We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“khaosan road @ Cherrapunjee” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of By The Way

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Way
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“khaosan road @ Cherrapunjee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

minus the dangers.....well this place is going to start the backpackers run to Sohra for sure.....specially at a place like India where travellers have below average guest service experience.....the place Sohra could be compared to Pai in Thailand with even friendlier people and higher alivation & rainfall.....
to put simply for Rs 250 this is the cleanest bed n common toilet you will ever come across during your years of travel with an young, loving owner who would go out of his way to make your stay happy.
Its not just brick walls n bed but a place with a heart.......
So worry not come over........Sohra is the safest place even for single women traveler in India.....just be careful at Guwahati railway station vicinity like Paltan Bazar transit point.....

















i

Room Tip: All rooms face the road.....just upper deck is better........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeOngLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
16
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was my first visit to Cherrapunjee, and I was wondering "where to stay". I checked couple of places to stay, but they were unaffordable to me. It was a restaurant receptionist who gave us reference of "By The Way" lodging.
The place is clean and hygenic. Perfect for hikers. It is located near to Sohora market. The owner is very friendly, and also helps in arranging fooding during one's stay there. He is also a good guide, if you are very new to the geography of the place.
As it is located in a beautiful landscape, you will love to take morning and evening walks around the location of By The Way.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. However, the room in the first floor is comparatively batter than the one's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bikash483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Self and wife searched out stay options for Sohora/cherrapunjee in our recent trip to Meghalaya and By the way was a shortlist done by my better half and amoungst the best calls made. The nonchalance of the place hits you squarely in the face when you get to it.

We stayed here for 2 days stay and these were one of the best times spent during the entire tour, very peaceful and almost reclaiming of life in the serenity offered.

Rooms are sparse , very very clean with clean sheets. Heprit the owner stays below as well, The common bathroom and toilet almost take you back to the early travel days or that of hostel stays. the access to bathroom and toilet is via a staircase climbing down to the house, Hot water for bath is provided by Heprit in the old fashioned manner of actually boiling the water over firewood :-)

Place is a steal not for the price, but for the experience of staying there and getting to meet Heprit and his small gang of friends around Sohora. There is ample to do around the place apart from chilling out. Heprit also takes you to the nearby indigenous food serving places/dhabas that are not to be missed!!

I will definitely recommend this to any one and everyone who is interested in having a different travelling experience rather than the same tried and often beaten to death travel experience.

Place is low on luxury but high on quality , may not be suitable for family travel expecting room service et al. Completely to be taken up by souls in search of quenching their thirst to go to new places and meet interesting people, add By the way and Heprit in your to-do list.

Room Tip: based on availability , there are 2 rooms on double occupancy and a dorm to be chosen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iyer_Ganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiniketan, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

A very clean place to stay. Located nearby the taxi stand, as there is not so much traffic, there is no disturbance at all. A lovely host, Heprit. He can guide you bout the nearby places. there are single rooms and 4 bed dormitory facility with external bathroom. best for the backpackers to chill out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdharitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived to Cherrapunjee in the middle of raining season and I have to say, it really is one of the most wettest place in the world. But also very beatiful place with special kind of magic atmosphere. By The Way is simple, budged, crispy clean place for backpackers but main goal about this place is not the guesthouse. It is its owner and manager - Heprit Kinta with his band of friends. Extremely nice and helpfull people. They helped us to organize trip to Nongriat valey where you can see breathtaking living bridges. We also spent couple of beatifull evenings, listening old Khasi stories. And if you are lucky, you can meet electrician man who is coming after dark and have always little surprise. Thank you for everything guys!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zbynek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Heprit is an awesome guy! He`s a friendly man with lots of interests, many cool friends, and great knowledge of the area. He even created a small book of local maps for your trips around the place! If you wanna feel more like visiting a friend than staying somewere in a holiday resort, this is your place!! It was one of the highlights of our 6-month trip around Asia.
If you are there - ask Heprit to recommend you a restaurant with the best tomato soup ever! The best ever - I mean it.
We came to Cherrapunjee at the beginning of rainy season - and though it is better to come other times - stilll this was one of the best places we`d seen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmaZoidberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Laid-back, chilled out ambience. And Heprit Kynta is one of the friendliest, warmest and most helpful people you'll meet in Meghalaya. Which makes By the Way a compelling place to stay for backpackers.

Basic lodging with clean bedding and warm blankets. External Indian-style loo with separate shower room. Internet access available.

Plus tasty Khasi home-cooked style meals. After a strenuous day doing the 3000 step walk down and up from the "double-decker living root bridge", our group was tired and hungry. We got a great pork in broth, pumpkin curry and rice dinner accompanied by hot hot coriander chutney. The tiny potent green chilis are always on the table if you're brave enough. Great assam black tea. And if you are up to exotic fare, you could always accept Heprit's "Do you want a surprise?" challenge.

I left my phone in the room, and Heprit was kind enough to call our group and let us know. He then made several trips to the post office (closed, on strike etc.) to get it back to me in Bangalore. Thanks, buddy !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harinnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
23.0 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#3 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
22.5 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
23.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#7 of 19 in Shillong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#6 of 19 in Shillong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.9 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#5 of 6 in Cherrapunjee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
22.6 mi away
Cafe Shillong Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Way

Property: By The Way
Address: Shillong-Shella Road | Dukan Road, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cherrapunjee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Way is "A HOME AWAY FROM HOME" for Backpackers, is in Lower Cherrapunjee, Dukan Road. The location is on the main road, just before the Petrol Pump Station (Indian Oil) where the ATM is also there, on the right when you are coming from Shillong. It has 3 (three) rooms: 2 (two) dorm rooms with 3 (three) beds each and another single room with double bed and no attached bathroom in all these rooms.Opened on 1 June 2012 i started it when i met two Backpackers from Sweden while i was an auto-rickshaw driver, they wanted a cheap place to stay since the hotels/lodges here in cherrapunjee is beyond their budget. As i had a free room, so i let them stay in my place. Then an idea strikes to my mind that i should open a cheap place for Budget Travelers and Backpackers. Backpackers started to come and stay in my place and suggested me that i should give a name. Since it is by the side of the road and the cheapest place to stay in cherrapunjee so, i named it 'By The Way' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
By The Way Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing