We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing week in a comfortable but not luxury hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Rio Das Pedras
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very relaxing week in a comfortable but not luxury hotel.”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Better than expected. I was concerned after reading some reviews, but there was no mould in our comfortable and recently renewed room. Food is good, very similar to other ClubMeds in Brazil. Service also good and staff is always ready to help you. GO's are fun and happy and entertain guests a lot from breakfast until late in the night. My 3 year-old daughter loved it and made lots of friends in the Mini Club.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodrigo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,414
    746
    340
    171
    106
See reviews for
1,555
391
79
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

These are my family third trip to Club Med. We love the place, the G.Os and the food. But the hotel need urgent renovations and for their price range this is urgent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinhoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are hardened Club Med fans but after reading some of the other reviews we were a bit nervous about booking this! We needn't have worried as usual the Club is in a beautiful location and we had a lovely room right by the sea with a wonderful view.
The meals were all up to the usual high Club Med standard however the orange juice is indeed not fresh despite there being a huge selection of other fresh fruit.
Brazilian families are clearly making the most of everything the Club has to offer here ( great place for water-skiing) and we enjoyed meeting some of them despite the language barrier. The French/English speaking GO's were really great and went out of their way to make us welcome.
We really enjoyed a few of the local rum based cocktails!

The only thing you need to be aware of is that this Club is in the rain forest and it does rain! The moisture can lead to a general feeling of dampness so take a couple of cotton sweaters and a raincoat! While we were there there was a problem with the hot water that took over 24 hours to fix and we did feel cold.

Room Tip: We had a superior room it was very quiet and had a lovely view but had no balcony or terrace and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Millymissme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de janeiro
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I highly recommend this resort, it´s near Rio, which makes it easy for foreigners to visit Rio after their stay in this Club Med... Bedrooms are comfortable, i have no critics at all.... Lots of activities, GO´s are cool, young and fresh, make you have fun and feel at home ! I had lots of fun with my friends there, recommend it with eyes closed !!

Room Tip: club mar or deluxe mar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luluzinhario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We thought we were going to the best of the best when we booked this 2 week vacation, and clearly we weren't. The place is nice, in between mountains and lovely see view. However, almost nothing really worked for us. Artificial orange juice welcomes you for breakfast after a very interrupted night thanks to a very loud (and empty) disco.

Our safe was locked and took hours to get someone to open it (my computer was inside and could not do some urgent work), the rooms were very humid and stinky, petit club was a scam, attended by two very demotivated + unskilled GOs. My 3 year old got tired of them too quickly and the whole club experience went out of the window.

The place is filled with unhappy employees, 'energised' by an over the top Chef Du Village, who 'forces' people to clap whilst signing 'energia' in front of a very uninspired crowd.

This was not cheap, as you can imagine, and value for money was questionable. We will not be going there again, not to mention it rained 50% of the time, as it is located inside a tropical forest! ClubMed, I know you can do better!

Room Tip: Smell the room before moving in, as many are too humid for a human being to breath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ontheroadmostdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was our 7th Club Med, we really enjoyed it. Went easter week, and the club was full. Mostly Argentinian, Uruguyan, and Brazilians, we were the only American family.Few of the staff or guests spoke English or French, definitely Portuguese or Spanish dominated. The buffet was extremely diverse, with many excellent Brazilian dishes, very fresh. The kids had a great time with the activities at the kids club, including tennis, soccer, water skiing, and archery, we had a better time without them around! We played tennis, soccer (really high quality, it was scary) and used the sauna, jacuzzi, and pool... i had a massage and haircut the last day there, 1st rate both.

The shows were pretty good, really liked a Michael Jackson tribute on Saturday night, The GO's went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and special. Other guests were very friendly also.

The room was very spartan but spacious, with air conditioning and a tv. We were the furthest building from the main resort, and the ocean waves lulled us to sleep. we were beat up from all the activities anyway... the kids room was upstairs, so we had a little privacy.

The resort was very scenic, and we saw wild ducks, chickens and monkees on the grounds... a donkey was used to cart the guest linen, that added a nice rustic touch.

Weather was spectacular, but the last day it rained, which was perfect napping weather!

Highly recommend this resort if you are traveling with kids of any age, and you want quality relax time with your spouse.

Room Tip: ask for a room with the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomspottiswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

My apartment was OK, a two-bedroom located at the farthest but quietest part of the hotel. Good spacious beds, many different pillows to choose, plenty room for clothes, ironing board just outside. I didn't notice any mold or rust, as stated by some reviewers. I saw many bedrooms being renovated, this hotel is no way derelict, so I believe it's a matter of (bad) luck if someone gets a good or bad room.
Food and drinking were great and plentiful. Dinner was specially delicious. Bartenders were prompt.
I left my children at Mini Club Med and they had lot of fun while GO's took care of them.
There were so many activities that I never had no time to rest on the beach. There are tennis classes, bow and arrow classes, beach volley, kayak, soccer matches. Now the best: waterskiing (and wakeboard too). This experience is unique among resorts in Brazil. There are 3 motorboats to tow skiers around the bay, so I never waited too long in the line.
I strongly recommend this resort. I just hope my comments don't make the rates to rise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcarvalho98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangaratiba
Portobello Resort & Safari
#2 of 5 in Mangaratiba
815 reviews
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#2 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
940 reviews
Hotel Porto Real
#3 of 5 in Mangaratiba
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#3 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
1,421 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#13 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
534 reviews
Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Rio Das Pedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Rio Das Pedras

Property: Club Med Rio Das Pedras
Address: Rodovia Rio Santos BR 101 Km 441, Mangaratiba, State of Rio de Janeiro 23860-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Mangaratiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangaratiba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Med Rio Das Pedras 4.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of Rio de Janeiro, the Village of Rio das Pedras nestles amid lush greenery set at the edge of a long beach in Brazil. The Village's colonial style bungalows mingle in harmony with the surrounding wildlife. The large seafront swimming pool lies next to the restaurant where after a day of water-skiing or excursions, a variety of buffets await you. Here in this unique location, the live music and warmth of the Brazilian welcome will sweep you away into another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Rio Das Pedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Rio Das Pedras Hotel Mangaratiba
Club Med Mangaratiba
Mangaratiba Club Med
Club Med Rio Das Pedras Brazil/Rio De Janeiro - Mangaratiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing