We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Burger”

Alice's Village Cafe
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Carp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Burger”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stopped in on my way home to Kingston after a long day on the road. Clean, comfortable mix of country-loft decor. Staff were relaxed and confident in the food and it did not disappoint. My burger was fresh, perfectly cooked and had pepper, avocado garnish with a fresh bun that was lightly toasted with just a hint of rosemary and herbs. The salad was fresh, light, and again mirrored the light pepper highlights of the burger. Nice touches included fresh asparagus in the salad, an excellent assortment of wines and beers and quiet bar seating in the sun-room area.
Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    79
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy and Inviting”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been to Alice's several times since it opened, being a big fan of its sister restaurant, the Cheshire Cat Pub. Alice's offers a cozy, unpretentious atmosphere where you can have a nice lunch or catch up with friends over some great home made coffees or Italian sodas, or a pint from a local micro brewery. Their variety of sandwiches and soups are always changing and always very tasty, and they offer a variety of delicious desserts. All menu items are available for eat in or take out. Having grown up in the area, I really appreciate that the ingredients are locally sourced whenever possible.
Whenever you go, save room for one of their "big nasty" sticky buns. One of those will make anyone's day.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OttCanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A nice place for a casual, inexpensive meal.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've visited Alice's several times since it opened last year and have never been disappointed. The cafe offers a choice of 2 soups, 2 types of quiche, various wraps, sandwiches, salads and deserts. There is a small variety of microbrewery beers, soft drinks and coffees, teas, steamers,etc. There are soups and deserts available to take home. I have always chosen a soup and quiche and have never been disappointed. The food is fresh and tasty, the service pleasant and the space is nicely decorated with the works of local artists. I only have 2 small quibbles with Alice's. The small outdoor patio is not licensed and the indoor accoustics are terrible. The space has a cafeteria type sound to it and it is very difficult to hear your companions if there are more than a few people in the restaurant. I will continue to visit Alice's for a quick bite when in Carp.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yitselrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best cappuccino this side of the Atlantic”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a delightful Sunday breakfast with family and friends. The cappuccino reminded me of my summer vacation in Italy. The food was fantastic, I enjoyed my breakfast panini. The staff was friendly and attentive, and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank tashb929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Four adults went for lunch on Dec. 31. There were two choices of soup and we all chose chicken with rice. One of the bowls had many pieces of chicken in the soup and the remaining three bowls had none! More care should be taken when ladling the soup into bowls. The sandwiches we ordered were very go. We also had cafe au lait after our lunch. It was barely warm.

After the reviews we had read on this restaurant, we were quite disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank irish13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice's Village Cafe also viewed

 
Ottawa, Ontario
 

Been to Alice's Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing