We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Authentic Newfoundland Experience”
Review of Peg's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fogo Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peg's Place
Ranked #4 of 5 Fogo Island B&B and Inns
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
“An Authentic Newfoundland Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Impeccably clean, perfectly located, excellent breakfasts, comfortable and cozy . Stimulating conversation with hosts who readily share their knowledge and experience of this unique outport island's history and culture. Traditional island music, complements of Gerald and his students. Fogo Isalnd is a gem. We stayed 3 nights and could have spent a week exploring its communities and many trails. For an authintic Newfoundland expereince, visit Fogo and stay with gracious hosts, Eileen and Gerald.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdf_bwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Peg's for several nights while exploring Fogo and the Change Islands. It's a good location for exploring the towns of Fogo, Joe Batt's Arm, and Tilting (which was incredible). Eileen fed us well each morning with oatmeal and a great variety of extras. The home-baked bread smelled so wonderful baking! We had a great view from our room, a beautiful (cool!) cross breeze, and lots of space in the room (we did pay more for the queen room). We peeked at the other rooms and some of the washrooms seemed like a tight squeeze.

Eileen was very welcoming and made all the guests very welcome. We didn't have directions but were able to follow the signs from the ferry, which was helpful. If you're heading for Fogo, definitely consider Peg's. I'd love to return to Fogo and would stay at Peg's again.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more for the room at the front with the queen bed. It was worth it -- more space than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wloo_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

There is not a lot of lodging on Fogo Island. Peg's is very clean and comfortable. The bathroom in a few of the rooms can be tight. Had the room with the twin beds for $80.Very small room and would leave the luggage in the car. Other rooms looked larger. Very nice friendly hosts who can give advice about the island. I would suggest at least two nights on the island. Nicole's in Joe Batt's Arm is the only place to eat. Very good food. Need reservations for dinner most nights.
Cheers and Happy travels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at Peg's recently. The room was comfortable and we loved the breakfasts - wonderful home made oatmeal porridge with all the fixings: cranberries, flax seed, raisins, and so on, and toasted home made bread with the typical Newfoundland jams. We loved being able to make tea though the day and evening in the kitchen. And enjoyed the muffins that Eileen baked and left out for guests. An excellent place to stay on Fogo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisheagle2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Peg's is one of the first b & b's on Fogo Island, and it's a solid four stars. This is our second visit to Fogo, and second time with Eileen Freake at Peg's. There aren't too many places to stay on the island, and there is a ferry schedule to deal with if you are going to just drop in, so it's better to make reservations in advance of arrival. Fogo is a set of small villages/towns, and Fogo is the largest. Eileen is super efficient and knowledgeable of the island; you need someone like her to direct your attention to the sites and trails, because they just aren't well known.

The breakfast is a little basic, although she makes her delicious bread, and makes her own, very delicious jams. She lets you use the kitchen, so you can keep food there and cook a meal, or pick up fish from the nearby fishery, if it's in season. We had a second floor room that looked out over the water, and the nearby church (it can be a little noisy, but the view in the morning, when the light comes over the mountains, is worth it). You have a small bathroom, which is convenient, and sheeting is good, and the bed is comfy.

Plan on staying at least two nights, or you won't have enough time.

Room Tip: there are rooms on the first floor, very private, with a balcony, and the one we like, with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I researched a number of places on Fogo Island for my 2-night stay and the testimonials on TripAdvisor led me to Peg's. I was welcomed by Eileen as I stepped out of my car. A wonderful host, she showed me my room and then the house. She made me feel so at home!

The next day over a lovely breakfast, Eileen sat with me (I was the only guest - it was off-season) and we chatted about my trip and what I wanted to do in Fogo. She told me about a number of things to do and in particular about a hike that she and her sister love called Lion's Den which is part of a larger circular hike to 'abandoned villages, hills and breathtaking panoramas,' as the sign says. Eileen said it was wonderful and she was right.

The 'Kaitlin' room had an ensuite bathroom and was very clean and cozy. It was part of an extension to the house. I wished there was room for a desk, but the sacrifice in size was worth the queen size bed. The room had it's own heater, flat screen TV, ceiling fan and that bed - magic! The deck outside had a lovely view of Fogo and the water. Fresh in October, but the view was worth it.

On the second day, Eileen invited me to her sister's for a family dinner - her son and his friends were visiting, so the family was getting together that evening. I was so pleased to be invited me along. I brought some wine and a pie from a local bakery, but it was not necessary as there was so much food already. The homemade dinner was amazing!! Fish cakes, salted fish, fish and more fish, scrunchions, potatoes, etc, and bottles of organic local wine. Desert included homemade pies and chocolate goodies. And conversation was plenty!

I want to go back and stay in Fogo and when I do, I will stay at Peg's with Eileen and Gerald as my hosts. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: The Kaitlin and Emilie rooms are outside of the house as an extension. Both have private entrances a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeeanneB155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

When I arrived, no one was home, but a quick phone call, and Eileen came and showed me the home and my room. Everything was neat and tidy. Eileen suggested places to go and see. Unfortunately, I was there in October. I'm sure, if I come back in the summer, when all the touristy things are open, I would have a great time. Eileen's husband was practicing music when I came in around supper time, and it was a nice backdrop to review my pictures. If I ever get the chance to visit Fogo Island again, I would love to stay at Peg's. I didn't get a chance to enjoy breakfast, because it was soooo cold on the island, I left early to catch the ferry. I did make use of the kitchen though in the evening and made some toast and tea. I felt like I was at home in my own apartment.

Room Tip: I chose the downstairs room because I was alone and don't need much space. If you like more mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grannybiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fogo Island
21.4 mi away
Whitsha Inn B&B
Whitsha Inn B&B
#9 of 17 in Twillingate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
21.9 mi away
Anchor Inn Hotel
Anchor Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Twillingate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
22.4 mi away
Sunshine Inn - Twillingate & Beyond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
146.9 mi away
No photo provided
The Point Bed & Breakfast
#163 of 273 in Newfoundland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fogo Island Inn
Fogo Island Inn
#1 of 1 in Joe Batt's Arm
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peg's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peg's Place

Property: Peg's Place
Address: Newfoundland and Labrador AOG 2BO , Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Fogo Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Fogo Island
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Peg's Place Fogo Island, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing