We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cherrapunjee”
Review of Sa-I-Mika Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sa-I-Mika Resort
Uttarpara, West Bengal, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Cherrapunjee”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

It is awesome,located in the lap of the nature;the place is a must visit for all going to Meghalaya. One can have a adventurous trek through the grasslands or just relax in the room.The staffs are nice and their service and hospitality is wonderfull. Atanu,Carry,Bana and New contributed to an amazing stay.The bonfire arrangement at night was brilliant. Excellent place love to visit it once again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice..Nothing specific.All rooms provide good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harsha441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    38
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
55
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel surrounded with nature's gift. Morning walk through the stream is a pleasent experience. Peoples are so kind and hospitality is so good. Thanks to the guys Rintu, Carry and New :). Wonderful place to get away from the crowd and relax ourselves - V.PERRY

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PerunduraiPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My suggestion is....go to Sa-I-Mika during the raining season,just to experience the wettest place on earth. Hospitality in Sa-I-Mika was great. We stayed there for 50 hrs. out of which we experienced rain for 48 hours. You've got to live that exp. to tell it to someone else..It was raining cats and dogs and what not...:-)..food was piping hot and excellent.very reasonably priced

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dhrubahaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed twice at Sa-i-mika. It is a wonderful place for a family. The children loved the swimming pool and the basket ball court, while I walked down the stream and collected pebbles. My wife just stayed in the room and read her book.
People are friendly, rooms clean and neat, food hot and prepared to order.
They have a guest house at Shillong too, and have a friendly guide to take you around.
The resort is close to all the sights around spices. I also picked up an interesting book on Khasi history.
Do not disturb the cat in the kitchen!

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suranjeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at SAIMIKA PARK during a pleasure vacation in June 2012 .It was a family trip and we booked 3 rooms. Initially a little worried as the booking was done on -line but the response was warm and very friendly as soon as we entered the property, We enjoyed our stay.Everybody including the lady owner ,manager and the staff was very cooperative and friendly. Location was perfect,rooms were good and the weather was as expected. Food needs a little improvement and more varieties particularly for vegetarians. Tariff could be a little cheaper. Rest was fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prabdube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

With a nights clearence from home ministry, i started off at 3'40 for a recee trip to the long due destination, Sohra away from Guwahatis sweat n dust.

Just the feel of getting out of the city in itself was nice and when i saw that the Jorabat Burnyhut section of four laning was compleate on one side it was a big relief. As otherwise this section used to be frustating with bumper to bumper traffic along with never ending cover of dust. Up ahead the four laning work was on in a faster pace than Assam with mostly blasting of rock and land clearing work. There was a jam for quiet some time as a huge rock about the size of a 407 had fallen on the main road blocking traffic.

This onward it was a smooth ride till reaching the Shillong outskirts which always is stop go stop go stop go and on and on. At rhino point where i had to take a right turn it was confusing and ended up placing the vehicle at the wrong place. The young cop on duty did help me out of the situation but saying, why didn't go that side. Apolosized to the chap and drove on towards Shillong peak road and confirming with the Sa I Mika management about road condition or any issues with night driving after crossing the IAF museam elephanta falls area.
From this point on there was few or no cars at all.

Oh, i forgot to mention the nicest thing about the days drive. At Jorabat, where the road to Nagaon and Shillong goes seperate ways, saw Sikh men with platefull of pink rose water stopping vehicles. Remembered it from Misa Indian Army camp and Tezpore, so slowed down and stopped. The Sikh gentlemen offered me a glassfull, i couldnot have thanked him enough for the chilled drink that just sweetened all the senses. I was in smiles and was in all praise for their goodwill and genorosity. More so because otherwise vehicles are stopped in the region mostly for money and haressment which totally spoils the mood. So i must thank the Sikh community for their praiseworthy gesture.

It was almost 9pm when i finally reached the huge Sa I Mika park rock sign board point. Took the village road to the right which was narrow single lane but in good condition till the final 500 meters or so resorts own section which was in real bad shape and could damage both tyre and car underbelly unless carefull.

A young resort fellow came running as soon as i entered the gate and showed me the place to park. Once i got out of the car could see a group of people singing around a bonfire and another busy in the kitchen. The first thought that came was, wow its a huge complex and far far away from the crowed. There was nothing to be seen around other than the resort cottages and a few lights within the boundery. The quietness was overwhelming, even the sounds from the campfire folks seemed more like a whisper that the wind brings from time to time.

I was shown to my bed and bedding for the night by the manager and asked about dinner order. They don't have a menu as such but simple home made food cooked by local village folks. I opted for roti dal sabzi and was suggested fried chicken and nuggets to go with pre dinner refreshments.

As i didn't bring along the required liquid drinks, had to drive down to Sohra town market entry point just 5 minutes drive away. So had some chilled Tuborg along with the freshly made chicken fry out in the open looking into the nothingness!

Well the air was cool, the sky clear, so what more could i have asked for in this world capital of rain. Dinner was served in the restaurent, after which my tired body hit the bed.

So i slept and that also with a jacket, woolen cap and a blanket in May.

When my eyes opened finally i was yet again thankfull to the elements for another no rain day. I just took my N8 and headed out exploring the Sa I Mika park. The word hugeness hit my mind once more as i saw the compleate resort area in day light. And everything was so far away within and outside its boundery that wished i had come here minus a few years. There can't be a better place to spend in peace and compleate privacy specially for young couples and honeymooners.

So i walk and walk capturing every moment every scene and huh. . . whats that down there, yes unbelievably true there was a nice little waterfall right below. Took the steps down crossed a water reservoir, walked on stones, walked on sand, walked on the riverbed but for my nad luck i was no swimmer to jump in. This place has got something that no 5star accomodation can give naturewise. I will add the photographs so you shall see.

It was just a nights stay for me at Sa I Mika so after coming back up and having a cup of black lemon tea i left for having a look at newly opened Polo Orchid hotel and Cherrapunjee resort at Laitkyenshew village and a drive to Shella. At the end all three hotels have its own good/bad points and they don't really compete with each other for customers as they all have something unique to offer. So one can choose to spend a night in each for a diffrent experience and not regret any.

As for Sa I Mika, let my pictures do the talking. I did check four diffrent room types and loved them all for the ethnic look with stones and local materials used. The rooms here are larger than competetion and has a fireplace but if you want a lcd tv with satellite channels this ain't the place. Other hotel rooms that i checked looked right out of a city flat, small and clusterphobic.

At this place you can be yourself, unwind in peace with all the privacy you want and party on or star gaze whole night, no one is going to say stop.

I came to know from the management of a eight member Kolkata group, the ones that i saw the arriving night around the bonfire to have extended their stay by two nights. Sa I Mika also hosted the All India Auto tour group recently.

So if you love what you see on the photographs, need no tv in room, need no city restaurent menu, don't mind doing nothing the whole day lying on a river bed, don't mind sitting by the fire till the wee hours with a beer in hand or your love close by, this is where you should be.

There are lot more to do around so don't worry and come to Sohra, and remember you can have it all even with a daily budget of Rs 500 only full board.

As for the rest i will write about both Polo Orchid and Laitkyenshew to help you decide.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PeOngLe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
4.1 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
178 reviews
22.9 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#2 of 20 in Shillong
275 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Polo Towers
Hotel Polo Towers
#4 of 20 in Shillong
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
The Eee Cee Hotel
The Eee Cee Hotel
#6 of 20 in Shillong
143 reviews
16.6 mi away
Silver Brook
Silver Brook
#7 of 37 in Shillong
5 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shaurya Inn
Shaurya Inn
#12 of 78 in Shillong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa-I-Mika Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa-I-Mika Resort

Property: Sa-I-Mika Resort
Address: Sa-i-Mika Rd. | Wahshari, Khliehshnong, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cherrapunjee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saimika park and resort is situated in the world's wettest place. Spread over 69 acres of land, it has traditional huts and conventional rooms. We invite you to come stay with us as we celebrate life in the home of the clouds! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sa-I-Mika Resort Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing