We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Housekeeping and room service sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Gwalior
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Housekeeping and room service sucks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I Stayed here overnight on a business tour.
My feedback as follows:
1. Front-desk is quick in checkin and checkout
2. Room service staff need to develop great deal of professionalism. 3 folks barged in along with my luggage as i entered the room.
3. Rooms were freshly painted and i was allergic to the smell and requested for a change. They refused to do it. As a last resort, i asked for room freshener. To my shock, they did not have one. And the answer that came was housekeeping staff has locked it out!!!!!!
4. Staff needs to understand courteousness while entering the room. They ring the bell and don't wait to be answered. They barge in.
5. Rooms are nice and tidy but bathroom commode needs to be cleaned up. I saw stains all around.
6. Serious need to train the staff here...

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank yssunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
18
27
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am sharing my experience just because i was just a victim of this hotel in terms of cleanness. They have offered me a glass of water in my room as a welcome. after drinking half of the water suddenly i recognised water is dirty, A insect & fungus are in the glass. I have uploaded the pictures. Hope It will help you to chose hotel in gwalior . other option you can opt. is hotel usha kiran. As i have visited it in Agra. rest all try and decide yousef. as a customer i am very unsatisfied with the cleanness & decided not to eat or drink here.

Room Tip: Do not eat or drink here . Dirty water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank avinash713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gwalior hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

i am going to India in couple of weeks. So I have been reading about Indian culture, architecture and so called "service" so I thought I am prepared for it, or at least I would experience it while in India, not before...To make long story short..Over two weeks ago we booked this hotel for two nights end of November and paid for it!!. Yesterday we got e-mail stating that they do not have room for us.Instead they want us to go the hotel that is cheaper and rated much lower that the one we paid for (Gwalior Regency}. I went back online and checked our dates for Regencyy. Guess what? 4 rooms were still available for our dates. When we called booking engine (American one) They told us it will take them 3-5 business days to resolve this matter. Are they flying to Gwalior??? Anyway just a cautionary tale for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liliya-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATHURA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Pros:
1.0> Great location. Civil lines is a neat, clean, posh, dignified area in Gwalior. Again, it is adjacent to the main bus station, which is a 5 minutes walk. Highways are close-by. The hotel itself lies on the Gwalior-Jhansi road.
2.0> Parking space available abundant inside the complex.
3.0> They agreed to keep my cute pet, my cocker spaniel Roxy.
4.0> Excellent service, great food (veg/non-veg).
5.0> Beautifully decorated, cozy rooms, neat & clean bathrooms. Smoot check-ins. All cards welcome.
6.0> Overall decoration of the hotel is nice.
7.0> At around Rs 3000/- - Rs 3200/-, I strongly believe this is value-for-money. You spend, but you get the service.
8.0> Nice place to see the fort, the Scindia Palace. Unfortunately I missed taking photos of the property.
9.0> All rooms are good. Lift is available to transit to all floors.
The Cons:
At least I found none. Anyhow there will be no lamentations in staying here. Vouch for it.
Hint for approach:
While entering Gwalior via NH-3 if you come from Agra-Morena side, don’t enter Gwalior from NH-3 via the first turn. Avoid it, proceed further ahead and then enter Gwalior via the 2nd turn on the LHS of the highway. Anyhow, green signboards are available at every turn. The 2nd turn will take you close to the main bus terminus, close to which lies Civil Lines and the hotel. The 1st turn is a bit far-off, you have to do lot of circum-navigations and ask for some guidance before reaching the main city.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KINGSHUK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for a day during a meeting. Was not expecting much so I was pleasantly surprised. Pleasant staff ( not smooth talking ) and service. Rooms of adequate size, neat furnishing and toilets. Mini bar, tea coffee making and decent air conditioning. Fort view from the room means, it should be close by for tourists. Stayed in room 302 which is one of their best rooms.

Room Tip: Room 302 has good view and seems to be the better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The staff at reception were very friendly, but our room was quite tired. It looked like it might have been nice when it was new, but there have been no attempts to maintain furniture or keep the room looking new. The walls were marked and the bedding smelled quite badly of moth balls.

The bathroom blind (if you prefer some privacy while showering or going to the loo) was covered in mould.

Most disappointing would be the food. Staff didn't look particularly interesting in helping anyone. The dining room has no atmosphere and the staff were more interested watching the tv (which seemed to have been on full volume). Once the food arrived, it didn't taste particularly great either. Breakfast didn't fare any better, but at least the staff were more friendly.

Room Tip: Insist on seeing a few rooms first before deciding on one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlissOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I reviewed other travellers reports of this hotel before booking and despite some negative comments decided to giv it a go.

Room - It took three room changes to get a comfortable one. Yes the furniture is tired and the walls are marked and grubby but on the whole the rooms I saw were clean and comfortable. I found the glass partition between the bedroom and bathroom a bit disconcerting as well, but there is a blind you can drop for privacy and it does give the room a bigger and more contemporary feel. Minibar was limited in selection but the cheapest I've had in India to date and the tea and coffee facilities were a welcome addition. The bed was immaculately clean and very comfortable and the inclusion of a small, comfortable sofa and a desk and swivel chair were good touches. Lots of hot water on demand and plenty of fluffy towels and toiletries.

Restaurant - Pretty average and a little overpriced for what you get. Food is very spicy, in some cases un-neccessarily so, but the beer is cold and the waiters attentive. On the whole, if you're going to pay these prices, go a step further and treat yourself at the Usha Kiran Place which is a short auto ride away and has great ambience and live music most nights. Breakfast is pretty standard but the Coffee id reasonable and you can get eggs on toast - thats me happy then.

Services - WiFi pretty weak. The further away from reception you are the weaker its gets. 3rd floor gets two bars and slow upload speed. Reception - Most staff speak English and are helpful, particularly in booking metered taxis etc. They dont smile a lot, but that seems to be lack of training more than any genuine grumpiness. You's be surprised how a tip here and there improves the quality of the service - bear in mind though that the restaurant includes a hefty service charge so I wouldn't tip there unless service was exceptional.

On the whole I'd reccomend this hotel. Negotiate a discount, I got 25% off rack at off season rates and when the price drops to circa 2400 + tax, its a much more appealing option. I stayed at the Taj Usha Kiran Palace last year and loved it, but even with discount it was rs 5000 a night and taht was for a standard room.

Room Tip: I finally settled on room 303 which has a fort view and the best A/C they could muster. Its also qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
1.5 mi away
Usha Kiran Palace
Usha Kiran Palace
#1 of 22 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.4 mi away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 22 in Gwalior
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#18 of 22 in Gwalior
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Landmark
Hotel Landmark
#7 of 22 in Gwalior
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#3 of 22 in Gwalior
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gwalior Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gwalior Regency

Property: Hotel Gwalior Regency
Address: New Bus Stand Road, Gwalior 474002, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gwalior Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gwalior Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing