We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been a lot better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for one week in September/October 2013 in a ‘superior room’. This hotel has many positive features. The junior staff were friendly, the room was regularly cleaned to a high standard, and the pool is a good size and well maintained. Minor niggles include a hard mattress and breakfasts of varying quality - better on some days than on others, with noticeably wider choices when conferences were being hosted.
The location is not ideal. There are only 4 buses per day to Kalamata, 3 at weekends, some at inconvenient times and they often run late as they are in effect long-distance coaches coming up the Mani peninsula from as far away as Oitylo. To walk to the nearest tavernas is hazardous due to narrow, broken and often non-existent pavements. Don’t pursue this option unless you enjoy being barked at by fierce guard-dogs. There are some alternatives. A taxi into town can be ordered (10 euros to the harbour, or 12 euros to the Old Town), and car hire can be arranged for 35 euros per day.
The real problem we had in this hotel was to do with ever-changing dining and swimming arrangements. Some days they laid on a Greek buffet, some days they did not. Some days you could eat in the pool bar, some days you could not. Some days the lift to the private beach was operational, some days it was locked and you could not reach the hotel’s (pleasant) private terrace by any other means. Some days there was a bar service by the pool, some days it was shut. This would not have been so frustrating if the staff had put up a notice each morning to inform guests about what was happening. But they did not, and the girls at the front desk, who always tried to be helpful, often appeared unsure as to what would or would not be functioning.
The air conditioning in the room was no less frustrating. It worked sporadically, then would switch to (non-chilled) fan mode and you would have to phone the reception to turn it back to cold. One day they seemed unable to do this and told me to open the window instead. I tried this, but at 1.30 a.m. there was such a did outside from a congregation of inconsiderate and argumentative Greek guests that I had to go down to reception in my pyjamas and plead with them to turn it on (which they did - buy why should guests have to get up to ask the night porter to re-set the air conditioning in the middle of the night in a 4-star hotel?).
Our last day was a nightmare and effectively ruined the holiday. We returned to the hotel after a long day’s drive looking forward to celebrate the end of our holiday with cocktails and a nice meal by the pool. The bar was lit up, people were sitting around. It was 7.30. Sorry, says the waiter, there is no food, you have to go to the main restaurant. No explanation. We go to the main restaurant, which is closed. It will open at 8, says the helpful but evidently misinformed girl at the desk. It does not open, so we call the manager. Totally indifferent to our plight, he informs us curtly that the hotel is hosting a conference and thus, obviously, all restaurants are to remain closed. This in a 4-star hotel, with no prior warning given, and nowhere else to go except walk in the dark to the nearest village, along a busy main road?? What a helpful suggestion! After much arguing and VERY LITTLE SYMPATHY shown by the manager and head waitress, they agreed to scrape something together for us. When it came, it turned out to be luke-warm strips of gyros meat garnished with some stale pitta bread, priced at 7 euros. We were ordered to consume this far from appetising repast on the (by now cold and dark) balcony, so as not to disturb the conference delegates (who were nowhere to be seen, they did not emerge till after midnight, when they competed with one another to see who could shout loudest outside our window). Need I say more? Avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear sir,
thank you for staying at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*. We have to apologize because we did not succeed in your expectattions...the last day. We are really surprised, because almost all comments are for that day. As we understand, the most serious problem was that there was happening a conference meeting at our hotel and it was not as quiet as you prefered. You were taking your dinner almost every evening at our restaurant...and the meal was not good enough?
Also, the A/C is in order all day and night. Only if a client changes the temperature or the rest settings, creates problems...that we try to solve immediately.
In any case, thank you for your comments, we will try to become better and we wish you to find out what exactly you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 194 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to Kalamata to meet up with family. The sea view was beautiful. The staff was very accommodating and helpful especially those at the front desk.. When you do not know the language fluently it is comforting to help with any of your needs. The food at the resort was wonderful , especially the breakfast that comes with accommodations. Home made dishes and food replenished and fresh. The best breakfast we had while in Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalhobber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear friends,
thank you for your so warm comments. We hope to see you again and offer us your kindness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Two couples we've spent 3 nights in August. We had a good time, the hotel facilities are very good. We've especially enjoyed the food, it was at very high standards given the peak season (which usually lowers the standards).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kgoumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear Mr Goumas,
thank very much because of staying at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*. We also thank you because your comments are making us stronger and giving us power to become better and better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here one night and would go back, just for the pool bar with the amazing view out over the beach. The room was pretty basic, but very clean and tidy, with a balcony and a room safe and fridge. The mini bar costs were also very reasonable. Breakfast was included and was a good spread, although the coffee was a shock for this Aussie as the milk wasn't our milk. I think it was condensed. The resort is out of Kalamata and we had a little trouble locating it, mostly because we hadn't realised Kalamata would be quite a big as it was. The service was very friendly and efficient. We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear friends,
we are really impressed because of your great comments. We are always trying to become better and clients as you are helping us essentially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 10 days in this hotel in August. It is situated just across one street to the sea with tiny beach and wonderful beach bar and terrace with spectacular view both during day and night. You have to go here before breakfast and reserve the place by towels:-). Sea here is wonderful!!! Hotel is surrounded by amazing garden and all the area is spotless clean We had a room in the main building with a sea view. The room was really clean, bed comfortable. Bathroom will need reconstruction soon - the tub drain does not work well, tiles are a little bit used. The aircondition is very loud. View from the balcony is breathtaking. Staff is very well trained, welcoming, with a smile on their face all the time. Breakfast was rich and delicious, everybody has to find his favourites. For dinner we went out - there is huge amount of tavernas with fresh and delicious food aroun. We spent our holiday in this area for the second time and we suppose this is one of the best hotels here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineWave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear friends,
we really miss you and we are waiting to meet you again by near. Even the bad points that you mentioned were well-intentioned and are making us to work on them. So we promise that next time you will visit our Resort it will be even better.
Thank you for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our last stop in Greece. Quite a large venue, with the usual nicely appointed rooms. The staff is very helpful. Has a large swimming pool with a tad too much chlorine, and access to the sea (very limited number of recliners and pebble "beach"). By the sea there is also a lounge for music (no dancing) and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLS-ALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having been to Greece several times, I've come to expect hotels to be, well, tired.
Not here.
Someone has spend a considerable sum on this resort, and the staff do an excellent job at maintaining it at its best, both in looks and function.
Too often hotels either look great, or have great service, but all to rarely both, especially at non high end chain hotels.
Here, at Akti, you will have both.
The grounds are ultra clean, manicured and well built. It is laid stone and tile everywhere, but no cracking mortar or stray refuse/leaves. Honestly, the grounds are spectacular.
The service is second to none, and I say this after having enjoyed, or not, a wide variety of service levels. The staff is not at all cloying, but they are very hard working and dedicated to their roles as hosts and caretakers of the guests and grounds.
As I write this I am sitting at the (awesome) pool, watching the servers quickly adjust lounge chairs, serve cold ice water to guests (without even asking!) and never looking bored or mechanical in their endeavours...truly impressive, and whomever has selects, trains and manages this staff should provide training to other hoteliers, because they obviously know how to to their job.
The room is the only area where you do not think you are in a 5* resort. This is not to say there is anything catastrophically wrong with the rooms, they are clean, well maintained, and perfectly functional, but not luxurious in either decor or amenities. The bed is comfortable (although our king is a two single frankenstein), the AC is ice cold (though a bit clangy) and the bathroom is sufficiently large, although no full shower curtain and the tub drain functions poorly).
Breakfast was complete, hot and had enough diversity to satisfy most every breakfast predilection.
If this property had proper king beds, quieter AC and the tub drain worked as it should, I would have easily granted 5*'s.
If you are considering this hotel, absolutely book it, you will not do better in the Kalamata area, or, I dare say, in Greece.
Do not take my criticism as any sort of reason to not book, I provide it more to make them aware to management, who have obviously worked too hard to let those last few details detract from what is an exceptional property.

Room Tip: We have 409, a sea view superior with a nice large balcony. It is near the front of the property, t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sorefeettoproveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
2.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
442 reviews
2.3 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
401 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalamata
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Messinian Bay Hotel
Messinian Bay Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kalamata
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Taygetos Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Taygetos Conference Resort

Address: Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range: $66 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one of the most beautiful spots of the Messinian Bay, under the shadow of Mount Taygetus and only a few minutes from the centre of Kalamata, Akti Taygetos Conference Resort provides the perfect setting for your vacation or your business trips.To complement your stay, we offer free wi-fi, satellite TV, a spacious parking lot, a large swimming pool, relaxing Jacuzzi and a magnificent, organized beach perfect for swimming, fun and games.All rooms and apartments are painted in warm colours and are elegantly decorated, reflecting quality and luxury. They all have large balconies with a panoramic view, and are equipped with air-conditioning, anatomical mattresses, refrigerator or mini-bar, safe and hair-drier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Taygetos Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing