We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
leby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The Akti hotel is well situated for much of what Kalamata has to offer. Free wi-fi access was a real bonus. Our room was spacious (superior)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pool p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    18
    14
    9
See reviews for
47
65
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kallithea, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Every time we use this hotel we feel like our home. Its location is so relaxing place with view to the Messinian gulf, close to the sea so that we choose it at any season. It staff is so warm, friendly and available for our needs. Still remember its buffet breakfast and also we have use its conference hall as well. I have stayed there winter, spring and summer, if you are going to stay during winter there ask for a room at the main building.

Im sure that soon we are going to visit it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MirazTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
thank you very much for your positive feedback. we are waiting to welcome you once again as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Akti Taygetos a few times as we travel to Kalamata very often. We have excellent memories from this hotel. We are in Greece for business and pleasure. We have another business trip scheduled for next week and again,the Akti Taygetos is out of the question for the simple reason that they don't allow service dogs. We have a very small one (10lbs) that travels every where and she is a seizure alert dog. It is a huge luxury to have her. Unfortunately they discriminate against service dogs here which is something we're absolutely not used to here in the states. Ever. Service dogs are welcome anywhere. So, we stay at the new Elektra on the sea front and they welcome her every time we check in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcyOrloffPrastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
at first we would like to thank you for your review. we inform you and all guests who are interested in staying at AKTI TAYGETOS CONFERENCE RESORT**** that we do accept service dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Overall the surroundings of the hotel were very good. The gardens were well kept and the bar over the beach (across the road) is great.

Beach: nothing to see really, it's just a small strip, basically somewhere to run down to if you have little time available. Other than that there are much nicer beaches to visit in a short distance or amazing beaches to go to if you are up for going a longer distance.

Regarding service: the girl at the reception was especially helpful, polite and with a smile. I can't say that about the staff at the pool or during breakfast. Don't expect service with a smile and don't expect much of the service, they really don't seem interested.

Food: breakfast was standard, nothing exceptional and not really appealing. Eggs were runny and bacon way undercooked. Light lunch at the pool bar was ok, though there was food not on the menu which no one told us about (as a matter of fact we were informed that what we see on the menu and the chalk board, was what we got) but which was served to other guests (an example of the service mentioned above).

Room: this was a major disappointment, mainly because of what we paid. Too much money for the size and ambience of the room. The room was characterized as a bungalow so we expected something a bit more interesting and sizeable. The room was small, especially with the addition of the cot for our child, and so was the bathroom! The room was more or less clean, but it had an odour to it which really made you want to stay in the room as little as possible (basically only to sleep at night). Closet smelled so I avoided hanging anything in it. The beds were not comfortable and the pillows lumpy. The balcony, apart from the table, was not really clean and there was nowhere to lay out your bathing suit or towels...

Overall I would have been less aggravated if I had paid half of what I did, but either way I would not stay again so I would also not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't get the bungalow! It's anything but....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KG0395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
at first we would like to thank you for your advises and help us improve our services by sharing your experiences with us. we are sure that you agree with the fact that the hotel was full when you stayed at akti taygetos conference resort (that means there were no options for 3 persons in a classic twin bungalow) plus that your booking was a last minute ones. we hope next time you visit us you get a much bigger room to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in a standard room, which was in the farther back of the complex. This invoved an uphill walk which was never my favorite whenever i was tired. In spite of this shortcoming, it was nice to see that the hotel has made full provision for PRM. The room itself did not reflect a 4 star environment, but had all the basic amenities and was spotless clean. Beds: uncomfortably firm for me, which did not result in a good night sleep. Hotels should consider that the most important factor to a guest is a COMFORTABLE bed and a CLEAN room, regardless of any additional luxury.
The surrouding gardens are lovely, extremely well kept and manicured and the pool is nice and large. Breakfast: A lot to be desired, not from the selection itself (which was not bad) but from the overall look and feel. The basics - Coffe & Milk - were the worst. Two waiters were silently uninterested to offer any services.
The area has lovey beaches just a bit farther away, so the very small strip of beach in the front part of the hotel (separated by the main road from the hotel) is nobody's favorite. The hotel is a bit far out from the town (15 min drive). There is no question you need a car to get around this area, do some sightseeing, and go to some really nice places, swim, eat or have a drink. Reception staff was very helpful, courteous and always with a smile in their face. Considering the reasonable price we paid, overall it was not an unpleasant experience

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudegr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Kalamata was going to be my base for my road trips to Sparta and Olympia. I got this booking thru a well-known hotels booking site, at a great discounted rate. What I did not realise was it was in the middle of nowhere. Over one hour's walk into town. You really need a car to stay, over wise you are stuck there.
Having said all that I found the hotel rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. The hot breakfast buffet was well above Greek standards and very welcome in the morning. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
In season I would not pay the asking price of 150 euros per night. I do not think this hotel is worth that ( I might pay 90).NB. Kalamata town itself did not comes across much as a city I found appealing (just very ordinary).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeadlyDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
at first we would like to thank you for sharing your travel experiences. we would like to inform you that at the entrance of the hotel guests may find a bus stop to get easily to Kalamata's center. Also the price you note in your review about the high season is not correct. We would like to invite you to visit Kalamata area again and spend more time, because you will find out that it is a magnificent place next to the sea and one of the best modern cities in Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

The hotel is about 10-15 minutes fom downtown kalamata (costs about 15 euros one way taxi ride) and it sits on a 2-lane highway. The beach is on the other side of this highway. Nothing is in walking distance with the busy highway. The room is heavily perfumed...to a point where nothing helps even leaving the door of balcony open...the marina area is a collwction of taverns with industrial appearance. The hotel is a 2-star facility at an off the seaspn rate of 100 euros. They also have synthetic pillows with stained covers.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Haghartsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Front Office Manager at Akti Taygetos Conference Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
thank you for sharing your experiences regarding our hotel. we would like to apologize for the bad smell in your room. we would also like to inform you that since August 2011 the housekeeping department has replaced the old perfumes with a brand new collection perfumes so that guests may enjoy a fresh and light perfume. it is a true fact that nobody ever complaint about the smell since then. you may also be interested in learning that the price (one way) for a cab to the city center now costs only 10 euros and there is always the possibility (the schedule is frequent) to get on a local bus which stops right infront of the hotel in Iridos street, a calm and quite road which stands between the hotel and the beach.
once again we would like to thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you once again in akti taygetos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
2.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#2 of 21 in Kalamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#7 of 21 in Kalamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pharae Palace
Pharae Palace
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Taygetos Conference Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Taygetos Conference Resort

Property: Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
Address: Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Taygetos Conference Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one of the most beautiful spots of the Messinian Bay, under the shadow of Mount Taygetus and only a few minutes from the centre of Kalamata, Akti Taygetos Conference Resort provides the perfect setting for your vacation or your business trips.To complement your stay, we offer free wi-fi, satellite TV, a spacious parking lot, a large swimming pool, relaxing Jacuzzi and a magnificent, organized beach perfect for swimming, fun and games.All rooms and apartments are painted in warm colours and are elegantly decorated, reflecting quality and luxury. They all have large balconies with a panoramic view, and are equipped with air-conditioning, anatomical mattresses, refrigerator or mini-bar, safe and hair-drier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Taygetos Conference Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing