We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I have ever been”
Review of Hotel Porto Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porto Real
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is by far the worst Hotel I have ever been. Despite of the beautiful view, the hotel is a total mess. The staff is not prepared to provide any information or services, the food is terrible, and the buildings are damaged and old.The floor of the restaurant is always dirty, and the appearance of the food is horrible. We saw a couple that stayed 2 days without water in their room, taking showers in the pool's bathroom. It was almost impossible to schedule a boat ride with the reception staff, we had to bypass the hotel and contact a travel agency directly. The air conditioning of our room had a really annoying noise, and it broke in our last day, making us leave earlier. I strongly DON'T recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar552, Gerente geral at Hotel Porto Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
In the name of our entire team, I’d like to express our gratitude for the choice of Hotel Porto Real and the time spent by leaving your comment. All the information is very valuable, It will help us to improve our services and provide a better one next time.
The constant search for the full satisfaction of our guests is a cause of maximun attention for us!
On your nest trip to Mangaratiba, count on us!
Best wishes!
Albano Theodoro
General Manager
Hotel Porto Real
Email: gerencia@portorealrersort.com.br tel. (21) 2685-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 868 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We travel extensively throughout Brazil and have stayed in many different types of properties including pousadas, rentals and five stars. We are always on the look out for interesting accommodations in different parts of the country which are off the beaten track.

On this particular Sunday, we left Paraty in early afternoon thinking we would head straight to Rio. We noticed the cloudy skies but our experience the past week had been sporadic showers, followed by sunny skies so we weren't too bothered by the conditions upon departure. An hour into the trip the skies opened and rain started to bucket down. Visibility was extremely poor and intrepid Brazilian drivers were hell bent on returning to their homes before dark. Road conditions did not deter their enthusiasm and most of our fellow travelers continued to speed around corners, barely slowing down for the electronic robots. The rain kept coming, reducing visibility at some points to 10 feet in front of the next car.

We decided to try to find a decent hotel to take a break and try to see some additional sights. The Hotel Porto Real was recommended to us by a local ship building executive who was entertaining his family at another hotel down the road. We pulled into what looked to be a condo complex with a very nice hotel which appeared very pleasant from the exterior. We went into the gorgeous marble lobby and chatted amiably with the front desk staff, then headed to the dining room for a drink to wait out the weather. The dining room was empty so we sat next to the open sliding glass windows where we had fantastic views of the water and beach below. After a bit, we inquired about availability and were happy to find they had a room.

Based on the sophistication of the lobby area, we expected the rooms to be comparable. Sadly, that was not the case. Many hotels in Brazil are family oriented and as a result have what Americans would consider as strange bed configurations. In this case, our room had a queen size bed and a single bed which filled most of the available space. There were no lounging chairs, no couch, a very small desk with one hard chair, and a bureau with a television. There was a lovely balcony with no furniture so it was impossible to sit outside and enjoy the view. The bathroom, while modern, was very small. For some reason, though the hotel seemed to have very low occupancy, we were assigned a room at the very end of a dark corridor on a high floor. When you exited the elevators, the corridors were pitch dark and it took some time for the motion detector lights to activate giving the place a very weird vibe.

As we explored the property, we found two swimming pools, a small beach, a tennis court and a very nice gym as amenities.

Since the hotel is not in an urban or even village environment but rather a complex off the main road, we opted to eat at the property for both dinner and breakfast as part of the rate. At dinner, there were maybe 15 other guests scattered around the dining room. The meal was buffet and I can honestly say that we have never had such horrible food anywhere in Brazil, or anywhere else other than possibly Ulanbataar in the late 1990s. Nothing on the buffet was edible -- everything was cold and overcooked, a very unpleasant combination. Despite the fact that we went to bed hungry, we did try breakfast thinking it would be impossible to produce a bad breakfast. Well, we were wrong. Breakfast was just as bad.

For a property with such a nice infrastructure, grounds and amenities, I think management would be well served by hiring a new Food and Beverage Manager who can produce a product commensurate with the rest of the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. It is highly unlikely that we will revisit this property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boudecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar552, Gerente geral at Hotel Porto Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
In the name of our entire team, I’d like to express our gratitude for the choice of Hotel Porto Real and the time spent by leaving your comment. All the information is very valuable, It will help us to improve our services and provide a better one next time.
The constant search for the full satisfaction of our guests is a cause of maximun attention for us!
On your nest trip to Mangaratiba, count on us!
Best wishes!
Albano Theodoro
General Manager
Hotel Porto Real
Email: gerencia@portorealrersort.com.br tel. (21) 2685-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The structure, location, staff and activities are excellent, but we had breakfast and dinner for 3 days and unbelievably there was the same fish "dourado", the recipes offered at the hotel are good but it seems that the cook is unable to prepare something tasty, for example, the dessert offered was very beautiful but no flavour at all!!! There was the worst "quindim" I have ever eaten, if that thing can be called it. To make matters in the last day of our stay, there was a group of Fiocruz and Petrobras staff, so, to save costs, the cook added water to the beans of the dinner and to the coffee of the breakfast. What a shame!!! It's unacceptable in a hotel like this!!! The food was the worst I have ever eaten in a hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CarlaSMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar552, Gerente geral at Hotel Porto Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
In the name of our entire team, I’d like to express our gratitude for the choice of Hotel Porto Real and the time spent by leaving your comment. All the information is very valuable, It will help us to improve our services and provide a better one next time.
The constant search for the full satisfaction of our guests is a cause of maximun attention for us!
On your nest trip to Mangaratiba, count on us!
Best wishes!
Albano Theodoro
General Manager
Hotel Porto Real
Email: gerencia@portorealrersort.com.br tel. (21) 2685-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We thought the hotel was very nice, the hotel beach is beautiful, there is a natural swiming pool, the service is good, and people are friendly. But if your objective is to know the ilha grande island (where the beaches are amazing) stay in ilha grande because if you are there is easier to make boat trips to the beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LLA1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar552, Gerente geral at Hotel Porto Real, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
In the name of our entire team, I’d like to express our gratitude for the choice of Hotel Porto Real and the time spent by leaving your comment. All the information is very valuable, It will help us to improve our services and provide a better one next time.
The constant search for the full satisfaction of our guests is a cause of maximun attention for us!
On your nest trip to Mangaratiba, count on us!
Best wishes!
Albano Theodoro
General Manager
Hotel Porto Real
Email: gerencia@portorealrersort.com.br tel. (21) 2685-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gisela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoaoPRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar552, Gerente geral at Hotel Porto Real, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesar552, Gerente geral at Hotel Porto Real, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangaratiba
Portobello Resort & Safari
#2 of 5 in Mangaratiba
863 reviews
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#3 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
993 reviews
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#2 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Angra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
519 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#12 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Real

Address: Rodovia Br 101 Rio Santos Km 450, Mangaratiba, State of Rio de Janeiro 23860-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Mangaratiba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Price Range: $154 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Porto Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 110km far from Rio de Janeiro, the Hotel Porto Real is situated at the Ilha Grande’s Bay. It offers white sand beaches with crystalline water, inside and outside swimming pools, saunas, sport courts, Fitness center by Reebok, Games room, Kids club with toys, Boutique with famous Brazilian clothes, Spa with hot tub, Cyber, rental of motor boats and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porto Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porto Real Brazil/Rio De Janeiro - Mangaratiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing