We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classical Property with lots of greenery right in the city !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Attic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Attic Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Kanpur
india
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Classical Property with lots of greenery right in the city !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is located in the posh Civil Lines area in the city. However the property has so much greenery that you do not feel you are in the city.

The hotel itself is a classic property with the old world charm around it. If you are looking for a very modern luxury hotel then look elsewhere. But if you are okay with basic facilities in a green and cozy ambiance , then this is the most ideal place to stay.

Very central and in the best of locations where everything is close by. Since the hotel caters to mostly foreign guests the staff is quite efficient in their services.

Like already mentioned rooms are basic with attached bathrooms. They should plan to update the rooms just a little bit to increase their clientele further because the hotel per se has all the ingredients to take it to the top property in the city !

They have a beautifully maintained lawn in the front, which is used for dinners for the guests. Specially during winters they have bonfires in the lawns wherein one can sit and enjoy ones dinner.

Overall a nice comfortable place to stay .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali_asif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Hotel location and ambiance is very very good. An old colonial property, it has large rooms. The rooms however badly needs renovation and so does the bathroom. AC vent was smelly which they tried to cover up by liberal use of room freshener.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genashim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited kanpur on a business trip and decided to stay for 2 nights. BIGGEST MISTAKE of my life. The rooms were 'deluxe', located at the back, water all over the floor at the entrance - leaking from AC ducts. The room itsel had a old and tardy look, 1 inch mattress on beds and rotting furniture around. Less said the better about the bathroom - hair all over, yikes.
The only saving grace was home made food made to order and the curtious staff!
We could not stay beyond the first night. Moved next door to the little chef hotel and it was paradise compared to this shack.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnshulSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanpur hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Delhi
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Attic hotel is located near civil lines in Kanpur. This is an old colonial property converted to hotel. The front gardens gives it a resort like appearance . The rooms are much bigger then the conventional hotels , the bathroom is also very large space, however it seems the rooms need overhauling and renovation . The rooms need to be cleaner . The TV is also an old model ( in the world of LCD ). However the positive part is the extremely polite staff . The food is also prepared on order basis . If you are looking for a place with peace of mind then Attic could be your choice .
I would again request the management to renovate the rooms and the hotel will be among the top Kanpur hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PIYUSHUNIYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

4 of us stayed at the Attic at the beginning of November 2011. On arrival the gardens and outside of the hotel made it appear very pleasant. We were given the 'cottage' at the back of the hotel, 3 ensuite roms and a living/dining space, which sounds much grander than it was. The place was less then clean, the furniture mis-matched and very poor, matresses on the beds extremely thin. Dubious air conditioning and electrical wiring. The hot water in one bathroom didn't work, but was repaired the same evening. In the morning the water was hot in the second bathroom but refused to come out of the shower.
Food was cooked in the house kitchen and served in the cottage this was surprisingly tasty. We had tea in the garden and made use of the free internet, again very good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel found us a car and driver to take us round the Kanpur area, he turned out to be brilliant.
On leaving the manager was very vague in calculating our bill and we found we were being charged for lunch we never had, but sorted out without any real problem.
There are other rooms in the hotel but can't say wat these would be like.
We know Kanpur is off the tourist trail and were not unrealistic in our expectations. A real shame because with just a little money spent on improvements and cleaning this could be a real haven in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pearson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Little Chef Hotel
Little Chef Hotel
#4 of 24 in Kanpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bliss
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vijay Intercontinental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Landmark Hotel
The Landmark Hotel
#1 of 24 in Kanpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Carlton
Red Carlton
#7 of 24 in Kanpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Cliff
Hotel Royal Cliff
#2 of 24 in Kanpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attic Hotel

Property: Attic Hotel
Address: 15/198 Civil Lines | Civil Lines, Kanpur 208001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Kanpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Kanpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing