We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!”
Review of ATHANASIOU

ATHANASIOU
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Kalamata
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: IT IS A PATISSERIE WITH VARIOUS BRANCHES IN KALAMATA. IT HAS COFFEE SHOP AND GELATERIA ALSO.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spend a lot of time near Kalamata and one place we never fail to visit is Athanasiou - I absolutely love their home made rizogallo and krema (rice pudding and sort of creamy custard pudding) and my partner stocks up on their huge range of biscuits which never disappoint! If you cannot get to the one on the harbour I would recommend the branch at the BP garage on the main road into Kalamata from the airport. They have the most amazing creations it is worth going just to look, but I bet you come out with a big bag full of goodies!! Make fab presents too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoolooB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    69
    30
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe-patisserie”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We ordered 2 waffles with nutella and 2 kinds of ice-cream, chocolate and biscotella. All portions were normal to large and very tasteful. The view was perfect. We will definately go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
147 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“plesantly surprised”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had been reccomemnded to try the sweets at this venue, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the style and what they had to offer

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank patricia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messini, Greece
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

You always know what you are going to get at an Athanasiou establishment and importantly fresh delilcious sweets. Great place to rest the feet and nourish the senses after a long day of retail therapy or just site seeing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best patisserie shops in Greece!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have tried a lot of different kind of sweets from Athanasiou and all of them are of high quality. I would suggest the traditional greek pasteli.
In the around area you may find lots of Athanasiou shops which are decorated with very good sense of taste as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zenia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ATHANASIOU also viewed

Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 
Kalamata, Messenia Region
Kalamata, Messenia Region
 

Been to ATHANASIOU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing