We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to feeling like a Scindia yourself. By far the best place to stay in Gwalior.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gwalior
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Next to feeling like a Scindia yourself. By far the best place to stay in Gwalior.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Royal. This is how you would be feel once you stay in this palace hotel. I along with my wife stayed in this 120 year old heritage Taj property for one night on the 25th of Aug 2012. The check in time was 12 noon. But we reached around 9 AM itself, yet had no issues getting a room. Our pampering started right at the moment we stepped in the hotel premises. The hotel staff was well aware of our arrival in advance and recognized me by name. We were greeted with traditional tilak ceremony. We were assigned a dedicated staff member to escort us to our room. She described us about the legacy behind the palace, the facilities in the room and as well as the amenities in the hotel. She even set the AC at a desired temp for us. Also, we were given our WiFi login details right away. Excellent.

We had booked a superior room. Very spacious (especially given the fact that it is the smallest room being offered), clean, tidy. Bed - well made. Linen - pure white with a tinge of blue perfectly blending with the blue ambiance of the room. The room was very well lit and faced the garden directly. There were sit outs along the garden facing windows and a separate sit out area elsewhere in the room as well. The room was a true blend of Gwalior tradition and modern lifestyle facilities. There was a separate dressing room/washroom attached which was again very spacious. It had a laundry basket, a separate luggage space, hangers/rods for clothes, fully stocked toiletries. Everything in place.

Now the other hotel amenities. This palace is right behind the main Scindia residence and servers as a guesthouse for the royal guests of the Scindia family. The passage to the Scindia's residence however remains closed and is opened only for royal guests. The entrance to the Scindia residence/museum is nevertheless not too far and can be reached on foot. The Spa center is very well laid out and well equipped. Swimming pool is huge and looks beautiful. Fitness center has all basic equipments. Pool and fitness center use is complimentary. Plus steam bath is complimentary with the room stay as well. There are numerous lush green gardens within the hotel complex. Fountains, flowers, excellent night lighting makes this palace look stunning in both day and night.

The restaurant. Silver Saloon. We had our buffet breakfast here. Food - Lavish, elaborate and tasty.

Whether it is reception, restaurant, spa center, housekeeping - everybody available at a call's notice. And guess what, sometimes without too. The hotel staff keeps visiting you by themselves to ask you if you need anything. And they cater to your needs with the minutest of detail as well.

Go for it. Without a second thought.

Room Tip: Even the most inexpensive Superior room was amazing. It probably would be the best value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshitij_garg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to the concerned team members of the hotel for the services rendered by them during your stay, it will encourage them to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    181
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
157
179
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Large, green lawns with water bodies greet you when you reach the hotel. This is an old but well maintained hertiage property. Do explore all the courtyards, temples and the swimming pool area during your stay. The service is very good and staff is well trained. There were minor hiccups during our stay their training kicks in well. While there is only one bar and one restaurent they will cater to most of your needs. Kids will love the indoor and outdoor open areas.

Room Tip: Choose a room on upper floors which would give you access to large terraces or balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekdahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for your kind appreciation about our property and staff, your admiration has been conveyed to the concerned staff members to motivate them for achieving even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed during the Independence weekend. The property is huge and they have retained the heritage look. Rooms are very well maintained and spacious. We had a very relaxed and pleasant stay. Although there is not much to see in Gwalior other than the palace and the sound and light show at the fort, stay at this hotel is recommended if looking to unwind and relax. Try the special herbal tea. Its amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for your kind appreciation about our property, your admiration about herbal tea has been conveyed to the concerned staff member.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Really choose this place to spent Christmas Eve in a fancy style, giving a break into the b&b's mood during a 2 week travel across India. The property is incredible and the staff could not be more helpful. Every detail was anticipate and some gestures were undeniable charming: small cupcakes on the room remembering the xmas eve, some changes on the menu to acommodate western xmas standards like turkey and more.
However we were in December, and with temperatures hovering on the 8°C and lower, the only thing you do not want is to face a cold shower. And that happened. Called the maintance and the answer was the limitations offered by the centenary property to improve the plumbing quality. A really major down when everything was so brightly conceived.
Seems like that looking on the details, somehow the big picture was lost somewhere. Hope they fix this issue, as that by other reviews I was not the only one that faced the same issue.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vmazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for taking out your precious time for posting review on trip advisor about our hotel.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating our property, food and services.

We have taken note of your feedback with regards to the cold shower and have taken it up with the concerned person.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful location, however bedroom was cold and didn't matter what setting put heating on just didn't warm the room. Both the service in reception and restaurant very slow, however when they did get around to seeing to you they were attentive. For the price,service I'm not sure we'd stay again unless service times improved.we did understand there was a lot of preparations for a wedding on the day we checked out which may have slowed some of the service down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we have taken note of it and will work on the same.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

i stayed for one night and had read some great reviews of this place.But frankly its a let down .First finding the place was tough .Then the room had too many mosquitoes.The dining is awfull.The rates are very high.My suggestion avoid and stay at Agra.Madhya Pardesh has no decent hotel to stay in.Period.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel at any cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaijeet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

We have taken a note of your feedback and working on the same. We value guest feedbacks as it provides opportunity for improvement.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. It is a lovely building and grounds and the room was very comfortable but the overall experience was not so great. On two of the three mornings there was insufficient not water for both my husband and I to shower comfortably so I ended up with a luke warm shower. We were never able to lie by the pool because there were so few sunbeds. Staff were over attentive to a ridiculous degree. One could not walk in the gardens without being accosted and engaged in long conversations. The restaurant was adequate but not exceptional and the service was slow. we have stayed in many tajs and this does not compare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizclare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usha Kiran P, General Manager at Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior.

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on trip advisor.

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us. We have always been earnest in our endeavor to extend the very best of the Taj to our guests.

Thank you for appreciating the architecture and landscaping of our hotel.

We have taken a note of your feedback and working on the same to create a great experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back at Taj Usha Kiran Palace on your next visit to Gwalior and assure you of our best services and attention at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
1.5 mi away
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
#2 of 26 in Gwalior
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 26 in Gwalior
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Surbhi
Hotel Surbhi
#12 of 26 in Gwalior
32 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Adityaz
Hotel Adityaz
#20 of 26 in Gwalior
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
The A-Park Hotel
The A-Park Hotel
#15 of 26 in Gwalior
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior

Property: Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
Address: Jayendraganj Lashkar, Gwalior 474009, India (Formerly Usha Kiran Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Usha Kiran Palace has played host to the King of England and is now a heritage hotel. Set amidst 9 acres of beautifully landscaped lawns, this 120 year old regal palace, rich in history, is outfitted with artistic stone carvings and delicate filigree work. Conveniently located, the hotel has 40 beautiful rooms including Villas with private pool and suites, a dining room truly reminiscent of royalty, a Bar and the award winning Jiva Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Usha Kiran Palace Gwalior
Usha Kiran Palace Hotel Gwalior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing