We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view...Excellent redecoration”
Review of Haikos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haikos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamata, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent view...Excellent redecoration”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Me and my fiance were having a christening to attend on the 21st of April 2012 in a village near Kalamata, and we needed a room to stay for the weekend...The period was off-season, so we wanted to book a room that was not so cheap or so expensive...So we chose Haikos Hotel through the sites, hoping that what it seemed was real too...They said that they had redocarated the hotel to meet the needs of the traveller...When we arrived we saw that hotel was located onshore, and only the main road was in between us and the sea...The first advantage was that it had its own private parking lot, which meant that it saved us from trouble parking...The lounge was very nice set, showing that it went through redecoration...We took our key and went with the lift to our room...First impression was great...The room had new upholstery all around (very odd for a hotel but very nice placed, indeed!), great bed and very comfortable matress, tft-lcd tv on the wall, the bathroom very clean, and hot water 24/7...But the best part was the view...When we opened the window, we stayed on the balcony spechless...In front of us the Messinian gulf opened from the foot of mount Taigetos up where your eyes could see...Beautiful, just beautiful...Especially eating the morning breakfast on the balcony was extraordinary...The city of Kalamata was and is remarkable, the hotel is set near the cafes and the restaurants of the city, so no worry at all...The service was great, we had no problems at all...The room cleaned every day and remind you it was off-season...All and all if you visit Kalamata, I recommend you visit Haikos...I will sure do in my next trip there...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    58
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
64
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in 12 hotels in Greece and found that this hotel was the best hotel we stayed and the cheapest. I recommend everyone to go stay in this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

PROS
Incredible view to the beach and the gulf of Kalamata (even from the 1st floor)
50 meters from the beach
In the most attractive part of the city
Near to restaurants, bars, etc
Private free parking space opposite to the hotel (it is extremely difficult to find parking in the area of the hotel)
Fully renovated rooms recently; the rooms are in excellent condition
Very quite, if you keep the doors closed (the road has too much traffic)
Reasonable price, main credit cards accepted
I would definitely stay again

CONS
In the bathroom, there are dispensers for the soap, the shampoo and the bath foam (like the ones you usually find in the bathrooms of restaurants, museums, etc). You have to push the dispensers hard to get the liquid out, which is extremely annoying.
Quite far from the city center -- you nee a car to get to the city center if you are a business traveler
We did not try the breakfast, because it was not included in the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikos_and_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

On our peleponnes trip, we came to see kalamata and looked for a nice place for one night -we discovered haikos hotel on the beach road, and it did not seem to be one of these shabby older greek hotels. By entering the lobby, our impression was approved: really stylish, nice furniture, seemed to be all new and almost looked like a boutique hotel.. the room was not huge, but ok because it was just for sleeping.room seemed to be renovated not a long time ago, with good beds, stylish wallpapers, lamps, carpets, flatscreen tv, new bathroom - all in all a pleasent experience compared to what we had seen the nights before. Nice balcony with sea view.beach road is noisy,so keep the balcony door closed, but there is an aircon. Ask for a sea front room, they have others with side street view.
Dot take the breakfast, u can book the room without- it is boring like in so many greek places. There are loads of cafes around with nice breakfast, good real coffee, and its not expensive.
We were there not in high season, so we had a really good price for the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank traveladdicted4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed at the Haikos Hotel in May 2009 for 2 nights. The hotel was partially under construction at the time and we were lucky enough to stay in one of the newly renovated rooms. The room was small, but we were in Greece, so did not care to spend a lot of time in the room. We also had a wonderful view of the sea from the balcony. The decor of the room was really cool, purple shag rug and funky style, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was new. The location was perfect as it was right across the street from the beach in the center of Kalamata. Overall, it was a great deal. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank heliosagape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
1.1 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ostria
Hotel Ostria
#7 of 21 in Kalamata
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pharae Palace
Pharae Palace
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#17 of 21 in Kalamata
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haikos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haikos Hotel

Property: Haikos Hotel
Address: 115 Navarinou, Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Haikos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haikos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing