We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel on kalamata beach front, kalamata,greece”
Review of Pharae Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pharae Palace
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Certificate of Excellence
orllando,florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice hotel on kalamata beach front, kalamata,greece”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

my stay there was about three years ago. there early October. had a 4/3 stay there after doing Athens and cruise. it's on the beach front of the bay, across from beach. beach area to swim ,walk to. I had a room with balcony that faced the beach,so I could sit out oon,get sun. at time ,pool on top floor,as they where fixing it. nice hotel w/ breakfast daily. buses run daily by it. near shopping mall . along the beach walk in along side of hotel, numerous eating places. food was good . also quite a few tourist shops. would like to go back again. any one a fan of "YANNI",its his home town.but he didn't become famous till here in America. can tell by new photos, place has been done over. note: at time ,could not find plane from Athens to there,so was booked on main coach bus. when I got to station at earlier time,as this would put me there ,giving me more time. took 7 am bs. two buses there saying kalamata.got on one. as we were on outside of Athens on thru-way,bus turned off. as we went further,this was a local bus. but glad I took it, as this was most likely the ole road to kalamata. went high into mountains ,real curvy roads. stop at major towns for people. also while enroute, saw some historic monuments. the average tour person would not see this,so if you want to drive or take bus ,recommend you take this route. hotel staff,great, breakfast nice, and the people there polite and pleasant.

Room Tip: my room faced bay front.when sliding doors close to balcony,heard no traffic. on balcony ,yes,but li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattibaby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Miss Patty,

I have notice from your profile that your are a very busy traveller and your excellent words for our hotel is an upper value for us.

Best regards,

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    123
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
54
98
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel has been recently renovated, the rooms are spacious with great view to the beach of Kalamata. The location is very convenient, you just cross the road and you are at the waterfront promenade. The quality and variety of breakfast was far above above the usual and the staff very friendly.
The most spectacular part of the hotel is the new roof-garden, with a brethtaking panoramic view to the messinean bay. It is open day and night for coffee, snacks, meals and drinks. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, a drink at the roofgarden at sunset is highly recommended. We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KstsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your good words.
It would be nice to see you again.

Best regards,

George Antoniou

Hotel general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in an executive room in August, it was spacious with sea view and renovated but the bathroom was partial renovated. The lobby is the only area that needs renovation, as you walk in is like you are 20 years ago. The breakfast and the bar at the room garden were very nice. A little bit overpriced for Kalamata and a city hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear sir,

I must admit that your review is totally right and fair.
Regarding the ground floor and our vintage lobby style our main concern is to be renovated the next year. Our main thought was to give priority in rooms and 5th floor as you mentioned with your good words already.
Hopefully to see you again.

Best regards

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

First time I booked this hotel. Usually I stay either to Elite or to Filoxenia. But I took the risc to save 50 Euros/night and I congratulate myself I did it. A perfect 4stars hotel, spacey , well furnished rooms, big flat TV with free satellite sports channel, very clean, excellent breakfast on 5th floor with spectacular view, always willing to help and most important smiley personnel. If you wonder why is cheaper by 30% from the competition hotels, I suppose because you have to walk 3mins to go to the seaside since the hotel in front of it has the port and not the beach. Big deal, I didn;t mind at all. Well, on conclusion highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view , at higher floors (4th)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreas0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Mr Andreas,

Thank you very much for your good words.
As concern the reason that you find our prices even 30% competitive than other hotels of the same size and category, is because we invest our 30% potential lost in 30% future and satisfied guests and hopefully you are one of them.

Best regards

George Antoniou
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Middlesex, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The initial impression of the Pharae Palace is that it may be dead. All the doors on Navarinou Street are bolted shut and the large cafe is empty. But we found the entrance round the corner and were welcomed by the receptionist. There is an underground car park for which there is no charge. Visually, the interior reminded us of Soviet hotels in Moscow, but the room was comfortable, the restaurant served a good evening meal in the rooftop restaurant even if we had to state firmly that we wanted a table on the front of the balcony which happened to be laid for four (there were dozens of empty tables) and the breakfast was fair. Food OK but coffee and orange juice less so. As others have said, bland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear customers,
Thank you very much for your review and your observations regarding the interior design of the lobby.
It is in our main concern to renovate and the rest of the lobby area in the very closed future time.
Hopefully to see you again

Kindest regards,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larissa
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Situated just at the sea front this renovated hotel has a wonderful view to the beach, the mountain with small and great Mantinia all lit up at night, just in the middle of night life of Kalamata! The room was spacious, in brilliant condition, everything was new and clean, we even had a balcony with flowers. Nice decoration, modern furniture, flat TV and fridge. To say the best last, breakfast was superb what you would call Greek traditional breakfast with fresh tomatoes, olives, fresh salt and oreganon, dried fruits, yoghurt, wonderful mixed omelette, galaktoboureko, fresh fruits, lalagia and so many other things so delicious and fresh. And of course all sort of coffee...just excellent! I would definitely recommend it...

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Pharae Palace, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear customers,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your excellent observations regarding the hotel services breakfast and dinner.
We will be glad if we see you again in our city and of course in our hotel.

From the management and the staff we wish you a pleasent winter

Kindest regards,

The General Manager of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's nice that is located close by the Athanasiou cafe-restaurant where you can enjoy the sea view and the morning or afternoon sea breeze. The rooms really remind you the early 70's although some reinnovated, and the breakfast will not really give you the pleasure you excpect. There is no parking available , so you will have to look around the local streets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
1.4 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
405 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ostria
Hotel Ostria
#7 of 21 in Kalamata
122 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharae Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharae Palace

Property: Pharae Palace
Address: Navarinou Str & R. Rerreou Street, Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamata
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kalamata
#3 Family Hotel in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pharae Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the famous Kalamata beachfront, the Pharae Palace is minutes away from fine restaurants, trendy open air cafes, both modern and traditional shopping districts and the Port of Kalamata. The Pharae Palace offers to its quests excellent facilities, together with a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pharae Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pharae Palace Hotel Kalamata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing