We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neemrana's Deo Bagh
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Gwalior
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything fits with Deo Bagh:
The huge grounds are beautiful, don't miss there own temple. One of the best stone carvings we saw at our trip. A swimmingpool and a spa will be added (maybe then there will be also some sunchairs to enjoy late afternoon sun - the only thing we missed.)
Rooms - we had a suite - are very nice. Everything in the room from the linen to the bathroom is of higher quality.
Dinner - buffet style - tasted very good and was very reasonable priced. If You ask, they will sent someone for a beer from outside (no licence). Breakfast was good. The dining room is a nice hall. In November it was quite cold in the evening, so the outside old dining hall wasn't in use. This one is an even nicer option.
All the staff (especially the waiters and the manager) were very friendly and helpful. (Despite the manager promised to sent as an article about the Neemrama Story, but didn't do it up to now.)
Try their tea massala on the terrace of Your room and enjoy the grounds. Try to get the same tea as the manager. It's much better then the normal version :-) .

There are two points to mention also: It's a little bit out of town. The advice our driver got via phone wasn't very clear. We missed some streets and it took us some time to get there. No walking around in the sourrounding area, but that's fine. Just relax ad Deo Bagh. At the bottom of the hill on which Deo Bagh is located are huge wedding grounds. So during wedding season (Nov. to Feb ?) there will be (on some days?) some noise from disco music until around midnight. But that's India.

Summary: A very good option to stay ad Gwailor

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TundB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

It is heartening to read about your experience as this is exactly what we aim to achieve.

Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef. We have also conveyed your compliments about the warm service to the Manager and his team.

Please do send us your email address at the email mentioned below and we shall send you the History & Philosophy of Neemrana Hotels. The same can also be viewed on the History & Philosophy section of our Corporate site.

We thank you for visit to Deo Bagh and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 358 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night with mexdoc and we loved it. You can tell that it was recently inaugurated and there are some details to look after, but all in all, this was the most elegant, fascinating, historical hotel we stayed in during our recent trip. Located in a former Majaraja's palace, the place exudes exoticism and when you consider the eerie abandoned temples located at the back of the property --and filled with bats-- this about completes the pictures. Our room was lovely, furnished with antiques and excellent Indian coverlets and other linens. The restaurant offered a delicious buffet style meal and the breakfast was delicious as well. I highly recommend this hotel if you want to "splurge" (only around 100 usd a night) and enjoy the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the property. Your compliments about the ambience and the decor have been conveyed to the Co-Chairmen and the Neemrana team.

Your gracious feedback about the cuisine and the dining experience has been conveyed to the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Deo Bagh was fantastic. The grounds are beautiful, the new construction rooms maintain the elegance of the original buildings, and the service was great. Narayan, the manager, was wonderful and very helpful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are closely located and there are pictures on the website. There are also a few sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StuckInNigeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your heartening review about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

We are delighted to learn about your experience and have conveyed your kind words to the Manager and his team.

It is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of providing experiential authenticity. We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana non-hotel Hotels and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This Neemrana non-hotel hotel will be a different experience for any traveler. Apart from the fact that this is a heritage hotel like other Neemrana hotels, it offers a sense of adventure as it has still uncleaned/unmanaged sites around the hotel premises. Some spectacular chhatris/temples which is almost hidden in the bushes surely gave me an atmosphere and a feel of Indiana Jones!! And the place is covered with old neem and kamini trees. there's a guava orchard,rows of lime,grapefruit trees.My most special were the age old kadam duo on two sides of the baradari. Hundreds of parrots, squirrels and peacocks adds dazzle to the place.
The rooms are nice and clean.we stayed at sunita niwas. Best food in Gowalior city, hospitable staff, amazing environment.
Though they still dont have wi-fi and tv, you will barely miss them.
I will just love to go back. You are bound to feel fresher and healthier if you spend a day there!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TasiraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Sunita Niwas room as well as the surrounding greenery and birdlife at the property.

Your compliments about the food and the hospitality have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

Two 17th-18th century Maratha temples, two splendid cenotaphs and one pavilion with 36 arched doors, within the property makes Deo Bagh a unique choice of accommodation in Gwalior.

We thank you for your patronage to Deo Bagh and the Neemrana brand in India.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife, infant and myself spent 2 nights at this property while visiting Gwalior. Right from the time we called seeking directions until the time we left, the entire staff - Mr. Narayan, the chef, the staff - was extremely warm and hospitable and ensured we enjoyed every moment spent. The meals were delicious and the staff helped us plan our day and evening trips to ensure we saw all important parts of the city. Rooms are spacious and old fashioned, environment serene and it felt like we were away from all forms of civilization.. While there are portions of the hotel still being finalized, the baradari, temples and open courtyard, part of the Jadhav estate add to the overall experience... A great "non-hotel" hotel which is a must stay property :)!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the property, right next to the dining hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality and service have been conveyed to the hotel team.

The 15 rooms spread across 5 wings, facing a Nau Bagh, a garden chequered into nine parts are a haven of calm from the daily hustle and bustle of the Indian street. We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Our local cuisines with a different palate experience are for gourmets who travel with their taste buds – and also enjoy eating with their eyes ! Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is perhaps the best place for a short stay in Gwalior. We went there in a large group -- three couples, one teenager, one infant -- and stayed there for two days and one night at the the end of October 2012. We had a great time. The place is so relaxing. Rooms are spacious and elegantly appointed with old-world furniture. A small private courtyard adjacent to the bathroom adds to the charm of the rooms. Several centuries old temple, and a 'baradari' (semi-open pavilion) are interesting features of the hotel site to admire and enjoy. The property is very spacious and spread out with a lot of vegetation. A few days spent there were very relaxing. However, the best thing about this place is their staff. The property manager Narayan and the kitchen manager Gaurav are not only competent managers but also warm and caring people. They took good care of us and gave us good advice for planning our short stay in Gwalior. We had two meals at the hotel and both were fabulous. The next time I pass through Gwalior, I might just stay at Deo Bagh just to relax and for no particular touristy purpose!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good but I preferred the newly constructed ones right in front of the main gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoreki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

We are pleased to learn that you were able to relax and rejuvenate at the property.

Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to the hotel Manager and his team. We have also conveyed your compliments to the Chef.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed 1night here, on our way from Orchha to Agra. The grounds are lovely but still need more work. Our room was very nice, lovely bathroom with a sunken bath - but not enough hot water for a decent bath. Food was good, the nicest pakoras we have had in India. Lacking in facilities though, no wi fi, no TV, no money exchange,no bar..... This could be a great hotel one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Deo Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the Deo Bagh heritage hotel in Gwalior.

Your compliments about the food have been conveyed to the Chef and his team.

As you are aware, at Neemrana we try and keep a balance between old-world charm and modern amenities so that the past is not completely obliterated. A Neemrana experience is very rooted and real. None of the buildings you wake up in with us were built to be hotels. We have remodelled them to this purpose.

Common hospitality practices like televisions in individual rooms are avoided. Nevertheless we are pleased to inform you that a common TV lounge will be launched soon at Deo Bagh for the convenience of our guests.

We have noted your suggestions and shall try to incorporate them at the earliest. It is our endeavour to constantly improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us do the same.

We thank you for your patronage to our new venture in Gwalior and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gwalior hotels
1.5 mi away
Taj Usha Kiran Palace, Gwalior
1.4 mi away
Clarks Inn Suites - Gwalior
2.4 mi away
Hotel Gwalior Regency
Hotel Gwalior Regency
#5 of 26 in Gwalior
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#4 of 26 in Gwalior
195 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Central Park
The Central Park
#20 of 26 in Gwalior
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Landmark
Hotel Landmark
#11 of 26 in Gwalior
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Deo Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Deo Bagh

Address: Agra-Mumbai Road, Bahodapur | Jadhav Kothi, opposite Janaktal, Gwalior, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior District > Gwalior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range: $72 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neemrana's Deo Bagh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awaken history in a Char-bagh where Mughal emperors once camped ! History has it that in the late 1500 AD important Mughals camped in this “char bagh” with a stunning chhattis-dari (36-pillared pavilion) at its heart. Its underground chamber, surrounded by water during the summer provided a cool resting place for the women. Later, as the conquering Maratha army marched towards Delhi, the Jadhavs took possession of this natural water catchment area. Sardar Deorao Bhausaheb Jadhav and his son Sardar Krishnarao Deorao Jadhav used this 'bagh' as a summer house with the ladies’ section in Deo Bagh and the mens’ section in Jai Vihar, the family's current home. The garden complex houses the most exquisite family temples, a ‘hathi khana’ for elephants, horse stables and cenotaphs. Important Gwalior State meetings, especially against the British – when the valiant Rani of Jhansi fought from the fort rampart close by, were held here during that time. After India’s independence, this has been the home of Sardar Deorao Krishnarao Jadhav, his son Sardar Dhananjayrao Deorao Jadhav and his wife the Ranisaheba, since 1954 when they left their ancestral Lakshmi Vilas Rajwada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Neemrana's Deo Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing