We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Schloss Zell was the best!”
Review of Hotel Schloss Zell

Hotel Schloss Zell
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schloss Zell
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Zell (Mosel)
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Schloss Zell was the best!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were a group of 5 on a 15 day trip to Germany, France, Switzerland, Austria, and Italy. First stay was at the Zell Hotel Schloss. We had made the reservation via email and when arriving our rooms were ready for us. Two rooms on second floor and one on the third. No A/C but was given a fan. The guys there carried our heavy bags to the third floor and there was parking right by the front door. Zell is the prettiest place in Europe and they had the long table fest that night. Perfect weather, great atmosphere and great people. Karin at the hotel was great and treated us like family, we also met her son Julian. Breakfast was included and more that we could have asked for. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay again when I go back. WiFi worked flawlessly and was also included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleyb3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
42
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We (my wife and I and two friends) have recently stayed five nights at the Hotel Schloss in Zell and had a wonderful time. The owner could not have made us any more welcome and our room was modern, high ceilinged with two big windows. The breakfasts were magnificent and just around the corner was the Schloss Keller which offered excellent wholesome food and drinks at very reasonable prices if you wanted a change from the excellent restaurant associated with the hotel. Zell is a good base for visiting the Mosel valley and we indulged in golf (Golf Cochem), a round trip on the river and a day's visit to Trier (oldest city in Germany). If we visit the Mosel again we will certainly aim to stay at Hotel Schloss. Many Thanks

Room Tip: Our corner room had two large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coyote88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This delightful old building (1543) is a really lovely place to stay. Winding staircase (no lift), high ceilinged rooms with big windows, modern en-suite, delightful and very helpful staff and an excellent continental breakfast every morning were perfect for our few days away with friends. Zell itself is quite a bustling little community with lots of bars and restaurants but quietens down about 11pm so not a problem for early sleepers. Just be aware that nearly every place we came across would only take cash although the hotel itself accepts credit cards. Would recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: The tower rooms are more expensive but we took a peek into one and it was spectacular! The higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieisathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchestter, Englaned
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had room 7, which was huge, comfortable beds, good bathroom - a little old fashioned but with character.. Staff really helpful and friendly and the breakfasts are really great and huge. If we go to Zell again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms in the tower, slightly more expensive, but really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed for one night in one of the tower rooms - ok, there's no minibar, no tea/coffee facilities but the room was spacious, bags of character, large & clean bathroom and a comfortable bed. The staff were extremely pleasant - the lady running the hotel, the chef and the barman all conversed with us (fortunately with very good English) and are clearly passionate about the hotel, good food and especially local wines. I'm very grateful to the young barman who spent much time with us explaining about the various local wines.
We ate in the restaurant in the hotel (although now run as a separate operation) - the food was reasonably priced, good quality and included a small amouse bouche. I tried the carpaccio which proved to be one of the best I have had - it had slight unusual raspberry flavour dressing but actually worked very well.
The dining room is full of atmosphere as are most of the other rooms. It's well worth taking some time to look around.
The included buffet breakfast was generous and a reasonable selection items.
If you prefer modern chain hotels then the Schloss may not be for you but if you're happy to try something different, then this hotel is well worth a try.
Just one word of caution, access to some of the rooms is via a spiral staircase with a rope hand rail - there's no lift. We had to take care carrying our heavy luggage up to the first floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As the name implies, this is a very interesting building, but our room at the top was small and a little tired. Breakfast (good quality) was in a very atmospheric room, watched over by old family portraits. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant had a very nice outside dining area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

An old castle used as hotell. Very nice personell, wireless wifi. The tv was old and no english spoken channels. I missed a fridge in the room.
New towels every day.

Erik
Oslo, Norway

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikbrun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zell (Mosel)
0.3 mi away
Weinhaus Mayer
Weinhaus Mayer
#1 of 5 in Zell (Mosel)
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zum Grunen Kranz
Zum Grunen Kranz
#2 of 5 in Zell (Mosel)
44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ringhotel Bomers Mosellandhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ratskeller
Hotel Ratskeller
#5 of 5 in Zell (Mosel)
20 reviews
3.1 mi away
WeinBergHotel Nalbach Reil/Mosel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Zell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Zell

Property: Hotel Schloss Zell
Address: Schloss Strasse 8a, Zell (Mosel), Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Zell (Mosel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Zell (Mosel)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schloss Zell 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schloss Zell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing