We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An authentic Greek holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koroni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Icon Painter Villas
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Koroni
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An authentic Greek holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a very relaxing week in the villa, swimming at the numerous local beaches, eating (with the help of Michael and Maria) at ‘real’ local restaurants getting an authentic experience of Koroni and its surroundings. The villa was ideally sized for us as a family of four – and the whole set-up, from the pool, the BBQ area and setting within an olive grove meant we could let the children explore in safety whilst we took in the view and enjoyed the local wine.

The hosts genuine warmth and passion for Greece, the local area, its food and history made this a very memorable holiday – we can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gotnenburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have stayed at many places in Gteece but to no other place have we returned as often as to The Icon Painter's villas. There are many reasons for this. The villas, shaped by an excellent architect (Michael), have a wonderful view over the sea to the Mani peninsula. There is also a nice garden with fruit trees, oranges, figs,olives and vegetables. You can get the finest olive oil and olives here. From the garden you can also take a walk through the olive groves down to a nice beach.

Best of all: our friendly and hospitable hosts, Michäel & Maria, who make every effort to make you feel good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed one week in mid-September 2011 at the Icon Painter's Villa, seeking rest and relaxation after two weeks visiting many of Greece's ancient sites. We found the perfect fusion of comfort and peaceful rural living Greek-style. The combination of self catering (delicious homegrown or local produce from our hosts and freshly caught fish from the sea front in Koroni) plus the possibility of an excellent meal prepared by Maria and served by Michael on the terrace, enchanted us.

Our host were exceptionally attentive to our needs though not at all intrusive. We relished Maria's home baked breads, Greek cuisine ,wonderful aubergine and tomato chutneys and ,by no means least ,their very own delicate olive oil. A generous platter of fruit and vegetables often appeared outside their door and was a godsend to self caterers who were invited to help themselves.

We valued their knowledge of the country and culture ,enjoying many interesting conversations on related topics. We were also impressed by the extremely cordial relations which Michael and Maria have built up with local people and which extended to us when it was known where we were staying.We experienced much kindness as a result.

The design of the villa and its location amongst the olive and other fruit trees, looking out over the Messenian Gulf towards the Taiyetos Peaks are stunning.The villa's natural air conditioning by dint of carefully placed windows and their shutters, reduces the need to throw a switch and is in keeping with a sympathetic approach to the environment.Such was the attention to detail that everything we needed was in place.

The pool,just a step from the front door, was a magnet- quiet and beautiful in its surroundings of colourful climbing plants ,birds and butterflies long since absent from the British countryside.It is artfully designed to ensure tht the water level appears to meet that of the sea as you swim,creating a blissfully tranquil sense of infinity. Our advancing age led us to think how nice it would be to have a handrail to help us climb out! Having done that a comfortable pair of sunloungers and elegant parasol tempted us to to spend lazy afternoons reading and swimming. Indeed it would be very easy to spend days there and not go out at all .However we enjoyed walks through the unspoilt coutryside down to the sea and along the beach to the taverna for a drink and a meal before taking a taxi back.

As travellers choosing to use public transport on our travels in Greece ,we were grateful to Michael for several lifts to Koroni which was just too far to walk comfortably.Koroni is the most lovely village, its waterfront picture perfect.We shopped there even purchasing English newspapers on the day of publication.and also explored the Citadel.

We can't wait to return to this little corner of paradise with its beautiful land and seascapes, dazzling starlit night skies and a warm welcome when we eventualy reach the Icon Painter's Villa ( local maps are a must for geographers and anyone wanting to find their own way). Next time we'll fly directly to Kalamata and hire a car so we can visit many more of those fascinating historical sites.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

It's all been said in the reviews already featured: exceptional views, a peaceful country environment and just the sort of villa one wants in Greece - good rooms spilling from the terrace onto views over vines and olive groves to the sea, and a great pool to assuage the heat! But what makes it extra-ordinary is the personality and commitment of the hosts - a delightful, hugely professional couple who understand exactly what to offer to their guests: just what they want, and nothing that they don't. It's rather like a Swiss family-owned hotel in the Peloponnese! Any who could have expected that?

Room Tip: They're all fantastic -- Michael is an architect of distinction and all terraces front spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Michael and Maria have transformed the outskirts of this rustic hillside town into a paradise. We enjoyed the hospitality, the amazing home made marmelades, and the friendly neighbor's donkey. And within five minutes walk to the local taverna and beach, who could ask for a more unique experience? Too bad we live so far away...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights end of July and had a wonderful time! From the fantastic but tricky (keep your map handy and look for those blue signs!) drive to the villas through the olive grove, to the wonderful view from the large balcony/outdoor dining area, to the refreshing pool, and of course the two lovely hosts!
Michael & Maria are extremely generous, not only with information about the area but also with their own lemon/oregano marinated olives and olive oil, figs, grapes, chutneys, guidebooks, having a washing machine available with soap powder...just everything. They've thought about all the details!
We only had breakfast made by Maria- which was delicious and plentiful- I especially liked the yogurt with honey, nuts and poppy seeds (almost too pretty to eat!).- but next time will have to make time for a home-cooked dinner. We also went to the local tavernas in Kombi- great deal and excellent food and the one on behind the church in Harakopia- both recommended accurately.
We took advantage of the two beaches in walkable distance from the villas and also took day trips to sights like Koroni, Tsapi beach, Ancient Messene...and always came back to the villa feeling like the place was a home away from home.
Do take the opportunity to visit this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at Marie and Micheal's place with our 10 and 8 year old children. The place is beautiful, the couple is welcoming, the food they cooked for us was great, and the olive oil that is available there is such a treat we brought back loads.
The villas are so comfortable my kids wanted to stay there all day. We were in a lot of nice sites around Koroni, Methoni, which are not far away by car. Micheal and Maria will help you discover the region, and I must add that people in the villages around were very very nice to us.

We hope to go back soon again, and will be sending friends there in the coming year.
Thanks to Michael and Maria, this was by far the highlight of stay in Greece

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreanne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koroni
1.1 mi away
Colonides Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Camvillia Resort
Camvillia Resort
#1 of 1 in Vounaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.1 mi away
BanSala
BanSala
#2 of 3 in Koroni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
15.4 mi away
Zoe Resort
Zoe Resort
#1 of 1 in Gialova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
19.6 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icon Painter Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Painter Villas

Property: Icon Painter Villas
Address: Kalamatas-Koronis, Koroni, Pylos-Nestor 240 04, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Pylos-Nestor > Koroni
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Koroni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Iconpainter Villas are located 5km north of the picturesque village of Koroni close to Peroulia Beach and the unspoilt villages of Harakopio and Kombi. Four two room villas and a swimming pool nestle in a beautiful landscape of olive groves and vineyards with spectacular views of the sea, mountains and in the distance the village of Koroni. As well as the villas and pool you can eat delicious meals with us made with our own produce from the garden, or if you prefer there is daily a selection of fresh produce available for guests to cook for themselves. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing