We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greek cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ta Rolla

Ta Rolla
Ranked #2 of 150 Restaurants in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Greek local traditional cuisine with daily fresh dishes for lunch and warm dishes for dinner. Most of the day dishes finish early, but during the summer we are operating longer time and we prepare fresh dish such as mousaka, eggplant with cheese in the oven, fresh cooked vegetables , twice or three time per day.. Monday to Friday from 8 a.M. Till 11:30 p.M. , Saturday from 8 a.M. Till 7 p.M., Sunday is usually closed, but sometimes we open - occasionally. Call if you need more info.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
“Greek cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Brilliant choice!! Amazing taste!! Magnificent service!! Probably the best restaurant in the area, friendly people, low priced dishes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yofis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    56
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“TripAdvisor works!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I arrived last week in Kalamata with my partner, his brother and his niece. We wanted a place to eat so I turned to TripAdvisor. Number 1 on the list was Ta Rolla. The reviews were great. They are fully justified. The restaurant is family owned and has been in the family for several generations. George and his sister Sylvia were engaging hosts. And the food was excellent. I particularly recommend the skordalia and salted cod (bakalarios?) and the deep fried eggplant (aubergine).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food from your greek mamas oven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This nice little restaurant is a dive in the past. The taste is magnificent and one can eat really greek kitchen of rhe 60s at its best edition. Good ingredients local products and nice picturesque corner of the city. Try the tomato sauce beef the frech beans and the fresh fries. The prices are surpisingly low and set the place a 10 for value for money

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kostasdretakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“the taste you'd be striving for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

we have visited for dinner so the choices were limited but still one of the best tastes ever. I have tasted okra with eggplant, hubby chose zucchini leaves, kids got burgers and fries. all were superb. the owners are very friendly and prices are very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ideal in order to experience the essence of being Greek. Only a few dishes available each day but will be home cooked and authentic and fresh. As with many restaurants in Kalamata, here you can find delicious hand cut and hand fried chips (french fries) cooked in Kalamatan oil. Need I say more? Located in the old centre, which makes it a good spot for an evening walk before or after dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank seagirltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ta Rolla also viewed

Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 
Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 
Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 

Been to Ta Rolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing