We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“natural bridge”

Double Decker Living Root Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,300.00*
and up
6-Day Tour of Exotic Northeast India: Mawsmai Caves, Double Decker Living Root...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jodhpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“natural bridge”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

amazing bridge .one of a kind natural bridge with a beautiful stream below.a must watch if you are in meghalaya.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank biskool80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    63
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A vision to behold for a die hard trekker”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Some of the routes when one goes trekking are the kind to be expected. But the five hour trek we went for had cliff hanger like situations, felt partially like the Amazon jungle with intermittent rain mossy rocks and steep sheer drop of the descent. Definitely at two to three junctures I felt it's the point of no return. If you want a death defying experience then this is the one for you....there are options for 7 hr trek and 15 hr trek and so on.
But it's all worth it as at the end of it you witness this natural wonder of a Living root bridge, there are several of them and only one of them is a Double Decker bridge called the Umshiang Double Decker...this is the one we had seen.It's made formt he roots of the Ficus Elastica tree that has the elasticity feature in it. Some of them are over centuries old and still quite strong and frequently used by tribals in the hinterland. We visited as five members in 2010 and not as typed below. I can't use the option to give you the year we went in

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth the trek”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went here after seeing pictures on the internet as was not disappointed, they are even more amazing when u are there. its a bit of a walk to get to them down a load of steps and hills but well worth it, not an easy walk by any means though, could not walk properly for few days after lol. There is a small cafe by the bridges to get food, cold drinks and chai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gweilo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Hi, my name is Byron.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you do decide to go see the double decker root bridge, you can't miss Byron coz he'll be your host.
Don't miss the third level which the local villagers are building - ask Byron he will show you. Even experienced hikers may find the trek to this village strenuous, it's very steep and slippery.
Butterfly lovers may never want to come back - trust me it is visual treat walking through hundreds of yellow butterflies.
En-route to the bridges you will cross many bridges and streams.
I am totally in love with the place, and I will never ever forget the words Atanu said to me "every step you take will be worth"! Indeed, every step.....!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson_and_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Long trek to go ... As they say PATIENCE is FRUITFUL !!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Go downhill enjoying the serene, see the amazing beauty of bio-engineering - come uphill and keep missing this place forever. Deserve to be Number 1 attraction of the Cherrapunjee (Sohra) and even the Meghalaya.

1. Do carry mosquito repellent and umbrella/raincoat.
2. Maggi/Watermelon/Biscuits/Cold -drink available on the way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mastweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Decker Living Root Bridge also viewed

Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
 
Cherrapunjee, East Khasi Hills District
Meghalaya, India
 

Been to Double Decker Living Root Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing