We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise revisited”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koroni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Icon Painter Villas
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Koroni
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our second trip to the villas and just as stunningly beautiful as we remembered it. Michael & Maria really understand what is important for their guests and a few simple, but thoughtful changes made this stay even more relaxing - a dishwasher in the villa; beach towels and beach umbrella provided; slippers and a bath robe; Internet.

The weather in July/ August is almost guaranteed to be gorgeous, but I had forgotten how incredible the light is - sharp and clear. For those who are into photography or like to paint this is a major plus. The orientation of the villas and the views from the balconies are such that you don't need to travel to be able to spend many happy hours drawing, painting or photographing the landscape/ seascape and surrounding countryside.

We are already planning our next trip, perhaps in October to see the olive harvest and spend another week or so painting the scenery from the comfort of a home from home.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Icon Painter, we simply couldn't resist the lure of this rural idyll. Despite being perfect Michael and Marie had made lots of delightful additions to the villas. It is hard to describe the beauty of the setting, surrounded by olive groves overlooking the azure sea, the villas and pool provide a luxurious base to relax, swim, barbecue and best of all feel totally welcome. It's feels like home and having the lovely Michael and Maria as neighbours is such a special feature of the icon painter. There if you need them they are the most delightful company and source of local info. We never go back to the same place twice but the icon painter has stolen a piece of my heart and we will be going back, it's simply too lovely to resist.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Helengaynormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days in Sep 2013 and enjoyed every minute. It was exactly what we hoped for, lovely villa in beautiful surroundings with a gorgeous view. It was wonderfully peaceful and quiet and the very relaxing break we needed. Each villa was very well equipped and very private, the pool was lovely and perfect for just relaxing by and reading in peace and quiet. The locals were very friendly and accommodating, we had some lovely meals in the numerous local restaurants where the local cuisine was not only very good but very reasonable. We spent evenings in the local bars and were made to feel very welcome and felt we we experiencing authentic greek life (regretfully we were unable to say goodbye to some of the very nice people we befriended) We loved the walks through the olive groves to the beach and the local villages, we also drove to Olympia and ancient Messene which were well within reach, easy to find and well worth the visit (as was Koroni Castle). Every morning we had figs, grapes or pomegranate laid out for us on our veranda for our breakfast which was a really nice touch, this was typical of Michael & Maria who were the perfect hosts, they were more than helpful and hospitable, always available but without ever feeling that our privacy was encroached upon. Some of the highlights of our stay were the meals cooked by Maria. She obviously has a real passion and talent for cooking, particularly Greek food, it was a joy to taste the authentic Greek food she prepared for us. If you are having a very lazy day and do not wish to venture out a meal cooked and presented by Michael & Maria is a great way to spend the evening. We will definitely be back. Thank you Michael & Maria.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lillies_on_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We, a family with a 12 year old child, stayed 9 nights at one of the villas at the end of August. Lovely, spotlessly clean houses in gorgeous setting. Stunning view, nice pool, great attention to detail. Well equipped (books, Wi-Fi, laundry, barbecue and recycling facilities etc...), produce from the garden for sale. Very nice beaches and interesting sights within driving distance.
Iconpainter's focus lies in quiet enjoyment and was therefore not ideal for us. Guests are asked and reminded to "Please do not make noise or play games around the villas and pool, the beach is close by for this". However access to the local beach is a 10 minutes cross-country walk (no proper path and steep descent at the end). Map and briefing on how to avoid private grounds are given.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theiconpainter, Owner at Icon Painter Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

We were surprised to see an “average” review, given that all our reviews to date have been “excellent” with one “very good”. Our standards have not fallen in any way and this is reflected in the first part of the review.
The issue that the HeidiA appears to have is that she was unaware that a holiday at the Iconpainter’s villas is about peace and quiet and relaxation. We say on our very detailed website “We welcome families but the pool and grounds are for the peaceful enjoyment of all residents and children must be surpervised at all times. The beach is very close for running about and playing games.” And this is repeated in the detailed information we give to guests at the time of booking and when they arrive and are shown around the site in person. At no time did HeidiA take any issue with this and indeed the family were very respectful of the rules. As most of the review indicates everything was far from average – “Lovely”, “gorgeous setting”. “Stunning view”, “great attention to detail”. “Well equipped”. So the “average “ rating relates to her feeling their enjoyment was impaired by them not being allowed to run around and play noisy games in the pool and around the villas and their opinion that the beach was difficult to access. Family reviews (all 23 of them ) show this reviewer is in a minority of one. A quick glance through our family reviews will show any reader that many guests disagree with her. Similarly on the route to the beach, to quote ‘the walk to the beach through the olive grove is lovely’ and there are no other adverse comments on this.

It was only on the evening before their departure did she approach us and state that had she known that they could not run around and play games in the pool and around the villas, she would not have booked – but she said and her family had had a wonderful holiday. So given this contradiction we are disappointed that this former guest has given us an average review which is very much against the grain, and we can assure other potential guests that we shall continue to provide a haven of peace and quiet and relaxation for families and couples alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
nottingham
2717
Reviewed September 22, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Michael and Marie have created a little piece of heaven in this hillside olive grove. We visited in June 2013 and didn't see a cloud all week. Spent leisurely days by the lovely pool, watching the butterflies dance and admiring the view down the coast to Koroni and across the gulf to Mount Tagenet. Very relaxing - especially in the late afternoon when the swallows swoop low.

The villas were well appointed with a private terrace and excellent air conditioning. We ate with other guests on a couple of evenings - Maria's cooking was wonderful.

We flew with Thomas Cook from Manchester to Kalamata and hired a car at the airport. A well timed flight meant we were at the villas in time for lunch. The villas are an easy 40 minute drive from Kalamata with the last mile particularly exciting!

Heartily recommended we are very much looking forward to a longer visit in 2014.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petenjo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

If are looking for a peaceful holiday then this is the place for you. We arrived after driving through olive groves and tucked away are the villas, they are nestled in the hillside and you feel straight away the tension leaving your body. The villas are designed beautifully and they are well equipped. The pool is lovely to swim in, you can just gaze at the sea from the water. There are flowers everywhere and plenty of room to relax both in your villa patio area or by the pool. We purchased fresh produce from Michael and Maria and enjoyed their homemade wine. Beautiful area of the Pelopones and need to go back to explore it more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank philsanders1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koroni
1.1 mi away
Colonides Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Camvillia Resort
Camvillia Resort
#1 of 1 in Vounaria
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
BanSala
BanSala
#2 of 3 in Koroni
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
14.2 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
8.0 mi away
Sunrise Village Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icon Painter Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Painter Villas

Address: Kalamatas-Koronis, Koroni, Pylos-Nestor 240 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Pylos-Nestor > Koroni
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Koroni
Price Range: $77 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Iconpainter Villas are located 5km north of the picturesque village of Koroni close to Peroulia Beach and the unspoilt villages of Harakopio and Kombi. Four two room villas and a swimming pool nestle in a beautiful landscape of olive groves and vineyards with spectacular views of the sea, mountains and in the distance the village of Koroni. As well as the villas and pool you can eat delicious meals with us made with our own produce from the garden, or if you prefer there is daily a selection of fresh produce available for guests to cook for themselves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing