We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEW OF MASSINIAN BAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Messinian Bay Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW OF MASSINIAN BAY”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed there only 2 days the next time I will go there for at least a week. good food hotel wright on the beach on a beautyfull bay and friendly staff a 4star hotel 5 star for me.thanks stavroula and kostantinaat the restaurant

Room Tip: Get an ocean front room high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    44
    15
    5
See reviews for
48
67
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Messinian Bay area and the views across it are not to be missed. The hotel itself is on the outskirts of Kalamata along the east coast shoreline. In terms of position, it cannot be beaten. Yes, it does need some investment made into it but this should not detract from its other positive features. Immediately next door, there is a wonderful Taverna that we used with equally stunning views across the bay. Even managed a scuba dive one morning further up the coast line having brought my kit with me from the UK. Overall, it is an area we are passionate about and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I been here just once and I liked a lot!I wanted a quiet place,with private beach and I found it here.Very clean hotel and the room too,breakfast was nice,room service as well,the pool very clean with wonderful views.I hope to come back again and have again a relaxing holiday as I had!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying here but when i finally got a room i was disgusted. They said refurbished... where certainly not in the room i was 221. Furnature broken, paint coming off, tv not working, a toilet you can use if your 8 years old, wifi terrible. I only gave this place 1 is because of the view and the cleaning staff. This is my 16th hotel ive stayed in Kalamata and it is the worst. Will not come back and will not recomend. Management should stung up.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalamata hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Messianian Bay for a business trip in Kalamata. It's 6 km away from the city centre. The price was fair for the service.The view to the bay is exceptional. The room is big but mine, since I asked for a double bed had inside also a children tower bed! That was surely not a nice surprise. However the amenities are well kept, clean and I haven't any major complaint, the only thing that I didn't like is that the mini fridge-bar of the room was empty. I arrived after midnight from a long trip and some fresh water or a juice in the minibar would be expected from a hotel like Messinian Bay.The personnel is friendly, the breakfast is ok but nothing really special. All in all positive

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Antonis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent one night at this nice hotel which is located about 10 minutes driving time from Kalamata downtown. It is not ideally located if you want to be next to the city center but it pays off with the magnificent views.
We chose the specific hotel because we were attending a wedding reception held at the hotel.
The public spaces are very nicely maintained and although the building is not new it does not give away its age easily. The room we had was on the second floor, it was very clean but it could be more spacious - not that we had a problem with space - just saying. The bathroom amenities were nice but nothing to brag about. Also there can be an issue with foot steps noise as the corridors are not carpeted and you can sometimes listen to the people walking outside your room. The major advantage of this hotel is the amazing view it offers from almost every room and all public spaces, it is rather elevated from the sea level and it offers breathtaking views of the Kalamata gulf. The 2 pools looked very refreshing and inviting but we didnt get a chance to use them. One of the pools was set up for the wedding reception we attended and i must say that i was impressed by the quality and quantity of food and the service, we really enjoyed ourselves staying up dancing and singing until almost 5 AM.
The biggest dissapointment to me was the breakfast - both in quality and variety. I could really expect something better, it is something that the hotel should look at, it was included in our rate but i wouldnt mind paying a little extra for breakfast alone if the quality and the variety would be better.
I would recommend this hotel if being close to the city centre is not your priority and you want a nice view from your room.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea therefore no matter which room you will get you will probably have a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anquitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
296 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

the big advantage of the hotel is the immediate access at the sea: it is exactly in front of the hotel.
you wake up, go at the little beach, leave your staff(towels, etc.) there and you do everything in your swim trunks. eat, drink, coffee, eat lunch, dinner.
total leisure and relaxation!
there are two big swimming pools.
check out the sunset photo from the swimming pool.
also, a very good breakfast with local specialties: pasteli(sesame bars with honey), koutalides(Greek pancakes with honey and cinnamon ),
take a mask and snorkel and go to the left: the sea is full of fishes to watch

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamata hotels
2.0 mi away
Elite City Resort
Elite City Resort
#3 of 21 in Kalamata
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Taygetos Conference Resort
1.8 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#12 of 21 in Kalamata
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantinia Bay Hotel
Mantinia Bay Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kalamata
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Messinian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messinian Bay Hotel

Property: Messinian Bay Hotel
Address: Almyros Verga, Kalamata 241 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Messinian Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Messinian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing