We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peg's Place
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Fogo Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Fogo Island Inn(Joe Batt's Arm)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Hotel(Twillingate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spindrift by the Sea(Musgrave Harbour)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
36
20
7
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
20
7
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadoatmealmaster suitefriendly hostswalking trailsstayed nightsspent one nightcomfortable beda wonderful staypegseileenfogonewfoundlandaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 63 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Impeccably clean, perfectly located, excellent breakfasts, comfortable and cozy . Stimulating conversation with hosts who readily share their knowledge and experience of this unique outport island's history and culture. Traditional island music, complements of Gerald and his students. Fogo Isalnd is a gem. We stayed 3 nights and could have spent a week exploring its communities and many trails. For an authintic Newfoundland expereince, visit Fogo and stay with gracious hosts, Eileen and Gerald.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdf_bwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Peg's for several nights while exploring Fogo and the Change Islands. It's a good location for exploring the towns of Fogo, Joe Batt's Arm, and Tilting (which was incredible). Eileen fed us well each morning with oatmeal and a great variety of extras. The home-baked bread smelled so wonderful baking! We had a great view from our room, a beautiful (cool!) cross breeze, and lots of space in the room (we did pay more for the queen room). We peeked at the other rooms and some of the washrooms seemed like a tight squeeze.

Eileen was very welcoming and made all the guests very welcome. We didn't have directions but were able to follow the signs from the ferry, which was helpful. If you're heading for Fogo, definitely consider Peg's. I'd love to return to Fogo and would stay at Peg's again.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more for the room at the front with the queen bed. It was worth it -- more space than the other rooms, a wonderful cross breeze, and a view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wloo_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

There is not a lot of lodging on Fogo Island. Peg's is very clean and comfortable. The bathroom in a few of the rooms can be tight. Had the room with the twin beds for $80.Very small room and would leave the luggage in the car. Other rooms looked larger. Very nice friendly hosts who can give advice about the island. I would suggest at least two nights on the island. Nicole's in Joe Batt's Arm is the only place to eat. Very good food. Need reservations for dinner most nights.
Cheers and Happy travels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Peg's recently. The room was comfortable and we loved the breakfasts - wonderful home made oatmeal porridge with all the fixings: cranberries, flax seed, raisins, and so on, and toasted home made bread with the typical Newfoundland jams. We loved being able to make tea though the day and evening in the kitchen. And enjoyed the muffins that Eileen baked and left out for guests. An excellent place to stay on Fogo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisheagle2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Peg's is one of the first b & b's on Fogo Island, and it's a solid four stars. This is our second visit to Fogo, and second time with Eileen Freake at Peg's. There aren't too many places to stay on the island, and there is a ferry schedule to deal with if you are going to just drop in, so it's better to make reservations in advance of arrival. Fogo is a set of small villages/towns, and Fogo is the largest. Eileen is super efficient and knowledgeable of the island; you need someone like her to direct your attention to the sites and trails, because they just aren't well known.

The breakfast is a little basic, although she makes her delicious bread, and makes her own, very delicious jams. She lets you use the kitchen, so you can keep food there and cook a meal, or pick up fish from the nearby fishery, if it's in season. We had a second floor room that looked out over the water, and the nearby church (it can be a little noisy, but the view in the morning, when the light comes over the mountains, is worth it). You have a small bathroom, which is convenient, and sheeting is good, and the bed is comfy.

Plan on staying at least two nights, or you won't have enough time.

Room Tip: there are rooms on the first floor, very private, with a balcony, and the one we like, with a view, on the second floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews