides are also available. We opted for something that was amongst the least challenging activities with respect to physical exertion owing to us being out of shape.It was a trek through 3 villages (Tyrna,Nongrihat and another one whose name i cannot recall) to living root bridge(double decker). We also passed an amazingly,insanely beautiful waterfall where we took a dip as well .It seemed like taking a dip in a pool of mineral water(and man I am not exaggerating ),clean and extremely clear . It took us about 2652 stairs(one way) so if you are in good shape you are gonna love it even more. I have even started working out so I can be in good shape for the treks in my next visit.We stayed there for 2 days and for those adrenaline junkies wanting to visit for the activities try to stay for a atleast 3 days coz most of the activities take up a good amount of daylight hours.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
4.6 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
209 reviews
0 mi away
Sohra View Lodge
Sohra View Lodge
#5 of 12 in Cherrapunjee
2 reviews
0 mi away
Cherrapunjee Sunrise Guest House
Cherrapunjee Sunrise Guest House
#6 of 12 in Cherrapunjee
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Four Season Eco Resort
Four Season Eco Resort
#6 of 10 in Cherrapunjee
4 reviews
21.9 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#15 of 45 in Shillong
11 reviews
23.9 mi away
Pine Hill Homestay
Pine Hill Homestay
#9 of 81 in Shillong
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort

Address: Village Laitkynsew | Village Laitkynsew, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cherrapunjee
Price Range: $26 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort is a family run 'Nature Resort', promoted as a Family Holiday Destination. The focus is on the abundant scenic beauty all around the Resort, the benevolence of the Asian Summer Monsoon on Cherrapunjee, the enchanting and challenging Nature Treks in this amazing terrain, the Living Root, Baths in waterfalls, mountain streams and cool springs during the rainy season, Swims in Natural Swimming, Campfires, Adventure Caving, River Canyoning and Camping Out in winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherrapunjee Holiday Hotel Cherrapunjee
Cherrapunjee Holiday Resort Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing