We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sheer luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gwalior
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

this was a palace now a hotel.. this is my second stay.. rooms are nicely decorated.. staff is groomed... the food was really amazing... i ate chicken chettinad... the garden is amazing... specially if you like nature... breakfast was decent not very very tasty.... rest everything was perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are diff... luck matters ! :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anujdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members for the services rendered by them during your stay. We value guest feedback as it motivates us for further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 665 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

The building and grounds have an understated elegance and a very interesting history but is lacking in amenities to qualify as a luxury hotel. Anyone expecting Taj Hotel standards will be disappointed. Our room had a moldy damp essence which caused some breathing problems. Our primary complaint was the restaurant. They served very small portions and the driest chicken tandoori I ever had. Breakfast was insulting. The buffet was meager and 6 people are standing around for 10 minutes waiting to use an old, two-slice toaster. I could not tell if the waiters had a bad attitude or just untrained. The property has a great deal of potential but needs an infusion of cash and professional standards. I do not understand the glowing reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for taking out your precious time for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests. There are times however, when even the best of intentions are not good enough and therefore, it is only through our guests that we get a feedback of our services, which in turn helps us to improve our standards.

We have taken note of your feedback regarding the room, amenities, taste of food, restaurant - breakfast buffet and the staff; will work on the same to improve upon it.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Usha Kiran Palace is an elegant and stylish building located in a green and pleasant part of the city, there are a huge number and range of trees in the extensive gardens which are host to many tropical birds notably parakeets. Our room was large, comfortable, quiet and well equipped and room housekeeping is attentive and efficient. The staff all have the approach we have learned to appreciate at Taj hotels - attentive, very conscious of good customer service, efficient and personable. Food was excellent, and Rakesh and his catering team are keen to please and interact well with guests. There are a lot of attractive public rooms and spaces in which to re-energise after sightseeing, and Parwan in Guest Relations did a superb job in helping us make the best of this in an interesting city. The Fort complex is an absolute treasure in terms of varied history and cultural gems - Vijay is a top guide if available. We particularly enjoyed Sula Mandir too, and Amba Vilas gives a real insight in terms of the Scindia's influence. Parwan also organised smart, reliable and good value transport. Overall, a quality experience in an interesting place at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you so much for appreciating our landscaping, rooms and services. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members for the services rendered by them during your stay and especially to Chef Rakesh for taking care of your dietary preferences and to Pawan for helping you with the sightseeing.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed 3 nights while sightseeing in Gwalior, and thought this was excellent for location, relaxation and great ambience. We had very good rooms (think 304 and 305?) on first floor, extremely spacious and nice to see welcome flowers as taj gold circle members. Great to be close to the sights (can walk next door to the main palace), super pool, (though in common with many city Taj's lack of pool bar means a wait for drinks), but what really makes this is the quality of staff from check in to room attendants (Anish) to chef Rakesh and his desire to provide interesting food and rotate the settings for guests eating in on a number of nights. We really felt the stay in the Taj complimented our overall experience in Gwalior, which was definitely worth the visit, though few other tourists seem to make it there. Only negatives are - as usual - really annoying to pay for wifi, and would be good to provide speedier service to people sitting by the pool. Otherwise first class.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you so much for posting review on trip advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property, rooms and services. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to Anish and Chef Rakesh for the services rendered by them during your stay.

We have taken a note of your feedback regarding the wi fi, will be working to improve upon the same. Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Usha Kiran palace Hotel was a fantastic stay, everything that we could have asked for, Full of character and originality. The grounds are excellent, Food experience was first class! Well worth visiting. The Managers attention to detail was to perfection, the staff in the restaurant were very friendly, The whole team is commended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property and food. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members and especially to the restaurant staff for the services rendered by them during your stay. We value guest feedback as it motivates us for further improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The stay was a great and the property is very good. Spent four days and enjoyed the hospitality and service.

The food was great a special thanks to Rakesh the chef who took special care of us.

Enjoy the peaceful and quiet atmosphere and with Taj service.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are better. Do ask for rooms on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devdutt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post great review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you so much for appreciating our property and services. Your words of appreciation have been conveyed to the concerned staff members for the services rendered by them during your stay and especially to Chef Rakesh for taking care of your dietary preferences.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed for a night on a Business trip to Gwalior. Good but not as great as the other Taj properties in the country. No central heating ( convectors) ,large rooms , high roof , beautiful garden & spa.
The chef Nitesh is outstanding .

Room Tip: Facing garden or fountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRAMODKRISHNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post review on Trip Advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for your valuable feedback about our property, your words of appreciation have been conveyed to Chef Nishesh for the services rendered by him during your stay. We value guest feedbacks as it motivates us for further improvements.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
1.5 mi away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 27 in Gwalior
373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 27 in Gwalior
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#4 of 27 in Gwalior
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#22 of 27 in Gwalior
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#14 of 27 in Gwalior
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior

Address: Jayendraganj, Lashkar, Gwalior 474009, India (Formerly Usha Kiran Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range: $125 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Usha Kiran Palace has played host to the Prince & Princess of Wales and is now a heritage hotel. Set amidst 9 acres of beautifully landscaped lawns, this 135 year old regal palace, rich in history, is outfitted with artistic stone carvings and delicate filigree work. Conveniently located, the hotel has 40 beautiful rooms including Villas with private pool and suites, a dining room truly reminiscent of royalty, a Bar and the award winning Jiva Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usha Kiran Palace Gwalior
Usha Kiran Palace Hotel Gwalior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing