We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's gift”

Double Decker Living Root Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,300.00*
and up
6-Day Tour of Exotic Northeast India: Mawsmai Caves, Double Decker Living Root...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nature's gift”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A beautiful natural bridge with magnificient beauty around it and on its way..bit hard trekking there but a must visit..me and my just loved this experience despite being getting too tired :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faizan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    63
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you are a trekker, no better place to go!!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We made a point to stay in Cherapunjee for a couple of days....We asked the local guy around for the attractions and he told me about this place. The only thing about the root bridge is that you have to climb approximately 2000 steps (including traversing 2 hills). The stairs are very narrow and we have to cross three rickety iron bridges (which to be honest felt like they were gonna give away at any moment)...The thing i most liked about this trek is the clean green water constantly criss crossing our paths.. The water was almost 50 feet deep but the stone at the bottom of the pond was clearly visible (Believe me I'm not exaggerating)..Once you reach the root bridge, you would get a sense of the remoteness of the place.. We Were there for almost 6 hours but we came across only 2 tourists...

In all, the ride here is much better than the destination..If you are fit....a must must must must must go!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Harsh_Ratnaparkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Feels like you are in Heaven”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We carried our rucksacks with us for the entire route to Double Decker bridges, please do not do that. It is a good 5km stretch with descends and ascends and it is recommended that you travel light. I would also recommend that you stay at the Double Decker root bridge either at Byron Guest House or the Guest House near the Double Decker bridge itself. Have fun!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank preethampais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Its wonderful!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

You must visit this place. I heard of this, but can't believe unless you see it. Its unbelievable unless you see it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SagnikIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The living root bridge is one of a kind thing only seen in Meghalaya. However this is not the only living root bridge, you can find another one is Mawlanong (cleanest village in Asia). To reach the living root bridge in Cherrapunjee, one has to hike for about 3 Kms (one way) and it is recommended that one takes a guide (they charge about 300 after bargaining) as you can loose your way (we lost our way and then had to retrace our steps). There are natural pools under the living root bridge and very nice place to go a for a dip (carry additional clothes).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Saurav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Decker Living Root Bridge also viewed

Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
 
Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
Meghalaya, India
 

Been to Double Decker Living Root Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing