We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real good easy hotel...”
Review of Tansen Residency

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gwalior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tansen Residency
Ranked #1 of 44 Gwalior B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is just 1 km from railway station....staff is very good..best value for money..I perhaps stayed in recently renovated room/bathroom..which was quite comfortable...room service is just ok. restaurant is good with indian dishes...buffet beakfast is included...which is average...overall a comfortable exp.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dabboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Decently priced, co- operative staff, clean rooms and washrooms are some of its high points. This hotel accepts credit cards.This hotel further provides a daily bus service to the room occupants for a complete city tour, except for the scindia palace and some other areas. But it covers most of historical monuments, bandi- chhor gurdwara, and also the light & sound show in evening. This service is managed by MPTDC itself, and is really enjoyable. The charges are very reasonable. The service commences at around 9.00 AM...... then drops you back to hotel for lunch, and then again picks you up at around 3.00PM for the remaining monuments and Light & sound show. It is prudent to take opt for this service rather than arranging your own trip... as this joyride is truly enjoyable. The food is ok ... too much spicy. Breakfast is good. Instead try out food at "Kwality restaurant" which is in middle of the city.

Room Tip: Avoid the suites. Take the normal rooms as they are open, airy and well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debapriyo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

good location in a planned locality.good frontage adequate parking pleasant ambience.good clean rooms.working restaurant.
Meagre breakfast that unfortunately and recently has been a feature unlike in 2010 when even paratha size was bigger!!!!
Hotel is located slightly away from monuments as like other hotels.spent 1 day here.
Was satidfied with this hotel in terms of the price offered.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pravdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Clean enough, but a little dingy. Free internet on a computer by the reception. The location was not great, not much around the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daenarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Tansen Residency is maintained and run by the State Govt. It is a hotel to be strictly used for a budget stay while doing business in the city or doing the historical tour of the city as there is not much to enjoy the property. 30-45 minutes drive from the airport and 10 minutes away from the railway station, the hotel is situated on Gandhi Road with big sprawling bungalows for neighbours. The rooms and bathrooms are large and spacious with natural light coming in and has a totally no nonsense air to it. Hot water, television, clean sheets, room heater, air conditioning (though not central) are available. F&B constitutes of a bar, a restaurant, conference room and a lawn for open air parties. Cuisines available are Indian, Chinese and very little continental. Suggest you stick to the tried and tested Indian fare and not be adventurous here. Breakfast buffets are generally included in the room charges. Staff is courteous but not in your face and will arrange for cars, tours and give general directions as reqd. The hotel also provides a city tour in an open bus at extra charges and has a state handicraft shop selling mainly fabric and sarees that the region is famous for.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms and not the ground floor and away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

26 - 27 Feb, 2010
This was an official trip to the Maharana Pratap College of
Technology, Gwalior. I was put up at the Hotel Tansen Regency,
Gwalior, which is a grand Government-owned hotel. I had arrived
at Gwalior very late in the night (my train the AP Express had
reached abotu 45 minutes late). The check-in staff were
soft-spoken, and pleasant. They appreciated my speaking in Hindi,
and spoke back in a manner which gladdened me. I was softly told
that if I freshened myself a bit quickly, I could make it in time
to catch some dinner. I was famished, and was badly in need of
some good food. When I went inside, I made a few choices on
eqnuiring with the waiter. He softly told me with a smile, that
after the first item I had ordered, if I wanted, he would get the
second one. I liked the soft advice on the relative portions of
the first dish, since I was quite full after the first dish. The
complimentary breakfast the next morning was very nice. It was a
bit limited (but not severely, though) in the number of items,
but certainly not on taste. The room itself was absolutely
fabulous - large, neat and clean. My rooms' windwos faced the
rear of the hotel, and did not offer much of an exotic view - I
did not mmind this in any way. The bathroom was was nice, clean
and adequately stocked. One of the messages that particularly
impressed me was a note to the effect that the Hotel Tansen was
committed towards the cause of our rivers and lakes. In case a
guest wished to use his/her towels for some time, they would
welcome it. If the guest desired to have them changed, he/she
could put it in the basin (or something similar to this effect).
This Hotel is a perfect example of how a Government-owned hotel
can be run to perfection. Fantastic!

Room Tip: I had a rear-facing room, but I was not worried too much about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumantra_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The rooms at the hotel will remind you of any old days railway station side lodge. The rooms are spacious but lack cleanliness and hygiene. The toilets are old and have lost their aesthetic looks. Bed sheets were worn out and dirty. The room service is lousy. I would say this hotel of MP Tourism is not at all up to the mark. The only best part of this hotel is its location in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harshkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#4 of 26 in Gwalior
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
2.4 mi away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 26 in Gwalior
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramaya Hotel
Ramaya Hotel
#6 of 26 in Gwalior
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Landmark
Hotel Landmark
#11 of 26 in Gwalior
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 26 in Gwalior
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tansen Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tansen Residency

Address: Tansen Residency Gandhi Road, Gwalior 474002, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Gwalior
Price Range: $31 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tansen Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing