We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the ugly, -- and a broken arm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Rio Das Pedras
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Everything everyone says is true, but we still had a SUPER time. Despite an injury in in a place where we don't speak the language!


The Good- well though not nearly as many activities as CM Cancun, still we all had so much fun. I did the fitness, my hubby did tennis/archery and the boys did soccer and archery and wakeboarding. You are in the middle of the rainforest, surrounded by mountains, with the beach right there. Just Gorgeous. Plus everyone took care of our needs very quickly so I am confused about the complaints. Ooh - plus tiny monkeys!

Bad: well not THAT bad, but yes, many GO's speak no English. Not a big deal. They will grab another GO or guest to make sure you understand everything. Plus not enough white chocolate bread. (only2x in 4 days ;()

Ugly: My teens were in the the regular club rooms which were old and moldy. Since they spent about 5 hours a day there just to sleep and shower - we could live with it. The deluxe beach facing rooms were fine.

This resort seems less international- more a place for rich Brazil natives to come and play. Heavy on the kids - say under 8, but it still had enough teens and tweens to keep my older kids happy. And the kids spoke English well enough. Very few Americans.

But most importantly - on the first day, my 12 year old fell on the tennis court and broke her arm. I couldn't ask for more help from them. The "Second -in Charge"(Paolo) stayed with us , organizing a taxi and more help while the nurse called every office/hospital in a 50 m radius to find an orthopedic surgeon with a functioning X-ray. The lovely and sweet Joana was dispatched to translate and she stayed with us for the entire 4 hour trip back and forth. the Orthopedist told us it was broken but we could wait till we returned to do the surgery (which we did). After that, they treated her like a Queen. She got awards and medals and generally made much of. Chris, the tennis coach and of course Antonio (chef-de -village) made sure she felt special. And I felt so safe and taken care of.

We miss Nadia and Caju and Bea and Arthur & Julia all the other great GO's . We are still so grateful to the Nurse & Joana & Paulo. I would recommend this to any family esp. with younger kids.

PS about affordability - Brazil is a lot more expensive than say Mexico. So this really wasn't luxury prices compared to others. (Based on the 5 days prior we spent in Rio -:>)

Room Tip: The club rooms were DISGUSTING! Seriously. The deluxe were the usual club med: clean, spartan and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisaejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

My son had a blast! GOs always friendly and in a good mood. Lots of activities for kids and sports for adults. Large variety of food and drinks. Some rooms are a bit far, I upgraded mine to beach front delux, was a good choice.

Room Tip: The rooms at beach front are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mscouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Beautiful location! Some GOs are excellent and have a great attitude (Ricardo - bow and arrow, Federico - tennis, Ogawa - kayak, and all the fitness instructors). The sports manager was very bad - they said tournaments were organized, and the GOs never showed up, giving lame excuses. There were no group activities organized, such as Olympics. Pool games were not very exciting. Awards ceremony was organized on Saturday evening, once most of the guests for the week had already left.
Rooms were OK, as expected for a Club Med. Food was very good, lots of variety. Shows were so-so. Reception staff was not good, they did not have customer service attitude. My kids did not go to the mini club, but everyone said it was excellent. I'm not sure i'll go again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Maca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Beutiful location. Some of the GO's are nice and helpful. But all in all, very poor value for your money. The hotel doesn't even come near the expectations.
A thin layer of paint tries to cover the mold on the room walls. The service is appaling: getting a mere bar of soap took us 2 hours and 4 calls to reception desk. Fortunately, the room phone was working on that day - it had taken us 2 days to get it fixed. Not mentioning somebody knocking on our door at 11.45 p.m. to deliver something we had never sked for (she was actually knocking on every door as she didn't have a clue as to who had asked for the item. The safe was out of order as well but that was fixed soon enough.
Food is another issue. Ambitious menus; poorly executed though. In 7 days, not one item worth praising.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMLCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

In June 2011 we visited Club Med Bali and as a result of the great service and wonderful staff personalities and absolutely BEAUTIFUL surroundings, we decided to go to Club Med Rio das Pedras in Brazil this year (2012).

What a shock to the system!!!!! Virtually NONE of the staff speak any form of English, they are unhelpful and unfriendly when they realise that you cannot speak Portuguese.... Upon arrival, one of the guestrooms had no duvet cover on the bed - after enquiring about this, we were informed that clean duvet covers would only be available the following day!!!!! The bathrooms were mouldy, the airconditioners do not function well enough to deal with the severe humidity and as a result the rooms and all the linen smell musty and are damp.

The high point of our experience, was dealing with G.O. Ricardo Muller on a daily basis. He was ALWAYS friendly, very knowledgeable about his area of expertise (archery) and shared a lot of information about the resort and area in general, and even though his first language is also Portuguese, he always tried his best to interact with us in English. FULL MARKS TO RICARDO - WELL DONE!!!!

The resort is in desperate need of renovations and staff training, and is a bit of a disgrace to the Club Med "motto" and culture........

As a result, we were quite disappointed in general with our trip to Brazil and is definitely not planning any return vacations in the near future.

Regards,
Albert & Jarine Mostert

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms that are currently being renovated and has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

of all the clubmed i have done, this was the worst on a level of service.
the location is great, the rooms are nice, the food is medium (not much variety), the sports are excellent (waterski included!)

i was here for business but i have talked to customers and they thought the same.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I wasn't expecting much when I went to this resort. I knew that the place was old and that the rooms were not very comfortable, so when I got there I was not frustrated. Overall I enjoyed my stay there. The only major problem was that the weather was bad the whole time (4 days), but this is nobody's fault. There are many activities to be done, but the nicest ones - water ski, kayaking, tennis and pool were kind of hard to do in the rain. The food is very good. Everyday we had various and tasty dishes available at the buffet. The room we were was in the last building of the village - Badejo, which was very, very far from the leisure area. There isn't a restaurant or a snack bar around it, so if we wanted anything we would have to walk all the way to the main building. The rooms were recently painted, but they are still pretty basic and old. The view from the room was amazing. I've been to other resorts were the entretainment people were better.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe one, they are closer to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangaratiba
Portobello Resort & Safari
#2 of 5 in Mangaratiba
860 reviews
Hotel Porto Real
#3 of 5 in Mangaratiba
868 reviews
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#3 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#2 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
1,451 reviews
Angra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
517 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#13 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Rio Das Pedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Rio Das Pedras

Address: Rodovia Rio Santos BR 101 Km 441.5, Mangaratiba, State of Rio de Janeiro 23860-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Mangaratiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Price Range: $339 - $930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Med Rio Das Pedras 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of Rio de Janeiro, the Village of Rio das Pedras nestles amid lush greenery set at the edge of a long beach in Brazil. The Village's colonial style bungalows mingle in harmony with the surrounding wildlife. The large seafront swimming pool lies next to the restaurant where after a day of water-skiing or excursions, a variety of buffets await you. Here in this unique location, the live music and warmth of the Brazilian welcome will sweep you away into another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Rio Das Pedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Rio Das Pedras Hotel Mangaratiba
Club Med Mangaratiba
Mangaratiba Club Med
Club Med Rio Das Pedras Brazil/Rio De Janeiro - Mangaratiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing