We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & class stay and a food lover's delight”
Review of The Classic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Imphal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Classic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Imphal
Certificate of Excellence
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable & class stay and a food lover's delight”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My period of stay was from 28th May to 31st May 2013. Has initially booked an AC room and was informed that I will have to change to a non AC from 30th evening. Both AC and non AC rooms were well maintained and had a wonderful ambience. A cosy bed gave me a sound sleep. The reception, the housekeeping and the room service were very well mannered, receptive and helpful. The highlight of Classic Hotel is its buffet breakfast. A nice spread of Indian and continental dishes. Roti/ Phulka/ Chapathi, Chana/ Veg Kurma, Baked beans, variety of cut fruits, upma/ dosa/ idli, variety of breads, eggs, juice, corn flakes, tea/ coffee finds a place in the attractive buffet. You can try the Manipuri thali if you order in advance. The AC rooms came at an affordable Rs. 1750/ day and Non AC at approx Rs.1400/ day which are by any means low by what's on offer at the price.

Room Tip: Better take rooms on the front side on the left back side since the kitchen is on the right side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopalakrishnan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    119
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
20
36
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great hotel in an unexpected location. Enjoyed my stay here. The food was great; good breakfast buffet and then for dinner the restaurant staff helped me try local Manipuri dishes which were tasted good. They even called me when I left my coat in my room. Overall I had a good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetlaggedGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3,475 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,564 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Paid approx. 2700 INR for room with 2 single beds incl taxes and breakfast.

You're not going to find anything better in Imphal at the present time. Located about 1km from Kangla on a main road. Easy enough to get transport by rickshaw or can organise through the hotel. Note that transport in Imphal is significantly more expensive than in the rest of India (for example, a taxi from the airport, less than 10km away, costs 500 INR). Rooms are functional and staff helpful. Generator for use during frequent blackouts.

Perhaps avoid rooms located directly beneath the function rooms as there can be quite a lot of noise from moving furniture if you are unlucky enough to have an event scheduled during your stay.

Staff are able to arrange for the "Battle of Imphal" tour or any of its related tours: these are excellent and well worth considering on a visit to Imphal.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms beneath the conference rooms when an event is being held. And be sure to book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is my second visit to Imphal. The stay in Classic hotel was a very pleasant experience.
Particular mention to all the staff there. They are just exceptional.

Rooms
----------
Fairly big and clean, well kept and comfortable. I was staying in a non-ac room on the second floor. The floor gets a bit warmer probably due to the restaurant in first floor (in some rooms). The toilets were big, clean and dry. They maintain the place neatly

Food
---------
The best veg spread you can get in Manipur is here. The breakfast buffet is generally good. Dont forget to taste the pineapples from Manipur. Especially during the monsoon season.
My personal favorite is Mayan Mayan Singju. A native manipuri vegetarian dish. Apparently, fish is very good. Since am a vegetarian, could not write experential reviews on that.
Do taste their kichidi as well. Tea is better than coffee there.

Cafe and Music
--------------------
Rita cafe is the best place to socialize in Imphal. All important meetings happen there and the most happening place in the hotel. Sat and Sundays, you have live bands. I was thoroughly impressed with the passion and quality of their music. If you are there on a weekend, dont miss the live band in Rita cafe in the evenings.
Food is very good. The chilli cheese toast and the coffee in particular worth mentioning


Staff
--------
I have travelled far and wide and the staff are some of the best I have met. The front office, room service, restaurant, cafe or logistics were all exceptionally good. They are so genuine and pleasant. Wonderful people. The management has done a great job in putting together these people. If i get a chance, will speak to the management and understand how they manage to select and retain such wonderful folks. It will be a learning experience for sure

Travel and Logistics
---------------------------
The staff exactly know the customer's preferences and guide accordingly. The rates are fair. You get very relevant and valuable advice based on local conditions. Even the drivers and support staff are extremely supportive. Not everyone communicates well in English/hindi. But you will be able to manage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubbuViswanathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was there in Imphal during last week of June on a family trip. I enquired from my friends and everyone suggested me to stay at 'The Classic Hotel' only. My experience is really very good. Hotel location, air-port transfer facility, credit card acceptance, cleanliness of the room, quality of food, service, behaviour of the staff and overall experience were excellent. Everytime I remember this beautiful city, I cherish my experience of this hotel. And of course, next time whenever I plan to come here, I cannot think of staying anywhere else other than 'The Classic Hotel'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebashisSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Imphal the capital of The state of Manipur in India is not where you would expect to find a very well run western style hotel.
The hotel is impeccably clean ,light airy.air conditioned ,comfortable and inexpensive.
The speak English and are extremely polite and helpful.
The dining room is regarded as the best restaurant in Imphal and the coffee shop cafe is a refuge from the difficulties of a westerner coping with life in a remote Indian city.
WiFi is available the only downside is the possibility of occasional power failure.

Room Tip: It is necessary to book due to lack of other appropriate accommodation .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

During my visit @ Manipur, in March-2013, we stayed at The Classic Hotel. The hotel is very nice with its equally nice food.We contacted through e-mail . The location is very convenient and the service is quite good. A very nice exp. indeed. Recommend to stay here during visit to Imphal

Room Tip: room witha balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManimekhalaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Classic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Hotel

Property: The Classic Hotel
Address: North AOC, Imphal 795001, India
Location: India > Manipur > Imphal West District > Imphal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Imphal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing