We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms Let you Down...”
Review of Coniferous Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherrapunjee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coniferous Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Cherrapunjee B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here in Nov-2013 onmy trip to Assam and Meghalaya. We checked in and staright away went for Sightseeing. Came back in the evening and the rooms were not good. We had a standard room so didint expect any Luxury but it was below average.

The doors are all swelled up and never close properly. Beds are very Hard to sleep on and When we asked for an extra blanket we were given a blanket so small that a Normal Adult can never sleep comfortably in it.

All in all we didnt like the hotel much but food was a plus point as we got the food in our rooma s requested and on time. And the quality was also good

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VISHALBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 125 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days, found the place really nice for the price at which they were offering the rooms.

The folks who run the place were very helpful and friendly to us. Was provided with the best possible options on how to plan our activities while we were at Sohra(Cherrapunjee). They got us in touch with the best possible guide for our trek to the Living root bridge at Nongriat.

More importantly we were given the necessary warnings about the local situation with regards to bandhs and hartals, which was vital in our overall planning.

Will visit again when we are in cherrapunjee next.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathewArun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay in cherapunjee. Our room was lovely and clean, with hot water which was a nice treat after walking! The staff are really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. They organised us a great trek to the double decker bridge, although I would say unless you want to know a lot about the area (which we did!), you could easily do this walk without a guide.

The food in the restaurant was delicious, and they bought beer in for us specially when we asked if they sold it.

When we asked about a taxi to Shillong, we ended up getting a lift with the owners brother in law, which was really kind.

A great family run hotel with a warm welcome!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SWJ-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is an awesome place to stay in Cherrapunji..
Good food, great hospitality, great experience.. The owners are very friendly and are always there to help you for anything..
Affordable, Clean, Spacious Rooms and Friendly people..What more one wants..!
\m/

Room Tip: If you are bunch of friends (boys), request the owner and tell her that you won't be create any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniketBhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Coniferous resort.....................the most well suited resort for any tourist visiting the wettest place on earth! Its beautifully located.....the scenic beauty around the entire resort is just breath taking and lends a freshness to the place......and is at its best during the monsoon......u can hear the stream running from inside the resort.....the rooms are pretty cosy with the cute little attached baths...and they are undoubtedly sterile...i was impressed by this aspect of the resort......and how can i forget to mention the hospitality of the owners...Mr. Dhakhar and Ilapynsuk............simply charming and warm...their alluring nature just adds to the beauty surrounding the resort...i was glad to come in touch with such people who define simplicity to its best...the food- sumptuously cooked...makes you go back to the cuisine at home!.... And so..as its quoted at the reception desk- it indeed makes you “FEEL AT HOME”....................................priya...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Priya279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

it was a good place ... the owners are extremely friendly ... a very quite plce to stay .. very near to most of the tourist spot specially the 7 sisters fall .. amazing view frm the room in the mrng hours
milk tea in the morng is a must have if u r staying in that place... its too good !!

Room Tip: try to take the room in upper floors and that facing the road ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sounok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The backdrop is amazing. Very nice hospitality and food is good. Need to add a few more rooms.Its very near to the view points. The place is very quite and during the night all you can hear the voice of the running water, it seems like raining 24/7. The rooms are spacious and clean. The room tarrif is very affordable. We had a great time. Hoping to visit again, very soon.

Room Tip: No tip as all the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaan_sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherrapunjee
0 mi away
Polo Orchid Resort
Polo Orchid Resort
#2 of 2 in Cherrapunjee
198 reviews
0 mi away
Royal Heritage-Tripura Castle
0 mi away
Best Holiday Inn
Best Holiday Inn
#12 of 21 in Shillong
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ri Kynjai
Ri Kynjai
#1 of 21 in Shillong
502 reviews
0 mi away
Sohra View Lodge
Sohra View Lodge
#4 of 11 in Cherrapunjee
2 reviews
0 mi away
Four Season Eco Resort
Four Season Eco Resort
#6 of 8 in Cherrapunjee
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coniferous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coniferous Hotel

Address: Lower Cherrapunjee, | East Khasi Hills District, Cherrapunjee 793108, India
Location: India > Meghalaya > East Khasi Hills District > Cherrapunjee
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cherrapunjee
Price Range: $26 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Coniferous Hotel Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing