We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly situated good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent 10 days in this hotel in August. It is situated just across one street to the sea with tiny beach and wonderful beach bar and terrace with spectacular view both during day and night. You have to go here before breakfast and reserve the place by towels:-). Sea here is wonderful!!! Hotel is surrounded by amazing garden and all the area is spotless clean We had a room in the main building with a sea view. The room was really clean, bed comfortable. Bathroom will need reconstruction soon - the tub drain does not work well, tiles are a little bit used. The aircondition is very loud. View from the balcony is breathtaking. Staff is very well trained, welcoming, with a smile on their face all the time. Breakfast was rich and delicious, everybody has to find his favourites. For dinner we went out - there is huge amount of tavernas with fresh and delicious food aroun. We spent our holiday in this area for the second time and we suppose this is one of the best hotels here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineWave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makarounis_Dimitrios, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear friends,
we really miss you and we are waiting to meet you again by near. Even the bad points that you mentioned were well-intentioned and are making us to work on them. So we promise that next time you will visit our Resort it will be even better.
Thank you for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 194 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our last stop in Greece. Quite a large venue, with the usual nicely appointed rooms. The staff is very helpful. Has a large swimming pool with a tad too much chlorine, and access to the sea (very limited number of recliners and pebble "beach"). By the sea there is also a lounge for music (no dancing) and drinks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLS-ALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having been to Greece several times, I've come to expect hotels to be, well, tired.
Not here.
Someone has spend a considerable sum on this resort, and the staff do an excellent job at maintaining it at its best, both in looks and function.
Too often hotels either look great, or have great service, but all to rarely both, especially at non high end chain hotels.
Here, at Akti, you will have both.
The grounds are ultra clean, manicured and well built. It is laid stone and tile everywhere, but no cracking mortar or stray refuse/leaves. Honestly, the grounds are spectacular.
The service is second to none, and I say this after having enjoyed, or not, a wide variety of service levels. The staff is not at all cloying, but they are very hard working and dedicated to their roles as hosts and caretakers of the guests and grounds.
As I write this I am sitting at the (awesome) pool, watching the servers quickly adjust lounge chairs, serve cold ice water to guests (without even asking!) and never looking bored or mechanical in their endeavours...truly impressive, and whomever has selects, trains and manages this staff should provide training to other hoteliers, because they obviously know how to to their job.
The room is the only area where you do not think you are in a 5* resort. This is not to say there is anything catastrophically wrong with the rooms, they are clean, well maintained, and perfectly functional, but not luxurious in either decor or amenities. The bed is comfortable (although our king is a two single frankenstein), the AC is ice cold (though a bit clangy) and the bathroom is sufficiently large, although no full shower curtain and the tub drain functions poorly).
Breakfast was complete, hot and had enough diversity to satisfy most every breakfast predilection.
If this property had proper king beds, quieter AC and the tub drain worked as it should, I would have easily granted 5*'s.
If you are considering this hotel, absolutely book it, you will not do better in the Kalamata area, or, I dare say, in Greece.
Do not take my criticism as any sort of reason to not book, I provide it more to make them aware to management, who have obviously worked too hard to let those last few details detract from what is an exceptional property.

Room Tip: We have 409, a sea view superior with a nice large balcony. It is near the front of the property, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sorefeettoproveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was clean but when reservations were made, we asked for a nice view and we were given a bungelow with a view of a small grassy area. I did asked to be moved and they said there were none available. On leaving, I mentioned it to the girl at the counter and she said Oh we have plenty of sea views, you should have asked

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the main hotel or a bungelow that you can see either the pool or the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luce4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, operation manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Luce4, thank you for choosing Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4* for your accomodation. The truth is that most of our visitors request the type of room that they would like to stay(for example sea view, garden view). Its normal when you arrive at our Resort that some types of rooms are not available, especially when our hotel is almost fully booked. In any case, we really thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I'm sitting in the reception now and we leave tomorrow. Once we accepted that the pool is not open in October, I have to say the week we had here was faultless. The hotel rooms in the main part of the building are clean, well presented and comfortable . In October our experience was peaceful and therapeutic; my sister and I came here for a week away to work and relax and we got more than we bargained for. I would recommend this hotel fully.

Specifically we found the staff outstanding in their attitudes, values and behaviours..highly professional and accommodating. It was the staff that made this week for us ..we would like to express our thanks to Michalis Vassiliou, Dimitris Makarounis, Angela Kapernarou and Soula Kentaki for the wonderful breakfast . These staff are an asset to the hotel and it wouldn't be the same without them. We go back to England very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LNT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

We really thank you very much!!as we told you by near, is happiness for everyone at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort be near to so glad people, as you are.People like you, make us stronger to continue on the same way...we are waiting for you back soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the resort for two days and found it a step above the rest we stayed on our trip to Greece. Very friendly staff, although some does not speak English and yet is put on bar duty. The view from the balcony was absolutely breathtaking. The grounds are meticuluosly kept and an underground tunnel with an elevator is a nice, but unnecassary, touch. Traffic on the road is really light and handicapped people won't be able to use it anyway due to additional stairs. Breakfast is your regular hotel offering that everybody calls "american breakfast" which was included in room price.
Due to september being a "winter" month, beach restaurant was already closed. In any event I wouldn't call a tiny strip of pebbles a beach. More like water access. I would strongly recommend water shoes if you want to take a dip.
Resort offers nice dinner buffet for those not interested in driving itno town to eat.
I wholeheartedly recommend this place.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us and most of all for giving us the chance to understand some things which have to change in order to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I needed to take a break from renovating the old homestead in the mountains north of Kalamata. I was thinking of Costa Navarino, but the price seemed excessive. The included breakfast buffet was fantastic. The small private beach off and the gorgeous ocean-side bar were outstanding. The pool area was well-designed and convenient to the rooms. The included massage special was appreciated. We liked it so much, we brought our kids, my wife's parents and our aunt and uncle for another visit and paid for dinner, and it was still cheaper than one night at C.N..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

thank you for the time you spent to add your comment for our services. we will be very happy to offer you a pleasant stay in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
2.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
448 reviews
2.3 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalamata
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Messinian Bay Hotel
Messinian Bay Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kalamata
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Taygetos Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Taygetos Conference Resort

Address: Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range: $62 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one of the most beautiful spots of the Messinian Bay, under the shadow of Mount Taygetus and only a few minutes from the centre of Kalamata, Akti Taygetos Conference Resort provides the perfect setting for your vacation or your business trips.To complement your stay, we offer free wi-fi, satellite TV, a spacious parking lot, a large swimming pool, relaxing Jacuzzi and a magnificent, organized beach perfect for swimming, fun and games.All rooms and apartments are painted in warm colours and are elegantly decorated, reflecting quality and luxury. They all have large balconies with a panoramic view, and are equipped with air-conditioning, anatomical mattresses, refrigerator or mini-bar, safe and hair-drier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akti Taygetos Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing